Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    40
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is not a good DS game by any account. There's no effort behind it, the storytelling is weak, and the presentation is some of the least inspired on the handheld.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    51
    As I stated earlier, this entry into the Harry Potter video game franchise is not broken (except for the music). The game functions well, and even looks pretty good, but there is very little incentive to play. The combat can be frustrating, it's the worst translation of the story among all the different media that it is currently available on and the music is simply non-existent (for me anyway).
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    63
    The game is rather disappointing, because the sound, the atmosphere, and the controls are, to put it bluntly, just really bad.
  4. A decent Potter package. [Christmas 2010, p.84]
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    49
    But hey, at least the characters look nice. [Christmas 2010, p.74]
  6. Dec 23, 2010
    40
    This DS game isn't as bad as its HD counterparts, despite its average graphics and some flaws of playability. Too bad the story isn't really well put, the levels so short and really uninspired, and the close-range targeting failing more often than not. It could have been a very nice game without those flaws.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    I was quite disappointed with the game The controls are so confusing I can't even beat the game And the graphics were just horrible. The onlyI was quite disappointed with the game The controls are so confusing I can't even beat the game And the graphics were just horrible. The only good thing is multiplayer. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    3
    A very bad game horrible graphics low replay value and few spells makes for a less than fun game DO NOTA very bad game horrible graphics low replay value and few spells makes for a less than fun game DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    I got the game for Christmas. I enjoyed it because I am a huge Harry Potter fan. It was, however, far from both the book and movie. SomeI got the game for Christmas. I enjoyed it because I am a huge Harry Potter fan. It was, however, far from both the book and movie. Some things that were in it, were not the way they should have happened.
    The graphics could have been better.
    Over all I did enjoy playing it. I know it is part one, but I think the chapters could have been longer. I got the game for Christmas and finished it today... I loved the game, but wish it had been longer.
    Full Review »