Pokemon Diamond Version DS

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can be accessed on any level. You can simply grind through, giving no thought to your IVs, and leveling up your starter to around 75, with a Level 18 Staravia, and beat the game. However, you can also take the most out of it by creating a perfect team, andThis is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can be accessed on any level. You can simply grind through, giving no thought to your IVs, and leveling up your starter to around 75, with a Level 18 Staravia, and beat the game. However, you can also take the most out of it by creating a perfect team, and you'll need more than a level 75 starter to do well in the Battle Tower. Oh boy. There's so much to do--searching and chaining for Shiny Pokemon (many more Pokemon become available when you beat the game) making poffins, going underground, trading online. It's so extensive, and I've spent over 115 hours on it. I recommend it wholeheartedly. Expand
  2. Will
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    It's an awesome game, but not particular original. It works well with the DS, but I sometimes feel that it could do with a little more refining. For example, if a menu appears on the bottom screen I expect to be able to touch which option I want, but this doesn't always work.
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    For me, this is the last best Pokemon game in the series. Meaning Platinum included. It had the mixture of the old Pokemon and the new Pokemon. I believe that this game added the MOST new Pokemon to date. Along with a lot of the best looking ones. Diamond/Pearl's bread and butter is the intriguing story of the Sinnoh region. Theirs a lot of new contain in the game such as customizing, newFor me, this is the last best Pokemon game in the series. Meaning Platinum included. It had the mixture of the old Pokemon and the new Pokemon. I believe that this game added the MOST new Pokemon to date. Along with a lot of the best looking ones. Diamond/Pearl's bread and butter is the intriguing story of the Sinnoh region. Theirs a lot of new contain in the game such as customizing, new online feature etc. Pokemon fans, get this game and get sucked into the Sinnoh world. Enjoy your time with the last best installment in the Pokemon series. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    i was actually afraid to play this game when I first came across it. I didn't know anything about the "new" pokemon and just assumed I wouldn't like it. I got into Pokemon when it first came out and had Charmander, Pikachu, etc., so I had no interest to see where they took it. However, I gave it a shot and actually came to loving this game. It's actually one of my favorite pokemon games.i was actually afraid to play this game when I first came across it. I didn't know anything about the "new" pokemon and just assumed I wouldn't like it. I got into Pokemon when it first came out and had Charmander, Pikachu, etc., so I had no interest to see where they took it. However, I gave it a shot and actually came to loving this game. It's actually one of my favorite pokemon games. It has so much to do even after you have beaten everyone and I love so many of the pokemon it features. I really misjudged it. I am so glad i gave it a try. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    this was an excellent DS game
  6. linlu
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    It really isn't that great, one of the weakest for the DS and one of the weakest in the series too.
  7. NickL.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    honestly, it is a fun game. it is similar to the previous ones, yet at the same time they have made new adventures and obstacles that must be over come. the one part of the game that i am not really a fan of (and this can go for all of them really) is the repatition of pokemon, if they are going to make a set of new pokemon each game then change them all not just most. i would recomend honestly, it is a fun game. it is similar to the previous ones, yet at the same time they have made new adventures and obstacles that must be over come. the one part of the game that i am not really a fan of (and this can go for all of them really) is the repatition of pokemon, if they are going to make a set of new pokemon each game then change them all not just most. i would recomend this game to people because its new fun and easy. Expand
  8. MarkL.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Small changes make a big difference to the classic Pokemon format. While it may look similar in screens, the new 3D feel and non-grid-based movement make it feel more up to date, you won't feel like your playing the same game you did 10 years ago. The game utilizes the touch screen a lot, but not with much purpose as actions can be carried out with the buttons just as quickly, and Small changes make a big difference to the classic Pokemon format. While it may look similar in screens, the new 3D feel and non-grid-based movement make it feel more up to date, you won't feel like your playing the same game you did 10 years ago. The game utilizes the touch screen a lot, but not with much purpose as actions can be carried out with the buttons just as quickly, and the Poketech is cool but gimmicky. Pocket Gamer UK's review said it well - with the DSes wireless connection abilities this is the community game Pokemon was always trying to be. While it's a fun RPG in it's own right, it's so much more fun to battle and trade with friends. And as with previous Pokemons, it'll take a long time to acquire every Pokemon, so you'll easily get your money's worth. I still would have like to see more radical changes, maybe dropping random battles in FFXII style, or using the touch screen more inventively. But even though Game Freak have been reluctant to risk changing things too much, it's definitely an essential DS purchase, though probably not the console seller that the originals were. Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Pokemon Diamond was probably the best boost of the Pokemon franchise. This game showed realistic images of towns. There were a few melodramatic, real life scenes. There were many new, more detailed Pokemon. Overall, Pokemon Diamond was one of the biggest contributions to Pokemon game improvements.
  10. DaveH
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    People who liked this game have probably never player another Pokemon game before. This game may have the most content but it is very poor in spirit the producers put in it, and the pokemon from this generation are by far the worst ones, seriously, adding a Pokemon that can shapeshift to a Washing Machine? Lame
  11. AshK
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    They just added more levels and Pokemon, but there's very little to note. The new Pokemon look like they were really running out of ideas. They were going for quantity over quality. The way you're allowed to transport Pokemon from your GBA games is pretty cool (although it wouldn't work with the DSi because it has no GBA slot), however, a lot of Pokemon can only be obtained They just added more levels and Pokemon, but there's very little to note. The new Pokemon look like they were really running out of ideas. They were going for quantity over quality. The way you're allowed to transport Pokemon from your GBA games is pretty cool (although it wouldn't work with the DSi because it has no GBA slot), however, a lot of Pokemon can only be obtained this way, so if you don't have those games, then forget it! There are also some Pokemon other than Mew you can't get at all like Lugia and Hoho, which are the ones in the Gold and Silver. I'm sure you would be allowed to get the missing ones in the Gold and Silver remakes, but if those were never made then you'd be stuck with an incomplete Pokedex. What ever happened to "Gotta catch 'em all?!" WHAT were they thinking? One nice thing I've got to say is that the Pokegear items are pretty cool. Puzzles are rare and feel uninspired. Sure there are a lot of Pokemon to collect, but it feels redundant because of how uninspired they are. There is no sense of discovery. The way you're allowed to trade online may seem like a brilliant idea, but everyone wants something insane like Regigigas while all you want is a Munchlax. A so-so game, but probably the worst in the series. Go play the ones for the Gameboy Color. Expand
  12. Peepkirby
    May 1, 2009
    3
    I worked very hard, but then i tried to do the leage part(when you have to beat 4 people)and i could not beat the fire guy's rapidash wish my level 72 piplup,and level 51 dialga!!! hard game.
  13. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    I have changed my opinion of this game it is really good from the great music to the epic battles this is a great Pokemon game to get!!!! platinum is better!!
  14. someonedoe
    Jul 13, 2007
    0
    The last games like red version and blue were good but all pokemon has ever done is just change a few things like new pokemon and new region but still its all ways the same thing beat the gym leaders then beat the eliet four and you beat the game always the same thing kinda sick and tired of the same stuff do not buy anymore pokemon games if youve beat one of the pokemon games.
  15. OliverC.
    Jun 9, 2007
    6
    Easily the worst title the pokemon gameboy franchise. The pokemon are poorly thought out and assembling a well balanced team can be a pain. It's also the easiest and longest. That being said, it's still fun for the most part and shouldn't necessarily be avoided.
  16. NoahW.
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Fun game like all pokemon games but many new pokemon are unoriginal and are stupid but definetly worth getting because you can get pokemon from all other games.
  17. AlexS.
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    This game is different than the others and takes a while to get used to but it is very fun. the new Pokemon are cool and interesting. the game uses the touch screen a lot but is still good. I just got it yesterday so this review is only on the begging my highest level is 19.
  18. Ryan
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Old fashioned pokemon goodness with online play added on. Loads of fun.
  19. CaseyC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    Although admittedly the game is pretty much the same as the Pokemon games, to base a rating on that alone is like saying giving a low score to any of the Halo games (after all, it's just like any other FPS game right?). This game not only updates the battle system and introduce new pokemon, but it also comes with WiFI, enabling battles and trades to everyone around the world. These Although admittedly the game is pretty much the same as the Pokemon games, to base a rating on that alone is like saying giving a low score to any of the Halo games (after all, it's just like any other FPS game right?). This game not only updates the battle system and introduce new pokemon, but it also comes with WiFI, enabling battles and trades to everyone around the world. These two games will keep you occupied for a long time. Expand
  20. KevinR.
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    It's not anything new to those of us who have been playing since the days of Blue and Red, but it still is one of the most enjoyable, surprisingly deep experiences out there.
  21. MiriamA.
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Great game! Brings back a lot of memories. While game play stays the same, new items and the new Pokemon add to its appeal.
  22. SophS.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    This game has had some poor reviews, but i strongly disagree. The game has cleverly added in the Touch screen and create new and fun ideas to the game. Although the plot is the same as the previous games i still found the game hard to put down even when it came to meals! ! ! ! If you enjoyed other pokemon games you will lke this and even if you have never played pokemon i recommend you This game has had some poor reviews, but i strongly disagree. The game has cleverly added in the Touch screen and create new and fun ideas to the game. Although the plot is the same as the previous games i still found the game hard to put down even when it came to meals! ! ! ! If you enjoyed other pokemon games you will lke this and even if you have never played pokemon i recommend you should try this game. Collapse
  23. BenH.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Great game, cool pokemon, great graphics, but ive got one vice with it. You can only put on your seeking list in the GTS pokemon that you have seen Otherwise, an awesome game
  24. AdamF.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I'm rather alarmed that diamond currently has an 8.4 user vote on metacritic when pearl has a 9.3 on the same site. this 10 is to balance the scales. Diamond and pearl are really the same game, and the're both completely awsome.
  25. DeannaH.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    The games are basically the same, but I like this one because it has better graphics and different pokemon. This game is awesome!
  26. MattC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Very similar to the original but why fix what's not broken? The gameplay still remains excellent, with a large world to explore and hundreds of pokemon to catch!
  27. JordanW.
    Feb 15, 2008
    7
    It ok. The lack of new pokemon really made it 7. maby 6. Im a big pokemon fan but this is by far the worst, i played and that was it. Easy, i got through in 23hours with complete dex. boring and trepetative. At least day.night was back, rather play e/r/s at least they had lots of new pokes. Oh like for graphics.
  28. WilliamT.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Not only the best Pokemon game yet but possibly the best use of the touch screen in the DS library. There is nothing in this game that is poorly done. Forget the kiddie assumption, anyone serious about playing good games would find this a worthy purchase.
  29. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    "Pokemon Diamond Version" is the old, simple gameboy game we all love, only back in DS :) Enjoy!!!!
  30. Aug 8, 2012
    4
    I liked this game, as I've liked other Pokemon games, nothing new was really brought to it, but it was fun to play through some new cities and interact with different characters, however I really hated the fact that you had to completely fill your pokedex before you can progress onto the next region, hated that a LOT.
  31. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    This the weakest installment. It's very slow moving. It;s still a very good game however. I mean, it's Pokemon. Of course it's good. The designs are creative, and there are a few things to do after the main story is over. Not as much as Black & White and Black 2 & White 2, but still a lot.
  32. SamJ.
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    Pretty much the best game ever made. Plenty of new features added, the graphics are pretty basic but the literally 100s of hours of gameplay, wi fi battling, improved mechanics and loads more. I have a friend who has gotten 530+ hours on it and he is still hooked on it. The other games didn't have this much content, and after the elite 4 there's still missions to do, such as Pretty much the best game ever made. Plenty of new features added, the graphics are pretty basic but the literally 100s of hours of gameplay, wi fi battling, improved mechanics and loads more. I have a friend who has gotten 530+ hours on it and he is still hooked on it. The other games didn't have this much content, and after the elite 4 there's still missions to do, such as getting the legendary pokemon such as heatran and giratina. 10/10 is under rating it but it'll have to do. Expand
  33. ShaneS.
    Apr 24, 2007
    7
    The majority of the new creatures in the game are unoriginal, uninspired, and just plain stupid. All the good Poke'mon designs have already been done. The Wi Fi seems great, but the game have huge balancing issues. People tweak the game to get uber stats for their poke'mon. And then they use HMs and TMs to teach their Poke'Mon moves that they have no bussiness learning. The majority of the new creatures in the game are unoriginal, uninspired, and just plain stupid. All the good Poke'mon designs have already been done. The Wi Fi seems great, but the game have huge balancing issues. People tweak the game to get uber stats for their poke'mon. And then they use HMs and TMs to teach their Poke'Mon moves that they have no bussiness learning. Fire Poke'mon should not be able to use electric moves, and vice versa. People mess around and make downright broken teams that are mostly full of Legendaries. If you can learn to play the game fairly with friends it's a good game, but Fire Red/Leaf Green are much better because they have all the cool creatures in them. If you want to be able to play over Wi-FI with friends get it. Otherwise don't bother because it's the same old thing. Expand
  34. GeorgeS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    THE best game on ds. It makes mario kart look like rubbish.The fact that you need to migrate old legendary pokemon to this game because the new one has only about 10 legendary pokemon (including the ones that are very difficult to even find). If you have already fully completed an old pokemon game then you might want to think twice about getting this game as starting off is quite THE best game on ds. It makes mario kart look like rubbish.The fact that you need to migrate old legendary pokemon to this game because the new one has only about 10 legendary pokemon (including the ones that are very difficult to even find). If you have already fully completed an old pokemon game then you might want to think twice about getting this game as starting off is quite difficult. Every thing else is superb. E.I. get the v.s seeker because if yo have god pokemon you can battle the same trainer twice. They will get stronger every time though. Expand
  35. MartinL
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    People say I started the Reformation because I opposed the Catholic church's sales of indulgences. Nonsense, I posted my 95 theses because Pokémon was underrepresented in the church. Come on, it's not Satanic!
  36. Aug 25, 2010
    7
    As a huge pokemon fan I've always loved the pokemon the battle system but one that really bug me on this game is that the gym leaders were to easy also with that said the graphics weren't as good as i thought they would be the online play is practically the same as facing the computer But the biggest let down of all is that to evolve certain pokemon such: Haunter, Kadabra Etc you have toAs a huge pokemon fan I've always loved the pokemon the battle system but one that really bug me on this game is that the gym leaders were to easy also with that said the graphics weren't as good as i thought they would be the online play is practically the same as facing the computer But the biggest let down of all is that to evolve certain pokemon such: Haunter, Kadabra Etc you have to trade them online to make them evolve say if you didn't have online Then what would happen you never get kadabra, haunter to evolve Expand
  37. Oct 7, 2010
    7
    This game was really entertaining. I liked the adventure part of the game the most. It was a lot like Pokemon Platinum though so I could only play on or the other. I hated leveling up and grinding my pokemon but that can be said for every pokemon game out there. It went by really fast but it was good while it lasted.
  38. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This is an improvement that the series needed, new Pokemon, new stuff to do, the online multiplayer. Pokemon is moving to a right direction, can't wait for Black and White.
  39. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Largely due to the fact that it was pretty much perfect in the first place the Pokemon series has changed very little in the last fifteen years. Despite this the developers have listened to some of the criticisms levelled at the games and included a number of the improvements fans have long been asking for.

    The game of course still sees the player taking on the role of a child
    Largely due to the fact that it was pretty much perfect in the first place the Pokemon series has changed very little in the last fifteen years. Despite this the developers have listened to some of the criticisms levelled at the games and included a number of the improvements fans have long been asking for.

    The game of course still sees the player taking on the role of a child travelling from town to town collecting Pokemon and using them to battle all manner of opponents. Despite the familiar concept Pokemon Black is a more streamlined experience. Little things like combining the Pokemon Centre and Poke Mart into one building for example cuts down on pointless travelling whilst battles also run at a slightly quicker pace.

    Two new types of battle are also included. Triple battles obviously allow for three Pokemon to fight at once whilst rotation battles allow the player to switch out Pokemon before each attack adding a new level of strategy to the game. Some Pokemon can now also combine moves to create more powerful attacks making the selection of a balanced team even more essential.

    For the first time since the Game Boy original this version features a completely new set of Pokemon. Many of these are not as well designed as the original group but it does make exploration more interesting. No longer will you enter a cave to be greeted by yet another Zubat or Geodude. It is possible to get some of the older Pokemon once you complete the game or by using some of the bonus features but as per usual most have to be transferred from your save games on previous iterations.

    Wrongly looked upon as 'a game for kids' Pokemon remains once the most in depth and strategic RPGs available on any console and with its more streamlined approach the Black or White game are as good a place to start as any.
    Expand
  40. May 25, 2012
    8
    Pokemon has continued to dominate handheld gaming since its debut and this is no exception.
  41. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    A nice transition from the Gameboy to the DS. Even after logging over 350 hours on this game I haven't collected all of the Pokemon. The Global Trade System is pretty neat as well. Overall a well done game, though I can't say the same about the sequels.
  42. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    The game was really engaging and pleasan. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is that it doesn't bring anything fresh to Pokemon franchise. On the other hand, it's another excellent Pokemon adventure with well-designed legendary Pokemon, some nice places and characteristic climate. If you're true PokeFan, you cannot miss it. If it were possible, I would rate it 8.5.
  43. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    "Pokemon Diamond Version" has a massive adventure, with great visuals and new adventures for the Pokemon lovers to love. With its villainous team, Team Galactic, on its core, the adventure is dark and exhilarating for the game players. Like all Pokemon games, the game is fun, exciting, and the Sinnoh Region is one of the most interesting places ever imagined for a DS game.
  44. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    A great addition to the Pokémon series, it was not so great as a successor to the acclaimed third generation of Pokémon gaming. Pokémon Diamond and Pokémon Pearl boast a more back-to-basics plot of a villainous team seeking world domination for pure power and worship. The game recedes beyond its predecessors by allowing the formula to become tired and less engaging than ever before. RoutesA great addition to the Pokémon series, it was not so great as a successor to the acclaimed third generation of Pokémon gaming. Pokémon Diamond and Pokémon Pearl boast a more back-to-basics plot of a villainous team seeking world domination for pure power and worship. The game recedes beyond its predecessors by allowing the formula to become tired and less engaging than ever before. Routes that feel as if they're a never-ending natural hallway, in a region that couldn't be more primitive. The pinnacle of the region is the labyrinth of Mt. Coronet. Main setting for the climatic plot, it perhaps boasts the most fascinating aspect of the fourth generation snow! Besides the point that the new Pokémon creatures were largely unnecessary additions to older characters, the side-gaming through Super Contests have gone from fun to a tedious chore. Altogether with a less stellar soundtrack, the fourth generation was a generally plain addition to the franchise. Expand
  45. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    I'll keep it short and sweet.
    Anyone who loves pokemon games will enjoy playing through this, however there are a few things that annoyed me about this game:
    -It's very slow The plot, dialogue, battling, moving your character etc are all sluggish and unresponsive. If the speed of battling was 4x faster I'd give this game a 9/10 -Graphics and music Some of the music isn't its
    I'll keep it short and sweet.
    Anyone who loves pokemon games will enjoy playing through this, however there are a few things that annoyed me about this game:

    -It's very slow
    The plot, dialogue, battling, moving your character etc are all sluggish and unresponsive.
    If the speed of battling was 4x faster I'd give this game a 9/10

    -Graphics and music
    Some of the music isn't its usual catchy and cheeful self like in the previous games.
    Some of the graphics, buildings, sprites and towns look rushed, oreburgh city comes to mind, there is nothing endearing about that place.
    Expand
  46. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Although it was a great game that utilized the DS's capabilities, it still could have been a better game. I felt disconnected to the pokemon in this game and the region it placed me in. Other then feeling dissociated from the world I was playing in, it was a solid pokemon game that gave me many hours of game play.
  47. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Die beste Edition , die je erfunden wurde ! Unschlagbarer Soundtrack , schwere Kämpfe , epische Gegner und episches Gameplay . Jeder liebt es und Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel ;)
  48. Apr 5, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Diamond and Pearl are my 2nd least favourite games in the series, this doesn't mean I hate the games with a burning passion, there are things I love about this game but, a lot of the negatives do stick out for me.

    Pros:

    The game looks great!

    I like how Sinnoh is the opposite to Hoenn, rather then being tropical all around and having a small wintry area, Sinnoh is more Tundra with a small tropical area.

    Physical/Special split was finally added.

    Lots of helpful attacks were added.

    Rock types were buffed.

    Cons:

    Starters are not really that memorable for me, also all 3 families never changed shape at all, like how Charmander grows larger and grows wings, Cyndaquill becomes more upright, Totodile becomes larger and bulker and Torchic becoming more human. These new starters just get bigger and bigger and that's it, I do like Toterra and Empoleon's typing though.

    Music was the weakest in the series for me, yes there are some good tracks, however compared to the other main series games, it's very lacking.

    I CANNOT STAND THE RIVALS! Barry is annoying for all the wrong reasons, we hated Blue because he was a jerk all the time, we hated Sliver because he was misguided and treated us like cr*p, May/Brendan were the first friendly rivals we had and I loved talking to them. Barry just crashes into you all the time (And I do mean crash) and just battles you out of no where, plus Dawn is very annoying.

    Battles are way too slow, a battle could last around 1 minute with the older and newer games, in Diamond/Pearl/Platinum, the battles take around 3 minutes, and half of it is just waiting for the text to finish and battle animations.

    I don't enjoy Team Galactic and Cyrus, the goons look stupid with their haircuts and Cyrus's plan sounds too silly for my taste, his plan is to destroy the universe and recreate in his own image, ok I'm fine with a giant ginger finding some laser a homeless man built 1000 years ago, but destroying the universe? That's too far for me.

    Stealth rocks are overpowered, I don't mind entry hazards, they are a good idea, but taking half of my pokemon's health just because I switched is bullsh*t, Stealth rocks should just do some chip damage, NOT HALF OF MY POKEMON'S HEALTH, plus if you don't have a Rapid Spinner, your screwed.

    The whole region is forgettable, besides MT Coronet and Oreburgh city, there's no other place that I can remember without looking it up.

    Overall it's a good DS game and I reccomend it if your new to the Pokemon Series, however compared to it's squeals and the games before it, skip it.
    Expand
  49. Dec 3, 2015
    7
    This isn't a bad game it's just my least favorite pokemon game. I just think all the new pokemon are lame except the legendaries and the starters, otherwise it's a bunch of old pokemon, and their's a new fog mechanic that gets really annoying, you need to delete a move to learn useless fog so you can see, man i hate HM's and all the locations feel the same to me or just really small, iThis isn't a bad game it's just my least favorite pokemon game. I just think all the new pokemon are lame except the legendaries and the starters, otherwise it's a bunch of old pokemon, and their's a new fog mechanic that gets really annoying, you need to delete a move to learn useless fog so you can see, man i hate HM's and all the locations feel the same to me or just really small, i prefer pokemon Sapphire anytime. Expand
  50. Feb 3, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This just might be my favorite game of all time. Granted, nostalgia is a large factor, so I'll be ignoring that. This game has three great starters, making you really think about which you want, as well as plenty of great Pokemon to catch along the way. Now, it's hard to screw up a JRPG, so the gameplay is what you expect. More noteworthy is the story and the characters. Starting with your rival, he's a confident and VERY energetic character determined to be the greatest trainer. This is something that was sorely missed in the previous and upcoming two generations. Your rival is actually competing with you this time, and he actually has some character development. He will come to terms with not being as strong as you, but keep pushing to become better. There is another companion character in Dawn/Lucas (depending on your gender,) but she/he is a waste in my opinion, you never get to battle them though you get to battle alongside them a couple of times. The evil organization is Team Galactic this time. People don't give this team enough credit, they had the BIGGEST plans for any team, and got pretty close to their goal. The leader of this team and the main villain, Cyrus, is the perfect villain for someone of his position. He wants to create a new, perfect universe, by altering time using Dialga. In the end, he deceived everyone in Team Galactic. He had no intention to share his world with them, which makes him a very hate-able villain. To top it off with the characters, this region has the indisputable BEST champion: Cynthia. The only female champion shocked me when I saw her in the champion's room, but overall I guess it made sense. With a team of powerhouses, Cynthia is one of the toughest trainers in the series. But I'm not done, This is the most important generation in the competitive scene. The physical-special split was a much needed split and some of the best competitive Pokemon, such as Garchomp, were added.

    This game is amazing. But not as good as Platinum. :P
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#7 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Games Master UK
    89
    Familiar collecting and battling, but immaculately designdd and with online play. [June 2007, p.62]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    81
    With Wi-Fi battles and Global Trade, D/P is essential. [Sept 2007, p.81]
  3. There’s a lot to do in Pokemon Diamond and Pokemon Pearl, which looks as good as a top-down Pokemon game is going to get for some time. It also benefits more than any other sequel in the series from a predecessor due to online capabilities. [JPN Import]