Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword DS

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2008
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Matt
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    Actual score: 9.5. This is one of the most polished and graphically stunning games to grace the DS. The touch-based gameplay feels much like its xbox counterpart, which is impressive to say the least. Most importantly the game is fun without the frustration that I've come to associate with Ninja Gaiden and any other game Tomonobu Itagaki directs. I consider this game to be somethingActual score: 9.5. This is one of the most polished and graphically stunning games to grace the DS. The touch-based gameplay feels much like its xbox counterpart, which is impressive to say the least. Most importantly the game is fun without the frustration that I've come to associate with Ninja Gaiden and any other game Tomonobu Itagaki directs. I consider this game to be something like the God of War of the DS: fast-paced (but well-paced.), amazing to look at, and worth replaying the instant you finish. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    This game blew me out of the water and I wish Temco would made a a sequel to this wonderful title.The graphics were just insane and I forgot I was playing on my Nintendo DS throughout the game.The original Japanese signs for the elements were very good.

    Temco keep up the great work!

    10/10
  3. JoeStass
    Sep 17, 2008
    7
    Easily one of the best looking games on the DS, NG:DS does not disappoint in terms of graphic presentation. The control system is nearly flawless and the attacks you'll be completing on screen feel very satisfying when mixed with the sound of the slash. This game easily would have been a must buy and a 10 on the DS... if there was just more to it. Paying $35 for a game you beat in 6Easily one of the best looking games on the DS, NG:DS does not disappoint in terms of graphic presentation. The control system is nearly flawless and the attacks you'll be completing on screen feel very satisfying when mixed with the sound of the slash. This game easily would have been a must buy and a 10 on the DS... if there was just more to it. Paying $35 for a game you beat in 6 hours is not my idea of fun, no matter how great it looks. Also, while the combat does feel very satisfying the whole game through, it also feels very lacking in depth. In fact, if the game were any longer, you'd probably just grow tired of it. This is definitely one of those games where you'll just want to go in with a few friends and take turns playing it. If you get 3 friends to join you, you can all still beat it in one day! Expand
  4. GiancarloGatti
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    i would give this a 8.5 but definitely not a 9.

    Good things about the game: cool ninpo attacks innovative combat system that is really really easy to learn get to switch handhelds weapon which keeps things fresh boss battles are intense Bad things about this game: Graphics remind me of a harry potter game on a gameboy No ability to buy different swords some bad camera
    i would give this a 8.5 but definitely not a 9.

    Good things about the game:

    cool ninpo attacks
    innovative combat system that is really really easy to learn
    get to switch handhelds weapon which keeps things fresh
    boss battles are intense

    Bad things about this game:

    Graphics remind me of a harry potter game on a gameboy
    No ability to buy different swords
    some bad camera angles when fighting bosses
    once you learn attacks nothing else you can learn should put some really good attacks like disappearing and appearing again walking on walls and then slamming them down and backstab icon should appear when you go behind an enemy press it and they'll od a rouge like backstab awesomeness haha
    Expand
  5. UwePoll
    Mar 31, 2008
    6
    Initially, It feels like Ninja Gaiden. And It looks like Ninja Gaiden. But once you really get your teeth into it, it doesn't leave quite the same taste in your mouth as the real deal. This time around, the adventure is structured in a much less cohesive fashion, the enemies provide almost no resistance individually, and the puzzles are so obvious it's almost insulting. But worstInitially, It feels like Ninja Gaiden. And It looks like Ninja Gaiden. But once you really get your teeth into it, it doesn't leave quite the same taste in your mouth as the real deal. This time around, the adventure is structured in a much less cohesive fashion, the enemies provide almost no resistance individually, and the puzzles are so obvious it's almost insulting. But worst of all, the combat system completely lacks the subtle nuances and depth of the original, making the whole affair a long-winded, repetitive hack and slash like so many others. While this is a decent game on its own merits, I'd advise sticking to the various versions of the original, and completely avoid Dragon Sword, until Ninja Gaiden 2 is released. Collapse
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    o jogo otimo faz jus a franquia ninja gaiden

    Ninja Gaiden series director Tomonobu Itagaki has stated that he decided to make the game for the Nintendo DS because of the originality that the platform allows, which he feels is the most important aspect of a handheld platform, and also to create a challenge for himself.[5] Itagaki also claimed that his children wanted one of his titles
    o jogo otimo faz jus a franquia ninja gaiden

    Ninja Gaiden series director Tomonobu Itagaki has stated that he decided to make the game for the Nintendo DS because of the originality that the platform allows, which he feels is the most important aspect of a handheld platform, and also to create a challenge for himself.[5] Itagaki also claimed that his children wanted one of his titles on the platform.[6]
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#44 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. GamePro
    80
    As a standalone DS game, Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword is an amazing adventure almost at the level of "Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass". [Apr 2008, p.79]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    86
    As an example of how to forge a modern action game for DS, Dragon Sword has no equal. [Apr 2008, p.80]
  3. Nintendo Power
    85
    At approximately five hours, Dragon Sword is a bit on the short side, but I have a tough time complaining when those five hours are so tight and extremely polished. [Apr 2008, p.84]