Flower, Sun, and Rain DS

Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 37
  2. Negative: 12 out of 37
Buy On
  1. 80
    An addictive soundtrack, plenty of brain-teasing puzzles and a gripping story packed full of twists and humorous moments help make Suda-san's title a must-try.
  2. Fans of Grasshopper's original work will not be disappointed, but adventure game fans that don't have any previous experience with Suda's work may want to think twice about this one.
  3. Flower, Sun, and Rain suffers from an extremely dated presentation and a strict, not entirely likeable, code-based puzzle system. These elements gradually wear on the nerves, yet they're not enough to drown the entire experience.
  4. n-Revolution Magazine UK
    70
    If you can handle the strangeness, you’ll find great rewards here.
  5. While Flower, Sun, and Rain has a cool premise and story, the game falls short on the delivery.
  6. Flower, Sun and Rain is a great remedy for those pesky times that you start to actually feel sane and rational.
  7. 65
    While it may not be a must have game, if a person has the free time and the tenacity to stick with it, the game can really be quite enjoyable.
  8. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    64
    Proof that not even bona fide geniuses like Suda51 get it right every time. [Dec 2008, p.73]
  9. games(TM)
    60
    A lack of interactivity makes playing Flower, Sun, And Rain an experience not unlike listening to a favourite album, letting images wash through the mind for their own worth. [Dec 2008, p.119]
  10. Flower, Sun and Rain is an incredibly ambitious release for the DS. Most will find it overly frustrating and just a bit too weird. Some will love it, though.
  11. Flower, Sun and Rain for Nintendo DS is a remake of a game that was released in 2001 on the PS2, but doesn't take advantage of the characteristics of the Nintendo handheld being the puzzles so repetitive. A special game but so weird for moments with a poor graphic textures.
  12. Nintendo Power
    60
    Unless you're a Suda51 completist, though, you'll likely find Flower, Sun, and Rain to be little more than an artfully executed curiosity. [Apr 2009, p.84]
  13. 60
    While I salute Flower, Sun and Rain for its innovation and uniqueness, its mind-boggling puzzles met with surreal gameplay makes for one hell of a trip in every sense of the word.
  14. It's Groundhog Day meets Philip K. Dick in this entertaining but muddled mystery adventure.
  15. Though flawed, Flower, Sun and Rain offers perhaps more than one would expect from a game certain to be remembered as Suda's rookie effort. The story is shockingly original and fearless, and the game's style is irrefutably Suda. It's just a shame there isn't much of a game beneath all the ideas.
  16. Games Master UK
    58
    A genre-defying postmodern game but lacking the punch of Suda 51's more recent efforts. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  17. The one saving grace of Flower, Sun, and Rain is the story. [July 2009, p.90]
  18. 55
    This one just isn't that good.
  19. In the end, the game's dated feel is a double-edged sword. It might be odd to feel nostalgic for a time that's less than a decade ago, but Flower, Sun and Rain will make you feel exactly that.
  20. Some ill thought out mechanics really make this already niche title further marginalised, but it's nonetheless a very quirky adventure game.
  21. In striving to be unique, this title actually manages to loose itself in the attempt. The puzzles are repetitive and the sense of progress is often lost in all the "unique" features of the game. There are better games in the genre available on the DS.
  22. AceGamez
    50
    What holds Flower, Sun and Rain together, in the end, is Suda 51's inimitable sense of humour.
  23. It's a shame that a game with so much promise in the areas that maybe we underestimate in games such as the story and scripting, can fare so badly in the audiovisual experience and general gameplay.
  24. 50
    But the game feels low-budget and leaves more questions than answers, and the underlying "math" theme isn't exactly the best implementation of the puzzle system.
  25. There is absolutely no reason to buy, rent or even think twice about this game. It will only continue to break your heart over the course of one repeated, anguish-filled day.
  26. Right off the bat, there's really nothing marvelous about Flower, Sun, and Rain. If there's any reason to play this game, it's to see how the developers were before the releases of games like Killer 7 and No More Heroes. Either way you look at it, while the game isn't bad, there's nothing impressive or particularly enjoyable, so it's best to just skip it entirely.
  27. 45
    An addition to the long line of adventure video games that will leave players feeling cold where gameplay is concerned. Suda 51 fans should play it for the story and the music, nothing more.
  28. A patience-trying acquired taste.
  29. Edge Magazine
    40
    As a script, Flower, Sun And Rain is, for at least two thirds, hugely witty and effortlessly mad, eliciting enough regular laughs to cover for the game's otherwise painfully tedious forms of interaction. [JPN Import; Dec 2008, p.96]
  30. If you can make it past the horrible audiovisuals and laborious gameplay then there is some fun to be had here, but you really have to work for it.
  31. The music is awesome, the characters are quirky and the story, is a little like 'Lost', but none of this can lift the game above an interactive story with a poor puzzle mechanic at its core. Let's hope Suda's next DS outing, The Silver Case, fares better. This one is strictly fans-only.
  32. Despite its few moments of levity, however, the surreal nature of the storyline remains a little too odd throughout, and the repetitive nature of the gameplay makes Flower, Sun and Rain more of a slog to play through than it is enjoyable.
  33. 40
    Although Flower, Sun and Rain shows signs of innovation, it's much too confusing to enjoy. There is originality here in spades, but the experience lacks direction. Skip it.
  34. Flower, Sun, and Rain is largely unenjoyable.
  35. 40
    Flower, Sun, and Rain is barely a video game at all. Calling it such is almost too high of praise for a blemish such as this. FSR manages to fail in almost every way, and so completely does it fail that I could scarcely finish half of the adventure.
  36. 30
    It just goes to show that high concept ideas don't always materialize the way they look on paper. If you have a thing for games barely sewn together at the seams, inner monologues and lots of filler you might be able enjoy Flower, Sun and Rain. Might.
  37. This game is a flat out 3, you should really play it.

Awards & Rankings

#38 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#10 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    Flower, Sun, and Rain.
    The only thing I saw of this game before playing it was a screenshot, and the only thing I knew about it was the name.
    Flower, Sun, and Rain.
    The only thing I saw of this game before playing it was a screenshot, and the only thing I knew about it was the name. Those two things alone were enough for me to play this game. And I did. And I absolutely loved it. This game is weirder than weird, crazy, trippy and all in all a fantastic experience. It's difficult to explain why the game is good, it's really something you have to play yourself to judge if you like it or not. But I'll try to at least point out some things I really enjoyed.

    The graphics. Yeah, I thought they were terrible at first, but you know, I started finding a charm in them the more I played and I ended up really liking the strange style they went for.

    The atmosphere and setting. I don't know, I really felt like I was on a small, quiet island while playing this. All the places look really nice, and all the locations give off such a peaceful vibe when they are meant to, and they can also be spooky when they're supposed to be. Really nice.

    The plot of the game. It's good. Really good. At least I though so. Interesting all the way, funny at times, even serious and dark with likable and fun characters. Yeah, most of the characters in this game are really cool in their own way, I really like them.

    Music and sound. The soundtrack is fantastic, amazing, magnificent. Every track fits the situation perfectly, and pretty much every track is great. Even if a lot of the tracks are remixed songs, they feel really fresh and new. I know the original PS2 version of the game has an OST that sounds better, but I think the DS version also sounds amazing. The voice work never really bothered me either, I actually kind of liked it. I think I might have preferred proper voice acting though.

    Now, the flaws of this game in my opinion are:

    The fact that you have to walk back and forth A LOT! It made my thumb hurt on the DSi, so I tried playing it on my 3DS, and my thumb still got really tired. It gets annoying, especially some really long walks later in the game. The other thing is... Well, the puzzles. Some of the puzzles were fun to try to figure out, but others made no sense in my opinion and were simply absurd. I even had to look at an FAQ at some of them, which makes me feel guilty, but I couldn't help it. I just got really frustrated at a few of those puzzles. I was expecting it though, the game kind of throws you into it with very little explaining of what to do. Already at the start of the game you feel confused.

    But yes, this is a really nice game. I really enjoyed it and if anybody reading this wants to try it out, I recommend them to do so. I feel like the scores for this game are kind of unfair, I know it's not a game for everyone, but seriously, that 54 is pretty harsh. But oh well, this is just my humble opinion. Grasshopper did a good job with this one, and I'm now convinced that I want to try more of their games.
    I give this game a 9 out of 10.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    Flower, Sun, and Rain is a vastly underrated gem from mastermind Suda51.

    FSR is a game that is hard to even call a game. Usually I don't
    Flower, Sun, and Rain is a vastly underrated gem from mastermind Suda51.

    FSR is a game that is hard to even call a game. Usually I don't like explaining that in too much detail because the experience is such a ride that it may spoil it. I will say that this game is definitely not for everyone but it's definitely for the select few that can appreciate what it is. If you want a very non-traditional game supported almost completely by it's writing and confusion, this is for you.

    If I had to describe FSR in one sentence, it would be "Descend into madness." Take that how you will.

    As a side note, I find it's very easy to get burnt out on this game if you try to play too much at once. Prominently featured in this game is separated chapters that are broken down into in-game days. Take the opportunity to self-insert as the main character, Mondo, and immerse yourself in a day-to-day mystery.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2014
    5
    This is a very difficult game to review and I'm also very sorry to say that, despite having a great names behind (like Suda51), I will sayThis is a very difficult game to review and I'm also very sorry to say that, despite having a great names behind (like Suda51), I will say that the game is not recommended for everyone: I love his works, Killer7 is on top of my favourite games of all time, but this game just doesn't work right.

    Let me explain why.

    The game is basically an adventure game and you play about 18 cases (19 if you consider the start, called request 0) and you actually control your character, Sumio Mondo, around the place: the limits are going to be slowly removed, making you more free to roam around. And this is one big problem because in later cases, you'll RUN a lot during these parts, almost 5 entire minutes of solely running into vast spaces, only then to come back and later do it again! No fast travel, you run all the time, and when you're not running you will be solving puzzles, and here it comes another big flaw: the puzzles are revolved on the same exact thing which is basically imputting numbers, and nothing else: you use Catherine (your briefcase) to jack-in, and according to what you read at the start of the case (yes, the puzzles don't tell you what you gonna do: you need to write them down your own), you put a long or short sequence of numbers.

    And this is where I used to stop: I couldn't get past the first (Request 1, not 0) day, because even if I made sure to read the part where I was supposed to read, the game was too cryptic to let me know how it worked. It was only thanks to a walkthrough that I finally managed to beat this game...and even then, I STILL didn't get the puzzles, even when it explained it to me how it worked.

    I'm sorry, but I still don't this game works greatly: I grew up with adventure games such as Full Throttle and Day of the Tentacle, but this was just too cryptic for me.

    So as much as I love Suda51, I do not recommend this game to anyone...but it's not a bad game and, really, it has a very good story (a bit too crazy), so...if you're curious about it, grab a walkthrough and enjoy the story: the game is lengthy (about 8 hours with a walkthrough, you can easily double of triple if you want it to do without cheating) and the story will hook you in, just because you don't know what's going on!

    I liked it, but I doubt that I'll play it again. Not the best adventure game nowadays.
    If you want adventure games with puzzles in it however, go play Professor Layton instead.
    Full Review »