Custom Robo Arena DS

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 3 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, it has awesome gameplay, a ton of customisation and a long story.
    the wain selling point of this game howoever is the characters, as Liz is mai waifu.
    And she'll probably become yours too. It's a shame Dennis is the worst character ever thought up in any game ever. all in all, LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ
    This game is fantastic, it has awesome gameplay, a ton of customisation and a long story.
    the wain selling point of this game howoever is the characters, as Liz is mai waifu.
    And she'll probably become yours too. It's a shame Dennis is the worst character ever thought up in any game ever.
    all in all, LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU LIZ IS MAI WAIFU
    Expand
  2. OliverW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    If you have the high amount of mental enegry this game is a pice of cake but still fun. i hope that every one gets this this game so i can actually battel people in the real world and have tournaments. If you like megaman you'l like this game because you ge t to do all the nitty gritty work you couldn't do in any of the battle network series like cleaning or customizing.
  3. AlexP.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Great game, i loved it, the only problem is that it takes forever to make money to buy new parts. I hope that they will make another one for the ds, and make cash easyer to get!
  4. HalH.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The rpg elements are fun i reckon. And Yes the fights are really cool.
  5. Stuart
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    The 3D battles are amazing and worth the price of the game alone. I don't normally write reviews/comments, but with the 7/10 scoring CRA is getting I just wanted to say that this game is a lot of fun and you shouldn't miss out on the fun. Hopefully I'll see you on the wifi.
  6. TylerF.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    This game rocks.All the custom features are the bomb. I love it!!
  7. WesleyF.
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    While this game lacks a driving storyline, it makes up for it with fantastic gameplay.
  8. MattEtzel
    Feb 5, 2008
    8
    Custom Robo Arena is an incredibly unique game, with an intuitive creative and highly exciting combat system... But the story sucks. The game is constantly brough down by it's storyline, and the graphics outside of battle could have been so much better. WiFi is a blast, especially since this game is so unique and creative, unfortunately for this game there are a multitude of cheatersCustom Robo Arena is an incredibly unique game, with an intuitive creative and highly exciting combat system... But the story sucks. The game is constantly brough down by it's storyline, and the graphics outside of battle could have been so much better. WiFi is a blast, especially since this game is so unique and creative, unfortunately for this game there are a multitude of cheaters online in some sense: People who overuse specific parts, or otherwise try to destroy the games more interesting combat elements. Of course, there is no hacking or glitching in this game whatsoever, so it is not in any way destroyed.

    The basic jist of it is that, you'll likely skip the boring annoying storyline jsut to get to the next fight so you can earn some money to buy new parts to play around with your Custom Robo.

    Shortest version: Story is crap, the reality it is set in is bleh, the graphics outside of battle are far past sub par... And yet even with all these shortcomings I have played this game's WiFi for 6 months now, so the combat passes as fantastic and creative even with all the other downsides.
    Expand
  9. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Great game! Lots of replay. Good Wifi following - you'll get an opponent most of the time. Get those parts in the single player game and be ready for endless combinations of robos to battle.
  10. TrowaB.
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    I've never voted before but there is no way this game can be overlooked! I've played most of the DS titles that are on the top ten here and cannot understand how a little repetitive RPG element can ruin this addicting game! Custom Robo is the type of game you can never get tired of.
  11. Oct 8, 2015
    9
    I just really like this game.
    I think it's batlle system works fine, the Graphics are great and the soundtrack sounds awesome.
    Dont just play this. Enjoy this.
    9/10

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#22 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    60
    In English it reveals a lack of depth and some seriously irritating niggles. A real shame. [June 2007, p.50]
  2. Exciting action and great multiplayer make Custom Robo Arena a game well worth playing.
  3. 70
    The Nintendo DS version of Custom Robo won't raise the franchise up to a "must have" status in the Nintendo library of first-party titles, but apart from the boring RPG story it's not such a bad diversion.