User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 259

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is perhaps the best Nintendo DS games ever made. Rockstar made an amazing transition from the console to a handle held. Even if this is simplified from it's larger console buddies, do not think your going to get a watered down version of the game. Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars proves the gaming industry that it's not graphics that makes it's games amazing- but the game play.This is perhaps the best Nintendo DS games ever made. Rockstar made an amazing transition from the console to a handle held. Even if this is simplified from it's larger console buddies, do not think your going to get a watered down version of the game. Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars proves the gaming industry that it's not graphics that makes it's games amazing- but the game play. Rockstar managed to grab such a massive game and squeeze it down into the palm of your hand- with lengthily missions, absurdly simple yet satisfying touch screen mini-games, and a massive world to explore. Easily the best game the DS has to offer and is not an experience to miss. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = The best handheld GTA experi . . . never mind, this IS one of the best GTA experiences on any system.
  3. May 13, 2011
    10
    GTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the consoleGTA at it's best. A full-feature game on a handheld with amazing graphics and sound effects. I lacked the voice acting from the storyline but there is some when you meet people on the street. You can't go into buildings, but you have a bunch of mini-games instead. The GPS works really well, the vehicles are varied. There is a constant FPS, and the controls use all buttons of the console and even the touch screen, which is amazing! 11 points of 10 for this one! Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Not only the best game on the DS, it may just be one of the best games for any handheld device. The story, while lacking in the serious vibe GTA IV had, is well written and hilarious. There's a plethora of extras and secrets, and the car physics is an amazing milestone for a DS game. The greatest triumph of Chinatown Wars, however, is the drug-dealing. Missions give a VERY limited amountNot only the best game on the DS, it may just be one of the best games for any handheld device. The story, while lacking in the serious vibe GTA IV had, is well written and hilarious. There's a plethora of extras and secrets, and the car physics is an amazing milestone for a DS game. The greatest triumph of Chinatown Wars, however, is the drug-dealing. Missions give a VERY limited amount of money, so if you want to buy extra weapons and armor, drug dealing is a necessity. Finding drug dealers, finding the lowest seller and the highest bidder, getting emails from dealers giving you great deals, the entire system is much more than a gimmick. It's what sets Chinatown Wars apart, and maybe even better, than GTA IV. Missions are varied, characters are colorful and funny, shootouts are intense, and the cars are fast. This is the best way to play GTA, and it's on a handheld, no less. Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touchThis is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touch screen controls effectively is also very enjoyable. Collapse
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    A great blast from the past this game is just like the older GTA games like 1&2 of what is my childhood btw its just fantastic its just its story that can be a little lackluster
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    I started playing the game with my same reaction as GTA Advanced "It's cool that it's on a handheld, but it can't keep my attention for long. After the first mission and 50+ hours later this stands as my third favourite GTA. I'm dead serious, this is the most fun I've ever had on a handheld, I mean it has everything good story, good characters, good gameplay and good controls it's justI started playing the game with my same reaction as GTA Advanced "It's cool that it's on a handheld, but it can't keep my attention for long. After the first mission and 50+ hours later this stands as my third favourite GTA. I'm dead serious, this is the most fun I've ever had on a handheld, I mean it has everything good story, good characters, good gameplay and good controls it's just plain fun. If your looking in your bargain bin in your Walmart, or Gamestop pick it up I highly recommend it. Expand
  8. May 29, 2012
    0
    This is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touchThis is simply the best game on DS and you will be troubled to find anything that comes close to Chinatown wars's unique and excellent gameplay. Running around the streets dealing drugs and turning an excellent profit whilst desperately avoiding the police and sending there cars smashing into buildings proves to be an fun past time and doing lengthy unique missions that use the touch screen controls effectively is also very enjoyable. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. The game does suffer from too many touch screen mini-games and a slightly outdated look, but those problems are easy to overlook when the product turns out to be this good!
  2. 100
    Whether you get end up drug dealing, causing mayhem, taxiing city passengers around or simply completing the missions, it's likely that your only moment of disappointment will come when you realize how dangerously close you are to finishing the game -- at which point you should note that there are an additional set of missions to be unlocked by tracking down two (very well) hidden Golden Lions after the main storyline ends.
  3. Despite the minor flaws, Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars is an excellent experience.