User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play, and it's especially rewarding to unlock all the music, and mini games. If you enjoy platformers with a touch of cuteness then you need to own this game. I also give it a 10 because well it is an amazing game. :)
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Personally, I thought Kirby's Canvas curse was a curse on the franchise. I really disliked it because in my eyes, it wasn't so much a Kirby game as it was a Kirby-themed pinball game with the twist that you draw your own ramps. Kirby's Mass Attack is nothing like it, thank God, and funny enough has a pinball mini-game that I find a lot more fun than Canvas Curse. The ability to move similarly has been retained, but works more like a rainbow tractor beam than a rainbow ramp. I must admit I was a bit irritated when I only had that first, singular Kirby, wanting nothing more than to just be able to use the control pad for a new Kirby game made in this century. The moment I got the second one, that vanished entirely, and it became obvious to me that I was in for one fun game. There's something particularly satisfying about starting a stage with a full horde of them, beating the snot out of various enemies. It's like controlling a vicious cloud of fluffy pink piranha. The levels are very world-appropriate, and have really cute touches, such as the skeletons of various enemies in the walls in a cave stage. The difficulty is just right, harder than Superstar but easier than curse, with a list of achievement-like goals for those that like to completely beat a game. The mini-games are a load of fun by themselves. Most notable to me is the most insane shoot-em-up ever (sadly a touch too easy). My nitpick is that the camera is sometimes a bit reluctant to go the direction you want to, even if your whole team is together. This is especially bad in the haunted house in area 4, making it a little harder than it was already. But, I definitely agree this is a must-have for most DS owners, and an easy near-perfect for Nintendo. Bravo, Nintendo, encore! Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Kirby Mass Attack is the reason to own a DS if you're a Kirby fan. The gameplay is stylus only as you lead your group of up to 10 Kirbys through the level, but it's incredibly easy to learn how to play. The game has tons of unlockable goodies and minigames, including an incredibly addictive game similar to Kirby Pinball on the old Gameboy. The music is fun, the characters are cute, and, well, it's Kirby! You either love him or you don't. If you love him, you owe it to yourself to get this one. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Ever since I played Kirby's Return to Dreamland on the Wii, handheld traditional Kirby games just didn't seem up to par with me so I decided to try out Kirby's more unique experiences and since Mass Attack was the latest entry and as far as I know, received raving reviews, I gave it a shot and I'm super happy I did. I typically don't care for touch screen exclusive games, but Kirby's Mass Attack does it in a very fun way that's similar to Pikmin and Little King's Story. The visuals are cute and colorful and the sound/music is great. I haven't finished it yet, but I'm having loads of fun playing it. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is kirby mass effectivly good.....ten kirbys theres nothing wrong with that fact to began with......i like this game a lot the mini games are also a thrill to........for some odd reason i still like this game even though my friend cramed my game down my throat...not litteraly figurativly...either ways this game has plenty to offer...sadly though this game is not perfect....this game has no wi fi or download play.......also this game ends way to quickly.....i mean litteraly i knocked every single level and got every single rainbow medal in no more then a week and a half.....the only reason this game doesnt have an eight is because of these problem is because the game is really awesome.........overall i find this game great.... Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    The introductory of Kirby and the games started for me back in 1992 from playing Kirby's Dream Land on the Game Boy. The premise of this game was simple and yet held fun and enjoyment. Kirby's traditional ability is to inhale enemies and exhale them out and often gain a form in doing so. The Kirby games as a whole has always been about Kirby's form, level design, music, and a light hearted theme which remains throughout the entire games. My second game was Kirby Super Star in 1996 and this game featured various minigames which offered different concepts. There's a certain charm of the Kirby games which make you appreciate not only the games, but effort and polish from the developers. Kirby Mass Attack continues the light hearted theme and feel and yet, the inhale ability is excluded. The story sets up Kirby exploring in the Popopo Islands, in the south of Popstar when suddenly an evil wizard by the name of Necrodius wants to cover the light in darkness along with his skull gang. Necrodius casts a spell on Kirby which splits him into ten pieces, Kirby's heart motivates and encourages him to set forth into defeating Necrodius so he can regain his original size. This game uses the stylus for Kirby's actions and utilizes it quite well. Kirby's tremendous strength actually derives from the many Kirby's you gather, a strength by numbers aspect. More Kirby's you have, the more efficient he is with plumbing enemies, attaching himself to vines, movement and the like. Speaking of movement, the stylus is used to control Kirby and makes use of the touch screen. Kirby's actions include the following: Walking - By touching the touch screen, a star appears in which Kirby(s) follow. Running - By tapping twice on the star. Moving as a whole - Touch and hold the stylus to the touch screen and the Kirby(s) will hold the star, draw a path for the Kirby(s) to follow. Jumping - Flick the stylus on the touch screen. Attacking - Simply touch the enemy and the Kirby(s) will commence the attack. While gone is the inhale/exhale ability and the forms, this game's key aspect is attacking an enemy using the multiple Kirby's. Having this be a Kirby game, expect secrets of obtaining items and doing various stuff within a stage to unlock. Throughout and scattered on each level are medals which unlock minigames and a checklist if you do certain things in a level. The minigames unlocked are good fun and one of my favourites is Kirby Brawlball, a pinball game. This game is fun and what was interesting and an unexpected surprise was seeing Heavy Lobster from Kirby's Super Star and the anime. Familiar characters of old and new ones are present in both the story mode and minigames which was a nice touch. Music is a strong feature as with from the other Kirby games. What's great is the fact this game features new music and previous game's music in either a remix or taken from. The title screen's music is easily memorable all while able to set a peaceful theme. Music from the levels fit and are executed well, no music feels awkward or out of place. In the Extra's section, there is even a Music Player to play the various music. When you complete a stage, a star appears in the bronze, silver, or gold format. Bronze being a Kirby or Kirby's is missing/gone, Silver being no gone or missing Kirby's (Blue Kirby's represent damage) and Gold being no damage done. Essentially the Gold star is the best rating of completion of level, but nothing occurs if obtained Silver or Bronze. This game definitely is worth the money and the amount of gameplay and content has an unprecedented playability factor. Kirby in 2011 is starting with good exceptions and I'm anxious for Kirby's 2011 Wii game, Kirby Returns to Dreamland. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    I said before that Kirby & The Amazing Mirror was the best Kirby handheld, but that changed with Kirby Mass Attack. The ingenious puzzles are fun to solve, and the sharp graphics are nice. The best thing about this game is its challenge (your BOUND to die at least ONCE in this game) and the unlockable Extras. Ranging from vertical-scrolling shooter Strato Patrol EOS to the pinball-esque Kirby Brawlball, the Extras could be made into seperate games in their own right. This title is not to be missed. Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Cute, Frantic and fast, Mass attack is not a regular Kirby game, but more a Pikminesque Kirby where survival of all 10 Kirby is needed. The music is great, the setting is great and the levels are original and different.
  9. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    First things first, I absolutely love Kirby games, I have enjoyed every one I've played. And this is no exception. Kirby has had odd games in the past, Power Paintbrush, Epic Yarn and now this. But this is my favorite one yet, it's difficulty is perfect, which is odd in a Kirby game as they are usually relatively easy (especially Mouse Attack and Epic Yarn), the graphics are lovely, the story is decent, the music is rather charming (although possibly one of my least favorite soundtracks for a Kirby game) and the gameplay is so unique and perfectly well executed it makes one sad that games like this won't be made again. It's a showcase for how brilliant the DS was and how good it can still be (although I wish this came out before the 3DS). I haven't given it a 10 because, the controls can take a while to get used to and some of the levels are a little samey. I really can't recommend this game enough,or really show how great it is. If I could give the game a 9.5/10, I would. Expand
  10. RRR
    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I have always loved the Kirby games produced by Nintendo, they are very cool. All of their characters are extremely funny and there can't be anyone who says that they are not cute. The Kirby: Mass Attack has some new features that make it different from past Kirby games and it really has its own DS characteristics.

    Nintendo Repair Shop
    www nintendorepairshop com
  11. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    This game is another Kirby game i dislike. Kirby Mass Attack was Boring and was a horrible game. No powerups and stupid story. i really think there are many other kirby games that are better
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    You just might find it to be very addicting as you control up to 10 Kirbys to solve puzzles and defeat enemies. If you are a fan of Kirby then you should play this.
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I honestly wasn't too interested in this game, since Return to Dream Land was coming so soon and looked like a much better Kirby game. Then I downloaded the demo from Nintendo Channel and absolutely loved. One of the very few games where touch controls are pretty much flawless. Absurdly creative and original, one of the best 2D platformers in ages. Plays nothing like a traditional Kirby game, and that's surprisingly not a bad thing. Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Kirby fans, don't overlook this game because of Return to Dreamland or because you don't like the concept. I nearly made that mistake but decided to buy it and I'm really glad I did. In my opinion this is one of the best Kirby games since SuperStar. An evil magician shows up and splits Kirby into 10. You begin each world as one kirby and have to gather fruit to create more. Some items and levels can only be accessed if you have a certain number of kirbies so collecting fruit and getting your army of pink puffballs to 10 is always the first priority in a world. The control is actually a lot better than I thought it'd be. It's easy to guide all your kirbys to where you want them to be and only very occasionally (usually in the levels with water) will any get left behind. The graphics are really nice to look at and the music is some of the best the series has had. While there are only four worlds (five if you count the final boss's stage) each level has its own uniqpe gimmick so the gameplay never gets old. For example, in the Dedede resort world, there's a level where you're being chased by an ice dragon and another where you have to go through an abandoned pirate ship. In one world, a bonus level switch is abducted by aliens so you have to go through several levels in space to get it back. So there's plenty of stage variety. There are plenty of bosses and unlike kirby tradition, they rarely repeat. You'll be fighting a brand new boss after the majority of levels. Collecting medals will unlock minigames, and some of these are great fun. Like a vertical scrolling shooter where you have to take down bosses from Kirby's adventure on the NES. These minigames are filled with nods to other kirby media (even the anime) that long time fans will notice and smile at. Over all I give Mass attack a 9. It's very nearly perfect but those occasional moments where one kirby gets left behind and you have to try and get him back on track without making all the other kirbies follow him can get annoying. Expand
  15. May 14, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kirby games have always pleased me, their playful setting, cute designs, and awesome music. And Mass attack is no exception. Probably one of the best Kirby game out there; I've only played a handful so I don't know if my word is worth much. If you must know I played: Ultra superstar, crystal shards, and squeak squad. Anyways, this was overlooked in my eyes. Seeing how it's such a change from the normal Kirby formula. But it seems to have been seen as a good game by most players and critics. Okay now time to talk about the game. First of all, the music is some of the best I personally think in most games; again in my opinion, it's really catchy and is just perfect in how you can listen to it in the options. With perfect music it just compliments the visual style. The gameplay however is different, it's not anything drastic, but it can be a bit troubling. The variety in levels in the game are very clever, from surfing, and even driving a tank! I can safely say that any game with you controlling a tank with 10 Kirby's as ammunition gets a pass for me. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    80
    Nintendo gives you a very clever mixture of classic 2D-jump´n´run and Pikmin. Who could say no to such a combination?
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    The selection is definitely more hit than miss, although there are a few stinkers.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    Its over-the-top cuteness can sometimes be out of place, but Kirby Mass Attack is surely a fun, addictive and immensely enjoyable game.