Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story DS

Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In his evil plot to take over the Mushroom Kingdom, Fawful tricks Bowser into eating a magic mushroom. The mushroom causes Bowser to begin inhaling everything around him, including Mario, Luigi and Princess Peach! Do the Mario Bros. have the guts to rescue Peach and escape? Players are inIn his evil plot to take over the Mushroom Kingdom, Fawful tricks Bowser into eating a magic mushroom. The mushroom causes Bowser to begin inhaling everything around him, including Mario, Luigi and Princess Peach! Do the Mario Bros. have the guts to rescue Peach and escape? Players are in control of two separate storylines. One features Bowser and his efforts to stop an arch-villain from taking over his castle. Meanwhile, inside Bowser, the microbe-sized Mario & Luigi must muscle their way through challenges and keep their nerve if they want to find a way out. They take action to control Bowser from the inside - but without his knowledge. Players can switch between storylines at will. What happens inside Bowser affects what he’s doing on the outside. Sometimes Mario & Luigi must solve puzzles and challenges behind the scenes to help Bowser overcome various obstacles and advance the plot. Players must make well-timed button presses to enhance their performance during battles and challenges. In some battles, Bowser grows so large that players must turn their Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSi system sideways, blow into the microphone or tap on the touch screen with the stylus to keep up with the action. The game features the same hilarious dialogue that has been the hallmark of the Mario & Luigi series. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. The adventure is lengthy, the characters are entertaining, and this is truly a game that you’ll want to keep in your pocket for any free minute you find yourself with. DS owners should not miss out on what could certainly be the best handheld RPG of 2009.
  2. Mario and Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is a truly remarkable experience, and should not be passed up by anyone who's interested in Mario, RPGs, or the Nintendo DS in general.
  3. 92
    Once again, Mario and Luigi star in one of the most ingenious and well-polished titles on the DS. Their Fawfulized adventure through the bowels of the Mushroom Kingdom and its number one bad guy is one no one is likely to forget, especially Bowser.
  4. Inside Story is also incredibly beautiful, possibly among the best looking DS games ever made.
  5. Edge Magazine
    90
    A game that's more than the sum of its parts. [Dec 2009, p.98]
  6. Games Master UK
    90
    Bowser proves a brilliant distraction from traditional Mario play in 2009's silliest RPG. [Winter 2009, p.81]
  7. Its greatest achievement is its pacing: it never loses focus over the course of its 20 hours.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 58
  2. Negative: 3 out of 58
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Bowser's Inside Story, to put it quite simply, is an AMAZING game. The plot is great, the concept is great, and the battles are great. AndBowser's Inside Story, to put it quite simply, is an AMAZING game. The plot is great, the concept is great, and the battles are great. And don't forget about Fawful. Fawful and his "I HAVE FURY!" quote are just hilarious. But what I feel is best about Bowser's Inside Story is the ability to play as Bowser! Half of the game is dedicated to his side of the story, and Mario and Luigi can help Bowser accomplish his goals from inside his own body! Then...he grows HUGE. That is EPIC. Controls are better than ever too. I love this game, and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2016
    10
    finished the game last week, 10/10 game, a story and innovative gameplay, a battle with bowser and battling giant robots that's great, luigifinished the game last week, 10/10 game, a story and innovative gameplay, a battle with bowser and battling giant robots that's great, luigi is so funny character , final battle music is so epic, best mario and luigi rpg music ever, best mario and luigi rpg game,Nintendo you are the best . Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few instances that an RPG can be practically perfect, the other times being Golden Sun and Pokemon. The only things that IThis is one of the few instances that an RPG can be practically perfect, the other times being Golden Sun and Pokemon. The only things that I dislike about this game is the re-used sprites from the previous entries into the series for Mario and Luigi. Things to like- humour, music, final boss, story (seems more unique than most others), pickups, power ups, and mini games. Overall, 9.7/10 Expand
  4. AnthonyS
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    This is a great RPG. I highly recommend it to fans of the series, newcomers alike and people who just like fun. Complete whit Mario & This is a great RPG. I highly recommend it to fans of the series, newcomers alike and people who just like fun. Complete whit Mario & Luigi's fake Italian, a living French stereotype block, Navi who's in disguise as some star thing(lulz), only not as annoying, and many funny moments as well as being a blast to play, and I loved the touch screen controls. Best of all, YOU GET TO PLAY AS EFFING BOWSER!!! Expand
  5. May 30, 2015
    9
    AlphaDream once again delivers a solid, entertaining, and enjoyable experience in the form of Bowser's Inside Story. Mario and Luigi must goAlphaDream once again delivers a solid, entertaining, and enjoyable experience in the form of Bowser's Inside Story. Mario and Luigi must go into Bowser's body (not as gross as it sounds, don't worry) and tell Bowser what to do as you take control of the Koopa King to defeat the famous Fawful from Superstar Saga. The puns are real in this one!

    You'll be fighting a lot in this game so it's a good thing that the combat is probably some of the best I've ever seen. The items system as well as the special attacks are easy enough to do while still somehow remaining in-depth and effective.

    The plot takes many turns, the characters are unique, the dialogue is hilarious, and Bowser's Inside Story is amazing.
    Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Mario and Luigi Bowser's Inside story is another Nintendo game done right. The combat system is accessible and fun. The gameplay is varied andMario and Luigi Bowser's Inside story is another Nintendo game done right. The combat system is accessible and fun. The gameplay is varied and the boss fights are great. This is also Nintendo's most humorous game. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    2
    I love the Paper Mario series thus my reasoning to buy this. I first found it to be fun and new. But as the "mini games" started to pile upI love the Paper Mario series thus my reasoning to buy this. I first found it to be fun and new. But as the "mini games" started to pile up and I started to get into the ridiculously boring "monster" battles. So to take a break from the hundreds of boss battles, I went off exploring. But that was boring too. I found myself moaning and groaning as I moved on. By the time I got to the giant robot fight I was done. Too mentally burnt out to play. I was just that sick of the Mario Bros doing mini games in Bowser and Bowser taking part in horribly boring battles. I just didn't care to beat the boss and move on to even more redundant battles and bloody mini games. Just not my cup of tea. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.
  2. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2009