Metroid Prime: Hunters DS

Metroid Prime: Hunters Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Who is the Galaxy's Most Elite Bounty Hunter? Before Metroid Prime Hunters, the answer was easy. Now that six other ferocious bounty hunters have gathered to challenge Samus, the title is up for grabs. Engage in intense four-player deathmatches either locally or against players from aroundWho is the Galaxy's Most Elite Bounty Hunter? Before Metroid Prime Hunters, the answer was easy. Now that six other ferocious bounty hunters have gathered to challenge Samus, the title is up for grabs. Engage in intense four-player deathmatches either locally or against players from around the world with Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection. Battle with seven elite bounty hunters, each with unique alternate forms and specialty weapons. Customize your multiplayer matches with over 20 expertly designed arenas and seven intense modes of play. Unlock multiplayer features by completing an all-new single-player mission in Adventure Mode. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Metroid Prime Hunters is simply amazing: It lives up to the pedigree of the series, the graphics are unbelievable, and it's the first truly excellent portable first-person shooter. It delivers in both single- and multiplayer in a way few games ever have.
  2. This title offers something that literally can't be found anywhere else; and fortunately, because of theextended development time, managed to improve upon Nintendo's Wi-Fi service as well.
  3. With a great single player component and an even better multiplayer one, this game's overall score is only slightly hurt by the fact that the end of each level in single player is repetitive and the controls take some getting used too.
  4. Nintendo Power
    85
    Hunters is new-school, action-packed, and a great addition to the growing collection of Wi-Fi titles. [May 2006, p.86]
  5. Don't buy this game expecting an experience like the GameCube Metroid Prime titles. This is Quake with a thin layer of Metroid paint. But hey, that's okay if you like Quake.
  6. If nothing else, Hunters establishes itself as a solid and important entry into the Metroid canon with new elements like peripheral characters and a revamped game structure packaged in a more streamlined, enjoyable adventure than its immediate predecessor. For that alone it deserves respect.
  7. 60
    This feels like yet another genre shoehorned poorly onto hardware that just isn’t equipped to handle it.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 65
  2. Negative: 6 out of 65
  1. JasonL.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    This is great! It's long and fun. Enjoyed it for about 60 hours! I give a 10.
  2. ChrisW.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    People say the game hurts, but I don't feel pain! You've GOT to use the STYLUS mode to play properly. I found it very intuitive, People say the game hurts, but I don't feel pain! You've GOT to use the STYLUS mode to play properly. I found it very intuitive, and here's some advice, hold it with your non stylus hand, and gently press your stylus hand into the console with your little finger over the trigger for the imperialist. 10 for 1 player, perfectly placed for me, and I would have 13 for multiplayer, but it only gos up to 10. Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    Whilst the single player is very good it is multiplayer where this really shines. Grab some mates, sit down and let the carnage begin! This isWhilst the single player is very good it is multiplayer where this really shines. Grab some mates, sit down and let the carnage begin! This is the ONLY decent FPS for the DS and with a thumb tap and some decent local wireless friends makes a great afternoon! Expand
  4. MichaelA.
    Sep 1, 2006
    8
    A great Metroid game. The only downside is the story mode. Not saying that it sucks, but it can't compare to the Wi-Fi and local A great Metroid game. The only downside is the story mode. Not saying that it sucks, but it can't compare to the Wi-Fi and local wireless multiplayer. One cool thing about having friends on Wi-Fi is the fact that you can literally talk to them through Wi-Fi by holding down the X button! I DO agree with Charlie N. with one thing. eye boss, tower boss, eye, tower, eye, tower. Can't they think of something different? Last thing, weapons and charcters. Once again, Nintendo's innovation knows no bounds. The characters having their own matching weapons! In my opinion, Noxus is the best. I almost forgot something. Metroid Prime: Hunters tries so much to be like Halo 2 in multiplayer. Defender in MPH is King of the Hill in H2. Nodes in MPH is Territories in H2. I think I've said enough for now. All I'm saying is that this is a game definitely worthy buying and definitely worth getting Wi-Fi for! One of the NDS's best. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    As a metroid fan I always loved the prime series, so lets start with the review.

    Story: The singeplayer was not what I usually would expect
    As a metroid fan I always loved the prime series, so lets start with the review.

    Story: The singeplayer was not what I usually would expect from a metroid serie, the mission were mostly the same (at least when fighting a boss) which could bother some people. Multiplayer: Very entertaining, you have as a player a lot of options to choose and it feel quite ballanced, sad enough no one plays it anymore and its overpopulated with hackers.

    Soundtracks: Fits the game really well, like I usually expect from them.

    Conclusion: If you want to play this game just for the story, then the objectives that you have to do may bother you since it mostly the same. If you play this game for the multiplayer, the I suggest you play it with a friend and not online due to all the hackers.
    If you play this because you are a fan of Metroid, then it will be a fun experience.

    warriorjan
    Expand
  6. JaredC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    Metroid Prime Hunters is one of the best action games for Nintendo DS. Ya right. Some may wonder why is it rated T for Teen. Well the game is Metroid Prime Hunters is one of the best action games for Nintendo DS. Ya right. Some may wonder why is it rated T for Teen. Well the game is slightly difficult and hypnotysingly confusing. And I got lost half way point. By that time, you don't want to play the game anymore because it just gets plain old boring. The only fun part of the game is multiplayer. But nobody I knew wanted to play it. Well, first of all, I got stuck and was completely lost and there was no hints to get you out of the situation. Besides, I was dissapointed to that fact that there were no aliens or other species jumped out at you and have a huge invasion of bugs or whatever and try to defeat them all. But on the other hand, it started out that you parked your ship and jumped out. Walking around a bit traveling through doors. From my opinon, I think that the creator was loosing ideas for jabbing in quick action scenes in there. I bet ya' that he tried to make it suspenseful and, as the genre reads: Horror, he wanted you to be suspicious to what's going to happen next. He very well did that you very much but he did a poor job overall. The game is truly exciting and undeniably thrilling, which grabs your attention by the amazing 2 minute introductory video that swictched your stress to excitement. And multiplayer is very fun, but only for a couple of times and then it just gets boring after a while. My complaint to this whole video game here is that it was by far way to challenging and difficult to get used of. They lost ideas of action scenes once and a while. And all you did for most of the time is walk around scanning things 24/7 and shooting little plants that are blocking the way. That's all it is. Well, anyways, it still was a brilliant thrilling game. It's good but not great, just rent it from the store but don't waste your money on a 40 dollar game that you'll never play. Just for the heads up. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    Granted it doesn't deserve a straight out 0, but I want to bring down the score, it does in no way deserve that.
    It's boring, get
    Granted it doesn't deserve a straight out 0, but I want to bring down the score, it does in no way deserve that.
    It's boring, get to the end of the level shooting enemies, picking up keys and power ups, then running back to the begining of the level in a certain time.
    Wow
    Fun...
    Do not buy
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2006