Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    I don't know when was the last time I was so fascinated by a game, especially one as story-heavy as this.
  2. A fantastic experience from start to finish. It is a game that truly expands what narrative video games can be capable of, and does so with a engrossing story that draws players in until the very end, all six of them.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Another masterpiece of the Nintendo DS, another title of undoubted quality and a welcome addition to the already excellent library of the platform.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors is a mature and rewarding visual novel experience with an unforgettable story that features some truly excellent writing.
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    90
    If you're the type of person who skips cutscenes or nods off during long bits of exposition between explosions then steer clear of 999. If you want to try something new, though, I would suggest giving the game a look. Aksys has taken a huge risk in bringing something like this to America, and it may just be the necessary ice-breaker to bring a whole new genre to our shores.
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    My mind, I hope, is nearly finished unraveling. After three straight days, nights and early, early mornings spent playing through the entirety of 999 and accessing each and every alternate ending, the enrapturing spell this game has cast on me is finally beginning to let me think straight again.
  7. Dec 2, 2010
    90
    Despite its repetitive replay structure, 999 is a thrilling, thoughtful, and fascinating visual novel that represents some of the best the genre has to offer.
  8. 90
    This isn't a game for young kids. It's rated Mature for a reason. It's filled with adult situations and references. So grow up and grab a copy.
  9. Nov 27, 2010
    90
    While I didn't enjoy the repetition, I loved every new minute of 999's slick puzzles and riveting story. [Holiday 2010, p.89]
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    86
    A meaty - often literally - thriller, well told. With no UK release currently on the cards we point all adventure nuts towards their nearest import site.
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    A chilling story and satisfying puzzles work hand in hand to make Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors a deeply absorbing adventure.
  12. Mar 15, 2011
    83
    Closer to a novel than to gaming itself, it's suited more to an eastern oriented public. Narration is superb, characters simply unforgettable. On the other hand, if you don't like text heavy experiences, this is not the game for you.
  13. Nov 21, 2010
    83
    It succeeds as a game thanks to an impressive thriller plot, a deceptively deep choice array, excellent pacing, and actual logical puzzles.
  14. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    999 is stunning. It sports a captivating plot driven by a fantastic cast of characters, a satisfying mix of puzzles and interesting mathematical, scientific and philosophical quandaries to ponder.
  15. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    Well worth importing for anyone ready to experience the highest point the visual novel genre has experienced in decades. [Issue#106, p.115]
  16. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    If you're willing to forgive its foibles this is a fresh and exciting narrative driven experience like no other.
  17. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    If you're willing to put in the effort of replaying 999 to examine its many paths, you'll be rewarded with a multilayered, oftentimes horrifying, story and some satisfyingly creative puzzles.
  18. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    The final sequence of events is likely to eke some tears out of even the most cynical gamer.
  19. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    It might be a pain to get hold of but this engrossing visual novel has more mystery and tension in its simple text screens than a hundred CGI cut scenes.
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    The game 999 most reminded me of was the similarly dark – and bafflingly underrated – Lux-Pain, which was equally inconsistent and suffered from a significantly weaker translation, but arguably blended shocks and laughs a little more skilfully than this does.
  21. May 13, 2011
    60
    999 is a gutsy, mature story that blends horror, science, and character-driven drama in intriguing, thoughtful ways. It's also backed by some sparse but solid gameplay, melding traditional puzzle types with a cohesive math-based theme that nicely suits its subject matter. Unfortunately, what could have been a taut psychological thriller all too often becomes a plodding, pace-killing narrative full of bloated, poorly-integrated dialogue.
  22. Jan 24, 2011
    60
    There's a solid adventure title here, but it's spread thin over a densely written airport thriller. [Feb 2011, p.102]
  23. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    999: Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors is a good experience, and in parts it can be quite clever-I particularly enjoyed that the game made the existence of its multiple endings an explicit part of its plot. Unfortunately, the weak prose doesn't justify the time investment, and the puzzles don't hold up through the mandatory replays.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Very fun, very well done story, neat trick to the real ending. this is a game that should not be missed be fans of puzzle games, phoenixVery fun, very well done story, neat trick to the real ending. this is a game that should not be missed be fans of puzzle games, phoenix wright, or great story telling. Warning it is rated Mature for a reason Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Do you like reading a good story? If so, there is a good chance you will love this game. 999 is a puzzle adventure game, but I think it can beDo you like reading a good story? If so, there is a good chance you will love this game. 999 is a puzzle adventure game, but I think it can be better classified as a Japanese visual novel with some puzzles. The puzzles mostly take a backseat to the story, but are sometimes nicely weaved into the story itself. But like I said, this game is not about the puzzles. It is about the incredibly well-written story that will slowly reveal it's secrets. There are multiple endings, which means you will have to play the game several times. Luckily you can skip the text you have already read in a previous play-through. What puts this game high on my Top Games of All Time list, is the scene surrounding the final puzzle of the game. The puzzle itself is nothing really special, but the moments leading up to that screen left my hands shaking and I just stared at the screen for a few moments before continuing. Even as I write this review, I'm taken back to that moment and relive some of that glory. That all being said, I have to say that this will probably be very different for most people. I wrote this review to show my respects to this game. Also, the actual end scene still left a few plot holes. Let me close by saying that if you like a good book and don't shy away for a few competent puzzles, you will probably love this game as much as I do, though maybe not in the same way. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    3
    The game starts out well with interesting puzzles and a decent story but this quickly goes downhill. The puzzles are well thought out but areThe game starts out well with interesting puzzles and a decent story but this quickly goes downhill. The puzzles are well thought out but are too few with the last being a disappointing sudoku. As well , while you're trying to solve the puzzles you are constantly being interrupted for another piece of story which can be very game breaking. The story along with the concept of being trapped in a Saw or Cube type of scenario is exciting at first but quickly becomes bland. This isn't helped by the fact you must repeat the game at least twice to get the true ending (which is highly unlikely if you truly want to play all the puzzles). Presenting the player with a large Titanic-sized ship setting, and then not allowing any exploration is frustrating to say the least. You are locked into a very linear storyline, only able to make a handful of actual player decisions. This all adds up to being a decent visual novel that you have to read at least twice and with little to no game play. Full Review »