Kingdom Hearts Re:coded DS

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 76
  2. Negative: 13 out of 76
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    7
    The story does need some work, and it is by far the weakest in the entire series. Not to mention that the game is terribly short and it has a tendency of dragging on. But good graphics especially for the DS, fun gameplay, and a good amount of replay value despite the convoluted story makes up for it.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    6
    well i buy it and all i have to say is disappointed because the game story is very boring and repetitive and besides the story is very short too but i have to say nice graphics
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    Game: Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney System: Nintendo DS (NDS) Total Score: 73/100 Value Score: 7.3/10 • Story: 8/10 • Characters: 8/10 • GamePlay: 6/10 • Graphics: 6/10 • Sound: 7/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 6/10 • Replay Value: 5/10 • Player Value: 7/10 Pros +Music quality is great +A lot of the memorable cast of Disney
    Game: Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney
    System: Nintendo DS (NDS)
    Total Score: 73/100
    Value Score: 7.3/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 8/10
    • GamePlay: 6/10
    • Graphics: 6/10
    • Sound: 7/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 6/10
    • Replay Value: 5/10
    • Player Value: 7/10

    Pros
    +Music quality is great
    +A lot of the memorable cast of Disney characters return
    +Fast paced battles when you actually get them
    +Different types of gameplay modes for those who like variety
    +A great way to re-tell and rehash the first Kingdom Hearts game's storyline
    +Leveling up system is well done like in 358/2 Days.
    +Theatre Mode allows you to watch cutscenes again (must finish game once)
    +Revisit and redo worlds as if you never played them

    Cons
    -Storyline does not bring anything new to the actual universe of Kingdom Hearts
    -Gameplay tries too much to be full of different styles of gameplay which can become tedious or just annoying.
    -Controls are annoying at times due to the lack of buttons on the NDS especially the camera controls
    -Due to the lack of buttons, switching through menus is a one way trip so you have to re-cycle through your list of commands before getting back to the one you want to.
    -Sound quality at a few times seem like its worse than KH 358/2 days which had decent sound effects.
    -Cutscenes are mostly now cardboard cutouts with a few stances which is a poor decision on the re-design of the game.
    -The shortest Kingdom Hearts game in the entire series.
    Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    5
    This game is the worst Kingdom Hearts game ever created. The story is awful and the game is boring. The leveling system was somewhat interesting but overall this game was stupid and a waste of time.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    If there was any game that could be pulled out of the series that would not affect the overall story of the series, it would be this game. I understand if it was a cell phone game that was just ported to the DS, but Square Enix treats it as an important title. It's not needed, because players already know what will proceed after playing BBS. With that said, the story is meaningless andIf there was any game that could be pulled out of the series that would not affect the overall story of the series, it would be this game. I understand if it was a cell phone game that was just ported to the DS, but Square Enix treats it as an important title. It's not needed, because players already know what will proceed after playing BBS. With that said, the story is meaningless and is worth nothing to talk about. Gameplay is.....ok. The RPG elements are done well, with the customization of Digital Sora. But other than that, the camera is outright broken, and some of the gameplay can be counter-intuitive. For example, a mission will tell you to ignite 5 Heartless. So, I shot fire at the Heartless, but the shot is SO powerful, since my level is so high, and it kills the Heartless instantly. So it doesn't count. You COULD try to remove Level Up chips, but this is way too tedious and against any normal strategy the player can conjure. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    This has to be the KH title I enjoyed the least. The gameplay is good (even if backdoors sometimes frustrate me and are a little repetitive), it's the story I didn't like much. Seems to me it was just an excuse to visit for the bazillionth time the worlds from KH1. I like avatars though, and some things of the gameplay that are innovative, such as 2D battles or the different endings inThis has to be the KH title I enjoyed the least. The gameplay is good (even if backdoors sometimes frustrate me and are a little repetitive), it's the story I didn't like much. Seems to me it was just an excuse to visit for the bazillionth time the worlds from KH1. I like avatars though, and some things of the gameplay that are innovative, such as 2D battles or the different endings in castle oblivion. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
#13 Most Shared DS Game of 2011
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 58
  2. Negative: 4 out of 58
  1. May 9, 2011
    90
    Thanks to its familiar settings, independent storyline, and range of gameplay styles, Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded works well not only as an introduction to the series, but also as a continuation of what is most likely the zaniest storyline in gaming today.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Kingdom Hearts Re:coded is a game that feels fragmented. It failed to live up to its potential when it comes to treading new ground, as it falls back into the same familiar territory that fans have already visited and seen. It is not a bad game by any means, but this latest Kingdom Hearts game just isn't what it could have been in regards to giving the series a boost and the breath of fresh air that it needed.
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    55
    Kingdom Hearts re: Coded is the weakest of the series mostly out of a sense of just existing to kill time until the next 'actual' installment.