Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 1, 2011
    95
    In general, Plants vs. Zombies is an addictive game in all its versions, but on the Nintendo handheld it has at its disposal the largest audience ever owned by a video game and found its best gameplay on the console because of the touch screen.
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    90
    Already played Plants vs. Zombies? Yeah, so have I. Playing the DS version, though, has gotten me hooked all over again. In terms of gameplay and features, PvZ on DS edges out ahead of pretty much any other version out there.
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    PVZ will grab you in its mesmerizing clutches and leave you slack-jawed and ceaselessly shuffling about for more. [Feb 2011, p.86]
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    Plants vs. Zombies belies its cartoonish appearance with a deep and engaging tactical experience providing lasting appeal.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    3
    I don't understand why this is getting such great reviews, I rented it from game fly and the graphics / interface are far inferior to the previous versions I played. WHY would I pay 29.99 for a DS game I can get for$3 with sharper graphic and smoother gameplay. A ten means perfect this far from that. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    This is basically Plants vs. Zombies on the DS. No new changes other than the smaller screen size. So if you already have it on any other system, you know what you're getting, though I'm not saying it's bad. Still as fun as it ever was. Recommended for tower defense fans who wants something new. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Top screen to see big zombies and touch screen to play with tiny cute zombies! I like playing zombie shooting and baseball :) They are really cute and funny. Full Review »