User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 95
  2. Negative: 6 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    A remake of an incredible JRPG for the NES. However, a number of gameplay changes caused the game to lose its charm. Battles are way too slow compared to the NES version and the weak hardware of the DS results in frame rate problems.
  2. Oct 23, 2010
    6
    Not the best port, yes they updated the graphics and all but the game could have a received a better treatment. I guess some games don't translate well into modern graphics.
  3. JeremyS
    Aug 21, 2009
    7
    First and foremost, this is a Famicom game with a graphical overhaul. Besides this and a small tweaking to the story to accommodate some difficulty curve, very little else has been changed. Rightfully so the game is extremely difficult, and some of the time completely unfair. The final boss/dungeon is excruciatingly hard, but my lord when you have defeated the Cloud of Darkness you will First and foremost, this is a Famicom game with a graphical overhaul. Besides this and a small tweaking to the story to accommodate some difficulty curve, very little else has been changed. Rightfully so the game is extremely difficult, and some of the time completely unfair. The final boss/dungeon is excruciatingly hard, but my lord when you have defeated the Cloud of Darkness you will raise your fist in victory and sing Hallelujah! The reward of beating this game is what makes it worth the purchase (It is now a budget title at $19.99) However, If you are not completely compelled to get from start to finish, this game may not be for you. You have been warned. Expand
  4. Ralph
    Dec 16, 2006
    7
    Odd balance between remaining true to the original and sacrifices for updated game graphics. Due to what I can only assume were hardware limitations, you're limited to only encounter up to three enemies per battle. Monsters and jobs were heavily rebalanced. Fights now progress at a snail's pace. While I'm glad this game was brought back, I wish Square-Enix would stop Odd balance between remaining true to the original and sacrifices for updated game graphics. Due to what I can only assume were hardware limitations, you're limited to only encounter up to three enemies per battle. Monsters and jobs were heavily rebalanced. Fights now progress at a snail's pace. While I'm glad this game was brought back, I wish Square-Enix would stop tinkering with core game mechanics in its remakes. Why use the Fat Chocobo when you have infinite inventory space? Expand
  5. CecilH.
    Jan 14, 2007
    6
    Disappointing, but true RPG fans should play this game at least once through. The most frustrating aspect of this game is the lack of save points; you can only save when traveling from area to area. Also a bit overpriced for a 40 hour game. I was not able to beat the game due to a glitch in my copy- it kept jamming right before I fought the final boss.
  6. SteveW.
    Jul 22, 2007
    6
    Not as good as I expected. The graphics are impressive but the game is tedious and has a horrible story. I understand that it was a remake of an old final fantasy however it gets boring. If you really really like final fantasy games...then give it a try, but if you are new to the series i would start somewhere else.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    7
    Final Fantasy III is one of the hardest games I've ever played in any genre, so be prepared for a real challenge when you begin your quest, especially when you're trying to finish the game. The new job system is a cool change, and the return to XP after FFII is welcome. FFIII is certainly an improvement upon the first two games, but I'm telling you to be careful and commit a time block toFinal Fantasy III is one of the hardest games I've ever played in any genre, so be prepared for a real challenge when you begin your quest, especially when you're trying to finish the game. The new job system is a cool change, and the return to XP after FFII is welcome. FFIII is certainly an improvement upon the first two games, but I'm telling you to be careful and commit a time block to level grinding when you play, probably at least 15-20 minutes of grinding every other play session or so. It's necessary. Expand
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    7
    Final Fantasy III
    Average User Score: 7.6
    7 It's not bad, but not astounding. Final Fantasy is known for having very high production values, but this remake for the DS isn't quite up to speed it seems. Honestly, if only uses 1 screen for most of the game, and no attempts to update the classic but ancient JRPG formula have been made. This makes it somewhat repetitive at times and may turn
    Final Fantasy III
    Average User Score: 7.6
    7
    It's not bad, but not astounding. Final Fantasy is known for having very high production values, but this remake for the DS isn't quite up to speed it seems. Honestly, if only uses 1 screen for most of the game, and no attempts to update the classic but ancient JRPG formula have been made. This makes it somewhat repetitive at times and may turn newcomers off, as and even the best tactician will probably have to grind to get through this game. Still despite all this, FFIII uses a lot of creative and fun concepts in its gameplay, the shining example of this being the job system. This system alone brings unlimited strategic depth to your combat team, almost like pokemon. To sum it up, this game is a remake, but the graphics (which are still bad) are basically the only thing that has been modernized, and it can feel like a very monotonous game at times. Nevertheless, RPG fans will find this game decent, and it still has that FF atmosphere we all know and love.
    Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    This game is hard for me to review because personally it isn't my favorite but I still know how important it is. Final Fantasy 3 is really for the die hard FF player only, the game is seriously challenging and very time consuming for a SNES title. I have to be honest, for its' time this game was extremely well written and pretty much brought FF to life (NES didn't have as much attention).This game is hard for me to review because personally it isn't my favorite but I still know how important it is. Final Fantasy 3 is really for the die hard FF player only, the game is seriously challenging and very time consuming for a SNES title. I have to be honest, for its' time this game was extremely well written and pretty much brought FF to life (NES didn't have as much attention). I don't think the graphics are on par with Chrono Trigger and the battles are pretty generic, with little to no animation. With that being said, if your up for the challenge this game presents it, especially the end!!! Expand
  10. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    A solid game that is a bit slow paced in the beginning. I highly recommend this to all FF and Donjon Crawling fans :D...the difficulty is also very high, which is something that people like me enjoy

    Gameplay: 7/10
    Story: 8/10
    Music: 8/10
    Presentation: 7.5/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. An excellent remake that remains very much true to the original game. [JPN Import]
  2. It is only the production values: graphics, music, and pedigree that make this game stand out. At its heart, Final Fantasy III is a dated and mediocre RPG that will only please the most die-hard Final Fantasy fans. [JPN Import]
  3. 80
    Hardcore RPG players may enjoy it more than modern Final Fantasy titles, thanks to its emphasis on skill development and combat. Casual players may find themselves surprised by how addictive simple level-grinding and monster-slaying can be.