Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    82
    An impressive replay value meets repetitive sounds, a humorous plot fights against an unforgiving handling. LEGO Ninjago definitely isn't quite polished as it could be, but for tacticians, it is very suitable.
  2. May 24, 2011
    75
    LEGO Battles: Ninjago is meant to be an introductory RTS for young gamers.
  3. May 6, 2011
    75
    Ninjago is a satisfying new addition to the LEGO universe. [May 2011, p.88]
  4. May 16, 2011
    70
    Hellbent Games and TT Games have teamed up to provide one of the most solid real-time strategy experiences on the Nintendo DS in general.
  5. May 13, 2011
    64
    A rigid Lego step in the right direction. [May 2011, p.68]
  6. May 25, 2011
    60
    Lego Ninjago is an ideal RTS for an audience of beginners and kids. Several flaws undermine a product however able to amuse and entertain for a few days.
  7. May 5, 2011
    60
    A very easy RTS, better if enjoyed in multiplayer matches.
  8. Basic graphics, basic strategy game. It's not bad, but it's not brilliant either.
  9. 50
    While the game can be quite enjoyable with patience and perseverance, the story premise is overdone and ridiculous, and Lego fans would be better off to play with the actual toy bricks.
  10. May 17, 2011
    50
    In single and two-player Battle Mode, Lego Battles: Ninjago provides a simple, approachable RTS that can make for a fun, uncomplicated and challenging experience. However, the main adventure can be tedious and disappointing, level design is lacklustre and warrior classes lack enough variety to make for a rich and subtle strategic experience.
  11. Apr 25, 2011
    50
    Branching the Lego brand off into RTS territory is a good idea, and one that, at times, can be seen bearing some fruit. Unfortunately, there are just too many problems to make this game worth recommending. With a graphical overhaul and a few tweaks, this game might be able to briefly make the kids forget about their desires to catch all those Pokemon. However, like that space jet you attempted to construct when you were five, this game is probably better off forgotten.
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    50
    LEGO Battles: Ninjago will satisfy gamers looking for a change from LEGO's popular action-adventure titles and don't mind looking at shabby graphics.
  13. May 16, 2011
    45
    Despite a good concept and the important brand, LEGO Battles: Ninjago is a RTS excessively lacking depth and visual quality even for the the little kids the game is obviously aimed to.
  14. Apr 16, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    Wow! I was hoping for a sequel to the first game! This one is way prettier! It feels more like the other LEGO games but still has lots of strategy. Oh, and I LOVE ninjas!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Just picked this game up, it's a great continuation from the previous game, LEGO Battles. Really enjoying the Ninja theme. Good fun pick me up game, I'd totally recommend it. Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    what is see i like and what i hear i love. what i play is not like other lego game but not a bad thing. like real brick toy, even better with friends. lots of time investment to see all, i am not even close. Full Review »