User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 125

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    The first game I bought for my DS besides Pokemon and FIFA. An amazing Platformer/ Adventure/ RPG/ Action game with an awesome level of weapon/ ability customization. It has great visuals and an awesome, humorous dialogue. On the downside it can get repetitive when exploring to find new things and ways to get to some places, and if you are unlucky you can end up just scanning through everything to find what you are looking for which gets a bit boring.
    Also there is an element of grinding that can get annoying as well.

    Still a great game which deserves a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    9
    Tight gameplay, compelling construction, and satisfying story aesthetic. I came into this as a first time Castlevania player, so I can not speak for long time fans, but I love this game. Scratches the same itch as Super Metroid.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Is not a bad game but somehow i cant get hyped about dawn of sorrow.
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    *REVIEW EDITED*
    Sequel to Aria of Sorrow which was on GBA, Dawn of Sorrow takes place a year later with the player getting to control Soma Cruz once again and to explore the entire castle, dominate monster souls, experience breathtaking boss fights, and to find a variety of weapons and armor. I must say I was really impressed with the storyline in Dawn of Sorrow. As well as the awesome
    characters from Aria, there were some new interesting characters too, as well as some nice twists. The game is simply beautiful. The stages are designed exceptionally well, with lovely 3D views on the background, and the soundtrack is just mindblowing, perhaps even surpassing Aria's. The game's difficulty is also somewhat moderately high, but not frustrating like Circle of the Moon. Most of the game can be played without the need to level grind. Only near the end of the game, when going towards the good ending, some grinding is greatly beneficial. The only feature I sort of disliked in Dawn of Sorrow was the magic seal system. Although the idea is good, the punishment for failing to draw a magic seal correctly is too extreme, i.e. the boss you Collapse
  5. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Epic game. As almost every Castlevania ever released. The game is very fun to play through, and collecting souls is less boring than it sounds. The only issues are the dated graphics, which resemble too much it's prequel, and the somewhat boring and unbalanced alternative game mode. As that's gimmicky anyway and doesn't affect the basic gameplay, still a solid 9.
  6. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    I personally haven't played the old Castlevania games, dawn of sorrow was the second (due to rarity) Castlevania I've ever played and the best of the other Castlevania titles on the DS.

    Though the story was a little edgy here and there, the combat is excellent!
  7. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    If you love Castlevania, you'll love Dawn of Sorrow. Not a whole lot has changed since the switch to 'Metroidvania' in Symphony of the Night- but how is that a bad thing? Dracula's castle is as exciting as ever, with some impressive DS visuals presenting players with a wide variety of different areas to explore. It's possible to level up and equip a wide array of different weaponry and armour, giving players a perfect amount of customisation for their character. The classic Castlevania formula works flawlessly on DS and will be sure to have you coming back for more. Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    *REVIEW EDITED*
    Sequel to Aria of Sorrow which was on GBA, Dawn of Sorrow takes place a year later with the player getting to control Soma Cruz once again and to explore the entire castle, dominate monster souls, experience breathtaking boss fights, and to find a variety of weapons and armor. I must say I was really impressed with the storyline in Dawn of Sorrow. As well as the awesome
    characters from Aria, there were some new interesting characters too, as well as some nice twists. The game is simply beautiful. The stages are designed exceptionally well, with lovely 3D views on the background, and the soundtrack is just mindblowing, perhaps even surpassing Aria's. The game's difficulty is also somewhat moderately high, but not frustrating like Circle of the Moon. Most of the game can be played without the need to level grind. Only near the end of the game, when going towards the good ending, some grinding is greatly beneficial. The only feature I sort of disliked in Dawn of Sorrow was the magic seal system. Although the idea is good, the punishment for failing to draw a magic seal correctly is too extreme, i.e. the boss you Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. It is clear that Dawn of Sorrow originally started out as a GBA title. It plays more like an advanced GBA game instead of a full fledged DS title.
  2. Dawn of Sorrow matches and in some cases exceeds the quality of "Symphony of the Night" in almost every way. Yet the two games have their own styles and features, so the newest addition to the series is in no way redundant with its legendary forebear. [JPN Import]
  3. If the graphics and sound aren't engrossing enough to draw you in, the intriguing story and exhilarating action should be. [Nov 2005, p.104]