Resident Evil: Deadly Silence DS

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
Buy On
  1. The Rebirth mode is a welcome addition, and it offers a harder quest, more enemies and new puzzles, but touch screen support is minimal, and the knifing battles feel more like hastily created mini-games rather than well-integrated portions of the quest.
  2. In the wake of Resident Evil 4's Game of the Year honors, it's nice to see where the series got its roots, but it also reminds us just how far the series has come.
  3. 70
    It's hard to ignore all the little quirks in gameplay and presentation that were a bit easier to disregard in the earlier days of 3D adventuring, so if we look at it as a new title instead of a revival, well, it's not a whole lot better than a good but flawed game design.
  4. New players will find a passe and not-scary survival horror relic, but old hands will enjoy the nostalgia of a fine old classic with a couple of new features. Take your pick.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    Not essential, but worthwhile for anyone who hasn't played the original Evil in ages. [Apr 2006, p.104]
  6. Computer Games Magazine
    Normally, mining the license library to populate new hardware is a move that smacks of laziness and creative bankruptcy. In this case, Capcom seems to be on to something. [May 2006, p.91]
  7. Back in 1996, Resident Evil was a groundbreaking game. Now, it pales to most other survival horrors, especially "RE4."
  8. 70
    If Capcom's aim was to deliver the original Playstation experience with knobs on to the DS, then that aim has been met and exceeded. It looks the same, it sounds the same; not that is a bad thing - far from it, the DS probably isn't capable of improving things by that much.
  9. games(TM)
    The game’s innate charm and mixture of overbearing tension and fear still works as well today as it did back in 1996. [May 2006, p.117]
  10. AceGamez
    There are many good elements to Resident Evil: Deadly Silence, but it ultimately fails to excel on the two levels it attempts: it fails as nostalgia because the weaknesses of the original get in the way of the fun, and it fails as a new game because neither the environment nor story translate to a unique or very scary experience anymore.
  11. If you haven't experienced the original Resident Evil, now is your chance to embrace a classic. Gamers who have played it before, however, won't find quite enough extra here to justify paying for the privilege of doing it all over again.
  12. But the multiplayer modes suffer from severely limited interaction and only three maps for play. The most promising new feature becomes routine very quickly, so before you know it the latest experiment in Raccoon city is over.
  13. If you've never played any of the games in the series then you may want to try this one out, if not there are plenty of better DS titles out there.
  14. 60
    It's almost gut-wrenching to realize that with it has come all the problems that plagued it in the past. Add to this the newly implement touch-screen mini-games that feel like more of a distraction than an addition, and you're left with an experience that only the hardest of the hardcore fan could stomach.
  15. But the game certainly hasn't aged well, and what worked ten years ago (ink ribbons, that zany control scheme) isn't so attractive these days.
  16. 60
    While there is nothing new for veterans or anything to change the minds of the pessimists among you, Resident Evil: Deadly Silence is a good game that commemorates a classic series. Too bad that it’s pretty much redundant as a portable game.
  17. Edge Magazine
    There may be better ways to relive Resident Evil than Deadly Silence, but no version could demote it from its status as a creaky but compelling classic. [Apr 2006, p.94]
  18. For those who have played the game to death on an older console, the 'Rebirth' mode and assorted other extras may offer enough incentive to drop the cash on it again, and for the ten people who are yet to play Resident Evil, it's certainly worth experiencing for the first time, despite its rather aged control scheme.
  19. Great games never really die, they just get reanimated.
  20. 50
    There's really no reason to go back and replay it. I have to admit a certain amount of nostalgia in the early going, especially as I remembered cool parts of the game, but that's not a compelling reason to fork over the bucks for this remake.
  21. Is this trip down memory lane worth $35? The Rebirth Mode is the most justifiable reason, and even then, the case isn't that strong.
  22. The new additions to in the DS version are pleasant enough, but it’s not enough to make the game feel new or exciting.

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    For what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfersFor what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfers over to the DS extremely well. Even if it's corny by today's standards, I think they were sort of trying to model it off of a B-movie seeing it sort of starts with a cheesy live action forest sequence and the lead-in to the main menu is yet another cheesy live-action sequence of a guy getting attacked by some unseen force. The game's mystery still works today and the fact that you actually have to think about everything you do instead of running into the action and just blasting the monsters away and running through the game in a matter of minutes is great. You actually have to think about what you pick up and what you can actually carry (you have very limited amount of inventory space). Sometimes you have to sacrifice ammo, which is essential to surviving, just to carry more items - like key items used to progress in the game. This can be very annoying, but at the same time it sort of keeps the game interesting. Sure this game has flaws, but most are for those who aren't patient. The only flaw that still annoys me to this day and always will, is the fact that you have to use an ink ribbon for each save. Ink ribbons aren't necessarily difficult to find, but they take up space in your inventory (but on the bright side, they're stackable). Full Review »
  2. Aug 12, 2012
    I hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible.I hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible. We have all heard it before, this game is a port with added features of the PS1 game Resident Evil for the Nintendo DS. What would you expect from a port? It has the same controls as the original and the game was made to celebrate the series 1st decade. This port of the game has some nice features that make playing the game so much easier. Like the knife button, now thats a handy tool so you always have one on you and it doesnt take up a space. Than there is the 180 degree turn that wasnt in the original and the live reload from RE4. These all make the game better and it doesnt take away from the nostalgia that the game delivers. Included is a new mode called Rebirth mode with new puzzles, more enemies, more ammo, and new knife battle sequences. A pretty good addition if i do say so. If your a fan of survival horror, and you understand what the game is about and how you are supposed to play it (control scheme and all) or if you played the original Resident Evil and liked it than take it with you on the DS. For those of you who dont well oh well, just dont play it. Full Review »
  3. ChrisD
    Sep 22, 2009
    I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true to the original in some of the worst ways. The controls are just as awkward (even more so if you have to cut zombies with your stylus every now and again) the graphics and sound are dated and lacking even for the DS, etc. You won't use some of the added features like the multiplayer mode so don't get excited. If you're new to RE give it a shot, it's a wonderful series, but if you've been playing RE for a decade now I'd recommend reliving your nostalgia on a different system. Full Review »