User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can be accessed on any level. You can simply grind through, giving no thought to your IVs, and leveling up your starter to around 75, with a Level 18 Staravia, and beat the game. However, you can also take the most out of it by creating a perfect team, andThis is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can be accessed on any level. You can simply grind through, giving no thought to your IVs, and leveling up your starter to around 75, with a Level 18 Staravia, and beat the game. However, you can also take the most out of it by creating a perfect team, and you'll need more than a level 75 starter to do well in the Battle Tower. Oh boy. There's so much to do--searching and chaining for Shiny Pokemon (many more Pokemon become available when you beat the game) making poffins, going underground, trading online. It's so extensive, and I've spent over 115 hours on it. I recommend it wholeheartedly. Expand
  2. Will
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    It's an awesome game, but not particular original. It works well with the DS, but I sometimes feel that it could do with a little more refining. For example, if a menu appears on the bottom screen I expect to be able to touch which option I want, but this doesn't always work.
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    For me, this is the last best Pokemon game in the series. Meaning Platinum included. It had the mixture of the old Pokemon and the new Pokemon. I believe that this game added the MOST new Pokemon to date. Along with a lot of the best looking ones. Diamond/Pearl's bread and butter is the intriguing story of the Sinnoh region. Theirs a lot of new contain in the game such as customizing, newFor me, this is the last best Pokemon game in the series. Meaning Platinum included. It had the mixture of the old Pokemon and the new Pokemon. I believe that this game added the MOST new Pokemon to date. Along with a lot of the best looking ones. Diamond/Pearl's bread and butter is the intriguing story of the Sinnoh region. Theirs a lot of new contain in the game such as customizing, new online feature etc. Pokemon fans, get this game and get sucked into the Sinnoh world. Enjoy your time with the last best installment in the Pokemon series. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    this was an excellent DS game
  5. NickL.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    honestly, it is a fun game. it is similar to the previous ones, yet at the same time they have made new adventures and obstacles that must be over come. the one part of the game that i am not really a fan of (and this can go for all of them really) is the repatition of pokemon, if they are going to make a set of new pokemon each game then change them all not just most. i would recomend honestly, it is a fun game. it is similar to the previous ones, yet at the same time they have made new adventures and obstacles that must be over come. the one part of the game that i am not really a fan of (and this can go for all of them really) is the repatition of pokemon, if they are going to make a set of new pokemon each game then change them all not just most. i would recomend this game to people because its new fun and easy. Expand
  6. MarkL.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Small changes make a big difference to the classic Pokemon format. While it may look similar in screens, the new 3D feel and non-grid-based movement make it feel more up to date, you won't feel like your playing the same game you did 10 years ago. The game utilizes the touch screen a lot, but not with much purpose as actions can be carried out with the buttons just as quickly, and Small changes make a big difference to the classic Pokemon format. While it may look similar in screens, the new 3D feel and non-grid-based movement make it feel more up to date, you won't feel like your playing the same game you did 10 years ago. The game utilizes the touch screen a lot, but not with much purpose as actions can be carried out with the buttons just as quickly, and the Poketech is cool but gimmicky. Pocket Gamer UK's review said it well - with the DSes wireless connection abilities this is the community game Pokemon was always trying to be. While it's a fun RPG in it's own right, it's so much more fun to battle and trade with friends. And as with previous Pokemons, it'll take a long time to acquire every Pokemon, so you'll easily get your money's worth. I still would have like to see more radical changes, maybe dropping random battles in FFXII style, or using the touch screen more inventively. But even though Game Freak have been reluctant to risk changing things too much, it's definitely an essential DS purchase, though probably not the console seller that the originals were. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    I have changed my opinion of this game it is really good from the great music to the epic battles this is a great Pokemon game to get!!!! platinum is better!!
  8. NoahW.
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Fun game like all pokemon games but many new pokemon are unoriginal and are stupid but definetly worth getting because you can get pokemon from all other games.
  9. AlexS.
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    This game is different than the others and takes a while to get used to but it is very fun. the new Pokemon are cool and interesting. the game uses the touch screen a lot but is still good. I just got it yesterday so this review is only on the begging my highest level is 19.
  10. Ryan
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Old fashioned pokemon goodness with online play added on. Loads of fun.
  11. CaseyC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    Although admittedly the game is pretty much the same as the Pokemon games, to base a rating on that alone is like saying giving a low score to any of the Halo games (after all, it's just like any other FPS game right?). This game not only updates the battle system and introduce new pokemon, but it also comes with WiFI, enabling battles and trades to everyone around the world. These Although admittedly the game is pretty much the same as the Pokemon games, to base a rating on that alone is like saying giving a low score to any of the Halo games (after all, it's just like any other FPS game right?). This game not only updates the battle system and introduce new pokemon, but it also comes with WiFI, enabling battles and trades to everyone around the world. These two games will keep you occupied for a long time. Expand
  12. MiriamA.
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Great game! Brings back a lot of memories. While game play stays the same, new items and the new Pokemon add to its appeal.
  13. SophS.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    This game has had some poor reviews, but i strongly disagree. The game has cleverly added in the Touch screen and create new and fun ideas to the game. Although the plot is the same as the previous games i still found the game hard to put down even when it came to meals! ! ! ! If you enjoyed other pokemon games you will lke this and even if you have never played pokemon i recommend you This game has had some poor reviews, but i strongly disagree. The game has cleverly added in the Touch screen and create new and fun ideas to the game. Although the plot is the same as the previous games i still found the game hard to put down even when it came to meals! ! ! ! If you enjoyed other pokemon games you will lke this and even if you have never played pokemon i recommend you should try this game. Expand
  14. BenH.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Great game, cool pokemon, great graphics, but ive got one vice with it. You can only put on your seeking list in the GTS pokemon that you have seen Otherwise, an awesome game
  15. AdamF.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I'm rather alarmed that diamond currently has an 8.4 user vote on metacritic when pearl has a 9.3 on the same site. this 10 is to balance the scales. Diamond and pearl are really the same game, and the're both completely awsome.
  16. DeannaH.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    The games are basically the same, but I like this one because it has better graphics and different pokemon. This game is awesome!
  17. MattC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Very similar to the original but why fix what's not broken? The gameplay still remains excellent, with a large world to explore and hundreds of pokemon to catch!
  18. WilliamT.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Not only the best Pokemon game yet but possibly the best use of the touch screen in the DS library. There is nothing in this game that is poorly done. Forget the kiddie assumption, anyone serious about playing good games would find this a worthy purchase.
  19. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Pokemon Diamond was probably the best boost of the Pokemon franchise. This game showed realistic images of towns. There were a few melodramatic, real life scenes. There were many new, more detailed Pokemon. Overall, Pokemon Diamond was one of the biggest contributions to Pokemon game improvements.
  20. SamJ.
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    Pretty much the best game ever made. Plenty of new features added, the graphics are pretty basic but the literally 100s of hours of gameplay, wi fi battling, improved mechanics and loads more. I have a friend who has gotten 530+ hours on it and he is still hooked on it. The other games didn't have this much content, and after the elite 4 there's still missions to do, such as Pretty much the best game ever made. Plenty of new features added, the graphics are pretty basic but the literally 100s of hours of gameplay, wi fi battling, improved mechanics and loads more. I have a friend who has gotten 530+ hours on it and he is still hooked on it. The other games didn't have this much content, and after the elite 4 there's still missions to do, such as getting the legendary pokemon such as heatran and giratina. 10/10 is under rating it but it'll have to do. Expand
  21. GeorgeS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    THE best game on ds. It makes mario kart look like rubbish.The fact that you need to migrate old legendary pokemon to this game because the new one has only about 10 legendary pokemon (including the ones that are very difficult to even find). If you have already fully completed an old pokemon game then you might want to think twice about getting this game as starting off is quite THE best game on ds. It makes mario kart look like rubbish.The fact that you need to migrate old legendary pokemon to this game because the new one has only about 10 legendary pokemon (including the ones that are very difficult to even find). If you have already fully completed an old pokemon game then you might want to think twice about getting this game as starting off is quite difficult. Every thing else is superb. E.I. get the v.s seeker because if yo have god pokemon you can battle the same trainer twice. They will get stronger every time though. Expand
  22. MartinL
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    People say I started the Reformation because I opposed the Catholic church's sales of indulgences. Nonsense, I posted my 95 theses because Pokémon was underrepresented in the church. Come on, it's not Satanic!
  23. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement that the series needed, new Pokemon, new stuff to do, the online multiplayer. Pokemon is moving to a right direction, can't wait for Black and White.
  24. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    "Pokemon Diamond Version" has a massive adventure, with great visuals and new adventures for the Pokemon lovers to love. With its villainous team, Team Galactic, on its core, the adventure is dark and exhilarating for the game players. Like all Pokemon games, the game is fun, exciting, and the Sinnoh Region is one of the most interesting places ever imagined for a DS game.
  25. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    i was actually afraid to play this game when I first came across it. I didn't know anything about the "new" pokemon and just assumed I wouldn't like it. I got into Pokemon when it first came out and had Charmander, Pikachu, etc., so I had no interest to see where they took it. However, I gave it a shot and actually came to loving this game. It's actually one of my favorite pokemon games.i was actually afraid to play this game when I first came across it. I didn't know anything about the "new" pokemon and just assumed I wouldn't like it. I got into Pokemon when it first came out and had Charmander, Pikachu, etc., so I had no interest to see where they took it. However, I gave it a shot and actually came to loving this game. It's actually one of my favorite pokemon games. It has so much to do even after you have beaten everyone and I love so many of the pokemon it features. I really misjudged it. I am so glad i gave it a try. Expand
  26. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Die beste Edition , die je erfunden wurde ! Unschlagbarer Soundtrack , schwere Kämpfe , epische Gegner und episches Gameplay . Jeder liebt es und Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel ;)
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Familiar collecting and battling, but immaculately designdd and with online play. [June 2007, p.62]
  2. With Wi-Fi battles and Global Trade, D/P is essential. [Sept 2007, p.81]
  3. There’s a lot to do in Pokemon Diamond and Pokemon Pearl, which looks as good as a top-down Pokemon game is going to get for some time. It also benefits more than any other sequel in the series from a predecessor due to online capabilities. [JPN Import]