Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Professor Layton and his apprentice, Luke, receive a confounding letter - from Luke 10 years in the future. But the message inside is even more troubling: London of the future is in disarray, and the only person
    who can help set things right is Professor Layton.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    100
    While these lackluster mini-games are no hidden-object puzzle or "make your own tea" chemistry set (as seen in Laytons 1 and 2), Unwound Future still has a solid set of puzzles for its main adventure, and the story itself is very engaging.
  2. As well-made and puzzle-crammed as the previous Layton games, and it's also the best one yet.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Professor Layton and The Lost Future manages to surprise again by its very strong cohesion.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    89
    Professor Layton and the Unwound Future offers the same great experience from the last two games. If you're in need of something different and want to exercise the brain, this is the correct answer.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    85
    Professor Layton and the Unwound Future is yet another winner from Level 5. It both entertains and challenges the mind through its clever puzzles, brilliant story, and convincing characters.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    83
    The disconnect between the mystery story and the puzzle gameplay is not a damning curse for the Professor Layton series, this game included.
  7. Jan 20, 2011
    60
    As a standalone adventure, The Lost Future can't help but disappoint once its bite-sized, unimaginative nature begins to show through. [Issue#102, p.120]

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing Story, brilliant puzzles. This is indeed the greatest Layton game thus far, the music is amazing, the visuals are amazing (If you like the style), and the ending had me in tears. No questions asked, 10/10. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    My favourite in the Layton series so far, and a relief after the disappointing Diabolical Box. The puzzles are of course good, as is the game design and visual style (as we've come to expect), but what makes this my favourite is the story. It may require a huge suspension of disbelief compared to the first game, but the ending is so striking and emotional. It more than makes up for minor story flaws. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game lives up to and exceeds the expectations of the previous games, it combines the joy of the ah ha! Moment and a great story. The voice acting in it is incredible, I felt the sorrow of Herschel, and knew the anger of Clive and understood the acceptance of Claire. I was left saddened and happy for everyone once the story was over. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    I have all three Layton games and this one is my favourite. The story is brilliantly told, you feel like you're solving a mystery, the cutscenes are as brilliant as ever, the characters are great and the game rewards you brilliantly as you solve puzzles and brain teasers which suprisingly, are really fun. Why a 9? Well, the problems the past two have have not been fixed. You still have to go through a million menus and searching around for hint coins with dialogue boxes popping up everywhere is really frustrating. Also, the game is set in Great Britain, but this game feels... French. Other than that, listen to my advice. If you want a puzzle game with an intriguing storyline, this won't let you down. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have played all of the Layton games available in the US. I enjoy the presentation of the games, presenting a story Puzzles and wonderful creative writing. Unwound future has the most puzzles, and can overwhelm you with them at times, but the ending is the best in the series, especially if you have played the other games and enjoyed them. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys puzzles, as this game presents many of them with alot of variety Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first game that made me cry at the end. The story is definitely the best from all Layton games, the first one being too childish and the second being... well, Twilight-esque, if you know what I mean. The puzzles are great as always, and the characters loveable. Unfortunately, the series as a whole didn't progress much at all since the first instalment. Good game, but if you played the previous ones do not expect to be surprised. Looking forward to Phoenix Wright vs Prof. Layton, as it should actually shake things up. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    Most of the 5 points I've awarded this title are for the story, which is lovely, as in previous Layton games. Unfortunately the gameplay lets it down - many of the puzzles are rehashes of those from the previous games, and some really clutch at straws - some really convoluted questions and solutions.

    The graphics have improved from the previous title, and there are a lot more animated sections that add exposition to the tale. Layton himself shows a different side throughout the story, fleshing out the character beyond his desperate need to be a gentleman.

    Side missions this time around include the completion of 3 sticker books, where you need to place the correct stickers on the correct pages to tell the story; a radio controlled car game where you have a limited number of direction-changing arrows to guide the car to the end; and a parrot delivery game in which you draw perches to guide you parrot to it's goal. You get to name the parrot when you meet him - the potential for hilarity is great ;)

    These side missions add a lot of time and value to the game, and provide some of the most difficult puzzles on the cart.

    Fans of the series will surely enjoy this, but the challenge is slight compared to the previous two titles.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews