VVVVVV 3DS

VVVVVV Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There's something terrible wrong in an alternate dimension! Help Captain Viridian flip to find five crew members, 20 hard-to-reach Trinkets and save a dimension on the brink of destruction. It's a space opera in the most unique scale with a style that only VVVVVV can bring to you. Instead ofThere's something terrible wrong in an alternate dimension! Help Captain Viridian flip to find five crew members, 20 hard-to-reach Trinkets and save a dimension on the brink of destruction. It's a space opera in the most unique scale with a style that only VVVVVV can bring to you. Instead of jumping, control the direction of gravity by inverting your gravity and allowing Captain Viridian to flip between the floors and ceilings of the environment.

    For adventurers who save the dimension, there's still hours and hours of new gameplay with all-new Player Levels. Test your mettle and see if you have what it takes to beat a collection of levels created by other famous game developers.

    Inspired by classic 8-bit days gone-by and now with experience-heightening 3D, VVVVVV will challenge even the most battle-hardened old-school gamers.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    95
    The game's design is immaculate, playing a bit like a cross between Metroid and Super Meat Boy. It works hard to be as non-linear as possible, and it never relies on the same ideas for too long, which keeps the excitement coming at a steady pace.
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    90
    Got a 3DS? Get VVVVVV. Essential indie gaming, now on the go.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    Jun 20, 2012
    90
    As thrilling to complete the first time as the fifth. [July 2012, p.105]
  4. Jan 4, 2012
    80
    It's one of the more unique games we've seen for 3DS and another fine addition to the handheld's downloadable library. VVVVVV lacks some flash, but more than makes up for this with hardcore play.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    Playing with gravity is fun, especially when it's so clean and simple like in the super retro game VVVVVV. The graphics make it feel like an old game from the late 1980's, but at the same time it's so refreshing and fun that it fits perfectly in the year 2012. Respawning is fast and there are many checkpoints, so this game does hardly get very frustrating. We do miss the option to make and share levels though.
  6. May 10, 2012
    80
    Punishingly and infuriatingly hard, but also the best retro-inspired platform puzzler for years, and a very successful port to the 3DS.
  7. May 22, 2012
    70
    This is a great game instantly accessible and challenging. If you could not play any of the previous versions, download this with confidence.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    It has all the charm of the 80s and all the after thought of being released after the turn of the millennium. The personality is charming sciIt has all the charm of the 80s and all the after thought of being released after the turn of the millennium. The personality is charming sci fi goodness. You'll love it. Just be patient. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    When I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn'tWhen I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn't have money to cough up for it, so I wallowed in self-misery. Then I realized I still had money in my 3DS E-Shop account. Within minutes, I had shelled out $8 and downloaded it. I put on my headphones, set the 3D to max, and started playing. The game feels like it was made for the 3DS. The Gravity Guy/Mario style platforming was easily controlled with the circle pad. Tricky sections requiring a deft touch reverted to the old d-pad. I frequently died, but [thankfully] there was no life limit, so I respawned at the last checkpoint I touched. After finishing the story, I cried. No game has ever captivated me this thoroughly in my life. After that emotional moment, I went to the menu. Imagine my surprise when I found extra levels, ripe for the picking. Overall, the game lasted less than 10 hours, but this is one of the few games I will pass on to my [future] children and say "You have to play this." Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, with retro-esque plataforming and a great difficulty, newbies must stay away from it, they should go play something more ofAn amazing game, with retro-esque plataforming and a great difficulty, newbies must stay away from it, they should go play something more of their level like CoD. For seasoned gamers or one who enjoys a challenge, you can't go wrong with this game! Collapse
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. VVVVVVV is a wonderful game. It may be 8-bit and simplistic in its graphics, but the sheer insanity that is its difficulty level in some respects makes it probably, in my opinion, one of the hardest video games ever created in history. The music was really well done, (my hat goes off to Magnus for a splendid track of chiptune revival) and the level design was hard, but fun...annoyingly so. Gravitron for the win! Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2017
    7
    Challenging but fun for the most part. Some parts were very twitchy and not what I wanted, but most of it was a fair challenge. You can beatChallenging but fun for the most part. Some parts were very twitchy and not what I wanted, but most of it was a fair challenge. You can beat it in less than 3 hours, even if you die hundreds of times because the reloads take less than one second. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    A really fun game to play but its invincibility mode is a cheat to the game. If you do not use this mode it is a pure adventure game. It canA really fun game to play but its invincibility mode is a cheat to the game. If you do not use this mode it is a pure adventure game. It can be a hard game for young gamers due to its difficulty. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Definitly fun for a while, and then that fun turned in a torture chamber that slowly fed me to the wolves. I mean i just GENERALLY didn't likeDefinitly fun for a while, and then that fun turned in a torture chamber that slowly fed me to the wolves. I mean i just GENERALLY didn't like the game after a awhile- I mean, come'on developers throw me a bone. What? my score is gonna drop the average a bit? Well make a better game the next time. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews