Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team DS

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 100
  2. Negative: 11 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    A great game! A wide variety of Pokemon that you can have on your team, a fun story, fun side-stories, lots of places to explore! It's challenging enough to keep you busy and entertained, but not so challenging that you get angry and frustrated and give up. I honestly cannot think of any ways this game could have been made better. Heavily recommended!
  2. Christian
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    This game is the game that all Pokemon lovers where waiting for.
  3. May 20, 2011
    9
    This game is great, and not just for die-hard pokemon fans. Of course, being a pokemon instead of a trainer is a really nice touch, and ensures that there are many different things than the main series. There are so many new items, the moves sometimes work a bit differently, but the thing i love most is the idea of "recruiting" pokemon onto your team, rather than catching them. It adds aThis game is great, and not just for die-hard pokemon fans. Of course, being a pokemon instead of a trainer is a really nice touch, and ensures that there are many different things than the main series. There are so many new items, the moves sometimes work a bit differently, but the thing i love most is the idea of "recruiting" pokemon onto your team, rather than catching them. It adds a strategic layer to the game. The story is fantastic, and is very long. There is so much to do, and there is a ton of stuff after you beat the game. The graphics are great, the gameplay is solid, and this is overall a great game. There is some replayability, especially if you want to try out playing as different characters. If you get tired of this, DON'T sell it. Just tuck it away on your shelf. Because believe me. You'll want to play it again soon. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2015
    9
    Ign sucks,ign sucks,ign suck,ign sucks,ign sucks,ign sucks (game revolution is even worse )dkjdjdicnfiskjdjekdmjckcmdjdjfjfmfmckkc kmridkakzka screw you ign
  5. May 28, 2016
    10
    The game isn't perfect by any means, it can get a little repetitive at times and the story takes a little while to get interesting. However, it's perfect in my eyes and this game had a massive impact on my life. The story is amazing and the gameplay gives a fresh twist on Pokemon. In my opinion, this is the best game ever made, second only to the sequel, Explorers of Time/ Darkness/ Sky.
  6. WeronikaC.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This game is perfect for anyone who loves adventures, and especially mysteries. This game is based on partnership, where you and your partner try to save the world, and perhaps even others.
  7. MaryanneD.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Its an awesome game, go Pokemon!
  8. May 20, 2013
    9
    This game is what was so badly needed...A pokemon game that isn't afraid to be difficult. Constantly difficult. It might not be exactly NetHack, but compared to an main-series pokemon game it hates you. I never found it get especially repetetive, as the constant tension kept things going. And as for The Very Definetaly Final Dungeon...You'll have nightmares about the sentence 'It's aThis game is what was so badly needed...A pokemon game that isn't afraid to be difficult. Constantly difficult. It might not be exactly NetHack, but compared to an main-series pokemon game it hates you. I never found it get especially repetetive, as the constant tension kept things going. And as for The Very Definetaly Final Dungeon...You'll have nightmares about the sentence 'It's a monster house.' for weeks! Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    An underrated RPG. Great story, great music and a good morality tale for the player. The characters are pretty well developed, though there are some that i consider forgettable (The major teams besides Team ACT). I recommend this game to anyone who likes a good RPG.
  10. Aug 16, 2016
    9
    While I have not gotten very far in the game I figure I can review with what I got. Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a Turn based Dungeon crawler. One thing that this game is known for, as well as the whole series is the story. The story is that you were turned into a pokemon and taken to a alternate pokemon universe where pokemon can talk and pokemon are the only things in that world. Your meetWhile I have not gotten very far in the game I figure I can review with what I got. Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a Turn based Dungeon crawler. One thing that this game is known for, as well as the whole series is the story. The story is that you were turned into a pokemon and taken to a alternate pokemon universe where pokemon can talk and pokemon are the only things in that world. Your meet your partner and you pretty much wonder why you were brought to this world. The story is very lighthearted and interesting. The world actual feels like a fantasy world with interesting things in it, and worth exploring. The story is great, but then there the gameplay. The gameplay can be pretty fun, but it suffers from a lot of problems. Like I said the game is a turn based dungeon crawler. You move through a the dungeons trying to find the stairs to the next floor, and fight a boss at the end if there is one. While that happening you got to manage your hungry, find the stairs, and try to survive enemy encounters. The enemies can be very tough. Another thing this series is known for is how hard these game can be sometimes brutal. The biggest problem is how randomize the game can be. The deal is that dungeons are randomly generated and they are never the same if you re enter the dungeon. Sometimes the stairs will be right next to where you spawn, but other times it can be a far away from where you spawn. Depending on your situation it can make getting through some of these dungeon a bit luck based. Overall still enjoyable gameplay. The graphics are fairly good from a ds. The music is not very good with some of it sounding out dated. Overall I recommend this game at any price. Expand
  11. Dec 22, 2016
    10
    Out of all the games that I owned, this is the one I played the most, in the thousands of hours. I fell in love with the mechanics, and the multiple challenges brings me joy. The story is extremely rich and deep, the music is fantastic. The addition of a second screen was really great too, as it added a few nice options, even if it wasn't up to the DS standards. By far my favorite game ofOut of all the games that I owned, this is the one I played the most, in the thousands of hours. I fell in love with the mechanics, and the multiple challenges brings me joy. The story is extremely rich and deep, the music is fantastic. The addition of a second screen was really great too, as it added a few nice options, even if it wasn't up to the DS standards. By far my favorite game of all times, I'd recommend it to anyone. Expand
  12. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    This game is an experience and a damn amazing one. The dungeons do get monotonous while replaying the game, but seriously Gamespot? You can do better than that. The story is this game's highlight. While you can agree with McDumbass and make two accounts to hate on this game and it's story, it's easily the most compelling storyline Pokémon has offered, still unmatched by its sequel.This game is an experience and a damn amazing one. The dungeons do get monotonous while replaying the game, but seriously Gamespot? You can do better than that. The story is this game's highlight. While you can agree with McDumbass and make two accounts to hate on this game and it's story, it's easily the most compelling storyline Pokémon has offered, still unmatched by its sequel. If you'd rather have improved gameplay and a predictable story then I recommend its sequel, Explorers of Sky. If you agree that story makes an RPG of this caliber, then this game is for you. Expand
  13. KevinM.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Very good Game.
  14. JustinB.
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    This game is awesome, UNTIL after you defeat Zapdos, then you end up grueling over dying again and again in the next dungeon.
  15. DrewF.
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    You have to give this game at least a couple of hours before you can really decide if you like it or no. When i first started out, i was flabbergasted. Why did i pay 30 bucks for this? My first thought was to turn around and head back to the store to exchange it. However, a day went by, and i decided to give it another chance. It's funny just how fun the game starts to be when you You have to give this game at least a couple of hours before you can really decide if you like it or no. When i first started out, i was flabbergasted. Why did i pay 30 bucks for this? My first thought was to turn around and head back to the store to exchange it. However, a day went by, and i decided to give it another chance. It's funny just how fun the game starts to be when you really get into the meat of it. Yes, it's gruelling at times, and it can be sadistic (You're on floor 25 of 26, and you die), but there's a very clever password system which allows other players ANYWHERE in the world to come and 'save' you, thus giving you another lease on life to continue. Very ingenious way to revive the password system. Surprisingly fun game that can really eat up the hours. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Overall, it’s a satisfying Pokémon romp. The perspective is a little different but the addictive turn-based battles and exploration are in full effect and still lots of fun.
  2. Only the most diehard Pokemon fans should ever consider picking this game up. The gameplay isn’t especially interesting, the game makes poor use of the Nintendo DS hardware, and the presentation is seriously outdated.
  3. Compelling for a while, eventually Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team casts a powerful sleep spell over the toughest of pokéfans.