• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the midst of an unending war for dominance between two super-powers, Special Intelligence Agent Stocke is assigned to a routine escort mission that goes horribly awry.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    100
    An almost flawless game, Radiant Historia is everything I hope for in a modern-day portable RPG. Atlus and Index Corporation have potentially created a rival for Chrono Trigger in terms of story telling and quality.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    And since I've already given this review some special treatment, rather than end with a flowery or poetic conclusion, I'll simply reiterate that Radiant Historia is one of the best Japanese RPGs I've played in years. Atlus has given us a winner.
  3. May 18, 2011
    90
    Radiant Historia is a Japanese-style role-playing game developed by Atlus. The excellent graphics, the gripping soundtrack and exciting history make it one of the last must-have titles for the Nintendo DS.
  4. Feb 2, 2011
    85
    It's not often that we see a DS RPG with this level of creativity and polish in the story and gameplay departments, and the fantastic music and art only accentuate that. Even if you think you've done the time-travel RPG before, you should still definitely play Radiant Historia.
  5. Feb 26, 2011
    85
    Overall, however, Radiant Historia is an excellent game. [March 2011, p.88]
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    82
    Fun story and great combat. [Apr 2011, p.73]
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    75
    While JRPGs continue to flounder on the home consoles, games like this one prove that the genre is alive and well on handhelds.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's pretty spot-on. Radiant Historia is a fantastic game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    It's sad that this game is a NDS release. You clearly need a better sound system for this awesome music. The graphics on the other side areIt's sad that this game is a NDS release. You clearly need a better sound system for this awesome music. The graphics on the other side are fine as they are, even with the DS limitations the style looks pretty good and unique.

    The game itself is one the best RPG's of all times. It gets better the longer you in it. Everyone who decides to invest some time in this game will get something precious in return.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    When i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED!When i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safe in the other timeline, he would have to cross timelines. He does however say "haven't i seen you before?" That kind of makes up for it, but in reality, it doesn't matter. Hope you love it!!!! Collapse
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    I regret not paying attention to this game when it was released earlier this year, Radiant Historia is a gem among gaming. It is also a sureI regret not paying attention to this game when it was released earlier this year, Radiant Historia is a gem among gaming. It is also a sure sign that the DS has more "great" releases this year than the 3ds. The story is amazing and nothing like I've ever played before. It reminds me of Chrono Trigger, but is more tactical in my opinion. The style and characters are jaw dropping, even though the graphics are only decent. The graphics work though for the system's abilities. The story is like a choose your own story, but ultimately you do have to end it the same way. The music is top notch, actually I recommend playing it with head phones. I was a little disappointed by the lack of voice acting, but the cut scenes were amazing nonetheless. The game is fairly lengthy, clocking in around 35 hours, and there are plenty of side quests. This is by far one of the best JRPG's I've played in years, and it is a must play for any DS, DS lite, or even 3ds owners. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Radiant Historia is one of those rare breeds of jRPGs that manages to have both addictive gameplay AND compelling story. It's a greatRadiant Historia is one of those rare breeds of jRPGs that manages to have both addictive gameplay AND compelling story. It's a great compromise between games like Final Fantasy, which has a good story, but poor gameplay, and Pokemon, which has a great gameplay, but no story to speak of. The battle system is very refreshing and easy to pick up. The battles are conducted on 6x6 grid, and involve tactics such as area spells, traps, pushing assaults, air assaults and more. In other words, get ready to have your strategic taste buds tickled. As for the story... while one might say it is a pretty standard fantasy fare (be the hero - save the world, hurrdurr), I rank it higher purely by the virtue that it nimbly avoids kitschy pathos that is present in most heroic fantasy books and games. That's not to say that the game's plot is irrational or immature - things like politics, environmental disasters and messianism are hardly child's matter after all. My only complaint, and the point were the developers really dropped the ball, are the graphics. It is really disappointing to see a 2011 DS game look on par with some early GBA titles. Other than that, the game is a treat, a really beautiful treat to us, jRPG maniacs of the world, and I really couldn't recommend it enough. Sleeper hit right there! Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Interesting and intriguing story
    + Avoidable, visible enemies (no random encounters)
    + Very good soundtrack + atmospheric visuals -
    Interesting and intriguing story
    + Avoidable, visible enemies (no random encounters)
    + Very good soundtrack
    + atmospheric visuals

    - Combat is a bit simple and tedious
    - Characters are somewhat bland

    Conclusion: A very lovely and underrated JRPG for the NDS. It's definitely a more classical approach at the genre, but it turned out very well. If you're looking for a story-driven RPG, pick this up.
    Expand
  7. May 27, 2011
    7
    While far deeper and better done than what I've come to expect of Atlus, this game reminds me more of Xenogears or Chrono Cross than CTriggerWhile far deeper and better done than what I've come to expect of Atlus, this game reminds me more of Xenogears or Chrono Cross than CTrigger or FFTactics.. It lacks a true polished feel from moving around, and the combat system, while gimmicky (admittedly par for the course nowadays) is at least playable and as the game progresses, increasingly enjoyable. The story is extremely slow to get started, and I found my palm on my face more than a few times wondering why I should bother to try to save this game world once it did. The characters, while strange-looking, generally lack the two dimensional quality I've been forced to endure all too often as of late in the genre, even though it takes a very long time for some of them to be fleshed out. Learning when to back off, move forward or backward in time or change story lines can be frustrating, and while sometimes you have a few leads, there were several times where I simply got lost. The ability to skip through long-winded exposition is definitely a saving grace, given the inherently repetitive nature of some parts. It's not the best ever made, but it's definitely above mediocre, and should be on the purchase list of fans of the genre. Just be patient when you're getting started. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews