• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2005
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
  1. Those with good stylus support (particularly "Centipede" and "Missle Command") are an absolute blast. [May 2005, p.128]
  2. Chances are, however, that you'll be bored senseless within an hour. [May 2005, p.72]
  3. The graffiti probably could have had a bit more work done to it but they probably wanted to retain the same character and feel of the original games.
  4. This collection shows, that old and simple games have retained their playability. Games that pushed the limits of the hardware at their time, like "Gravitar," are ironically now the least playable. [May 2005, p.89]
  5. Touch control is spotty for certain games, but the Control Pad is a reliable backup. [May 2005, p.91]
  6. While this game is not destined for a New Mexico landfill, it is also not destined to be a centerpiece in your DS collection. At least we’ve learned that when Atari falls, they always seem to come back. Hopefully next time they will hit the mark.
  7. 50
    Ten "okay, kind of accurate" conversions of arcade games add up to a barely average package on the Nintendo DS.
  8. 50
    Atari, for some reason, decided to employ the touch screen for ALL the games on its compilation. For some games, it works; for others -- it's a clunky, useless interface that will have you cursing your DS hardware in no time.
  9. The few games even available aren’t faithfully recreated, are mostly on the dull side, and feature remix styles that will mostly make you want to puke.
  10. The sort of game that's unpleasing to every possible audience. The hardcore retro fan base will scoff at the way these games have been shoddily reprogrammed. Fans of the graffiti artists will wonder why all the artwork is so poorly used.
  11. 45
    If you're dying to relive the classics, buy the actual Atari system and all the games - it can hardly set you back more than $20. At least you'll play the original, and won't have to face the travesty of the remixed modes.
  12. Your veritable cast iron "mixed bag" of timeless gems and pointless curios in which some work well on the DS, some don't and as long as you can deny all knowledge of seeing the Remix mode retro gamers won't be totally offended.
  13. What game would include a version of Pong as part of its compilation? That has to tell you something. I can live with Breakout - but Pong? That's digging to the bottom of the barrel.
  14. An average package by anyone’s standards, especially given that most people’s mobile phones can play a mean version of most of the games on the cartridge for a similar cost per title.
  15. 40
    I'm a huge retro fan, and it disappoints me to see something with a good idea from the past ruined by so many little things.
  16. 35
    Given a choice between these broken versions of classics or simply not having these games on DS at all, I think in the end I'd rather have not had them. At least then there'd have been hope that someone could have done them justice, someday.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. A.W.
    Dec 21, 2006
    3
    Right, I'm trying to think of a polite way to describe this, but I'm having a hard time. I love retro games, and I adore MAME, but Right, I'm trying to think of a polite way to describe this, but I'm having a hard time. I love retro games, and I adore MAME, but this compilation... No. I hate it. The remixes are dire, every time you lose a ball in arkanoid you're told "You Suck!" - actually no, if anyone sucks that'll be the developers, testers and graphicians ;) However, I could live with the nastiness of the remixes, if it weren't for the damage they've done on the originals as well... Breakout is a prime example - the play area is split across both screens, sounds good in theory, right? Wrong! Why? Well, the playfield alignment assumes there's no gap between the two screens... I've got news guys - there is a gap! This means that the ball suddenly seems to jump when it's halfway up or down the screen. Did anyone even playtest this on a real DS?!? Full Review »
  2. DukjinI.
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    0 Absolute 0, well deserved. I can't believe critics rated this anywhere close to 50. If you look at the review list, you'll notice 0 Absolute 0, well deserved. I can't believe critics rated this anywhere close to 50. If you look at the review list, you'll notice all the REPUTABLE reviewers put it in the red, low scores. Given that there are ports of these games out there, I figured, "how bad can it be?". None of these games appear to be emulations of the originals in any way. They are each shoddily written games that sort of look like the original visually... until you play them. Then you find that the controls are bad, the movement doesn't match up... it's all incredibly annoying, because these are LICENSED! Why can't they just put the original code in? (and the remixes are even worse) I bought this for $10, and I want my money back. I only bought it because I figured if even ONE of the games was good, I'd enjoy it... DEFENDER, TEMPEST... CENTIPEDE... but they ALL look like the original, and play HORRIBLE (This is SHOVELWARE. Do not buy at any price. I would not take it for free. Categorically inferior to any PC emulator version. Horrible controls for several of the games (tempest is unplayable) ) Publisher should be ashamed. Full Review »
  3. AB
    Apr 5, 2005
    3
    The idea of having portable classic Atari games is great. The idea of having only ten ridiculously translated, nearly unplayable portable The idea of having portable classic Atari games is great. The idea of having only ten ridiculously translated, nearly unplayable portable Atari games with corny graphics is not. Full Review »