Scribblenauts DS

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
Buy On
  1. 100
    Scribblenauts is the video game equivalent of your first kiss: it's awkward, it's sweet and it's utterly memorable.
  2. Scribblenauts is an example of what can be achieved when you put aside HD, Hollywood effects and cinematic cut scenes to concentrate on innovative gameplay instead. An instant classic, and new contender for Game of the Year.
  3. Scribblenauts is a game that will be remembered for a long time. It’s a genesis event. In the history of games, there are few moments where a new genre appears; few dates where something truly novel is given to gamers. Scribblenauts is a birth. It’s Wolfenstein 3D. It’s Mario 64. Scribblenauts is Street Fighter.
  4. One of the most original games of the year.
  5. There's a lot to be mined out of the core gameplay mechanic here, and I think everyone will find that Scribblenauts does wonders for your imagination.
  6. Scribblenauts is hugely ambitious, and the odd bit of buckling under its inventory has to be forgiven.
  7. 90
    Even with the flaws in Scribblenauts' controls and the level editor -- which only allows you to make levels for use on your own card, and not share them with others -- it holds a special place in my heart for being the most fun I've ever had improving my vocabulary. It is, dare I say, the best piece of edutainment since Math Blaster.
  8. Scribblenauts is an incredible game. The concept is original, brilliant and really funny. It succeeds to mix platform and puzzle in one great gameplay and this make the player free to experiment with his fantasy in all the 200 stages. Scribblenauts is suitable for everyone and everyone will probably have fun in this crazy, funny and fascinating world.
  9. 90
    Scribblenauts is one of the best games on the DS and the most imaginative games to be released since LittleBigPlanet.
  10. Nintendo Power
    90
    Amazing...This might be the most creative game I've ever played. [Nov 2009, p.81]
  11. Nintendo Gamer
    90
    Fight past the awkwardness for an indispensable original. [Dec 2009, p.58]
  12. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Test your mind in this unconventional puzzle solving game. The only limit is your creativity and imagination – maybe you’ll surprise yourself with solutions your brain can think up. [Nov 2009]
  13. As far as puzzle games go, Scribblenauts is one of the best and will have you entranced by its cute and creative nature.
  14. Like LitteBigPlanet before it, Scribblenauts invites players to express their creativity in ways I never imagined. It’s one of my top games this year, and a DS game that has near limitless appeal.
  15. Scribblenauts might have a few problems, but the positives outclass the bad.
  16. 87
    Even though I harp on the clunky controls, I'm still a huge Scribblenauts fan and fully believe that, even with Maxwell's awkwardness, this game is one of the top titles on the Nintendo DS platform.
  17. Scribblenauts is a terrific toy and a decent puzzle game. Its ambitions are bigger than the tiny screens that house it. The clumsy controls and ill-simulated nouns don't break the game as much as they fuel frustration, but as a toy and a portable game, Scribblenauts succeeds even if it doesn't exceed its big aspirations.
  18. Scribblenauts can easily fill in the blanks as one of the most unique gaming experiences that anyone can have this year.
  19. The only thing holding back Scribblenauts is the DS. The reliance on the touchscreen hampers what would otherwise be the best new games franchise this year.
  20. Scribblenauts is a masterpiece. A flawed, frustrating, brilliant, masterpiece.
  21. 85
    Among all the worlds shooters, action adventures and fantasy RPGs, that a game like Scribblenauts should come and capture the imaginations of gamers and game journalists all over the world is truly delightful.
  22. 85
    Ultimately, what starts as a giggle-inducing breath of fresh air eventually gives way to such a near-insurmountable level of head-scratching challenge that many budding scribblers will slam shut the DS well before unlocking all ten of the game's themed worlds.
  23. 85
    While there are certainly limitations and frustrations, this is freedom in puzzle solving like we’ve never seen before. While we wouldn’t necessarily say the game is fun, it’s certainly engrossing, certainly important and certainly worth playing.
  24. Hail to the developers who made Scribblenauts to an innovative, challenging game! I recommend this game to all players above the age of 12 years!
  25. 83
    You get a wholesome puzzle game in Scribblenauts, with challenges that may well last you longer than you think, but it's not perfect.
  26. Scribblenauts is a charming game to be sure, and the sheer level of work that went into the game is indeed impressive. Unfortunately, there are some gameplay quirks and frustrating issues that prevent it from being the classic that it should have been.
  27. A brilliant premise which offers hours of fun, but ultimately falls foul of its own ambition. [Nov 2009, p.92]
  28. Scribblenauts is one of those games that no matter how the visuals and sounds are, if the gameplay delivers, everything will be fine. Although it has several issues with the controls due to an over-sensitive touch screen, the game’s imaginative and funny nature isn’t hugely affected. In the end, you won’t regret the purchase.
  29. 82
    Scribblenauts will make you think, even if it's only to realize the name of that one particular object you need. It starts out easy, but gradually, the challenge becomes greater. It's a lovely game for those who are on the road or when there's nothing on the television again.
  30. There are only a few shortcomings in Scribblenauts, but they are not enough to spoil an incredibly original gameplay, which will put the player face to face with his/her own imagination. In fact, the more imagination you put into solving its riddles, the more this game will surprise you, one level after the other.
  31. Scribblenauts stands apart from the usual assortment of puzzle games, thanks to its charming design and wealth of possibilities. Don't let it fly under the radar. Go out and buy a copy right now.
  32. The staggering originality of Scribblenauts makes it a great experience and a memorable puzzle game that will have you laughing with glee while you frantically think up crazier and crazier ideas.
  33. All in all, Scribblenauts is a game to praise.
  34. Simply one of the best puzzle games to ever grace a handheld and a must get for any puzzle game fan, and the sheer amount of different solutions each puzzle can have will keep you playing for a very long time.
  35. 80
    Scribblenauts is about as high-concept as a game comes, and delivers remarkably well on its creative premise. However, some control frustrations and limited level design hold it back just short of true greatness.
  36. Don't believe the hype: Scribblenauts is a fun and innovative idea that isn't perfectly supported by a great game. After the "wow factor" of the first hours of play, you'll quickly understand that this is not the revolution of gaming.
  37. games(TM)
    80
    5th Cell has managed something very difficult: creating a game that's at once simple and also incredibly complex, and doing so with such composure and charm that you'd be doing yourself a great disservice not to give it a go. [Nov 2009, p.104]
  38. There is a whole lot of potential inside Scribblenauts, but the game never fulfills its promise to the fullest. It is an incredible achievement that you can come up with countless solutions to the different puzzles, but the poor way Maxwell responds to your commands frequently ruins your creative solutions. Therefore, you will only enjoy the game when you accept the fact that frustration and creativity are inseparable in Scribblenauts.
  39. An exciting new path for the Puzzle Games.
  40. AceGamez
    80
    This is an essential purchase which is fit for burst play on the go and, control niggles aside, this is as charming and addictive as they come, with potentially staggering replay value as long as your imagination allows it.
  41. The game is challenging and equally rewarding, and its flaws are forgivable, I really hope I’ve managed to convince many of you to give this game a go as it is truly a diamond of a game albeit one which has yet to be refined.
  42. The title screen alone offers up more fun than the missions portray and the clunky controls will only leave those impatient gamers reeling from the inconsistent layout. Scribblenauts is a brilliant idea that offers up plenty of fun for anyone with a creative mind, and despite some technical flaws, is well worth a sit-down for anyone looking to have a good time.
  43. With such a strong concept, it could have been one of the better games of the decade. However, the lack of polished execution has led to merely an incredible concept wrapped inside a shell of control issues that make it difficult to enjoy.
  44. All this being said Scribblenauts falls short of expectations through a lack of polish and some pretty horrendous action controls.
  45. In some ways, Scribblenauts is a great success; its primary conceptual design elements are unarguably pioneering achievements in gaming. In other ways, however, it falters, primarily in the playability of the game it offers within the playground it establ
  46. It's so unique, revolutionary, and positively delightful that it more than makes up for all its shortcomings. And with a built-in level editor and the ability to share levels with others, the challenges are nearly endless.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#19 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Though i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansiveThough i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety of things that i can create. This is a truly expansive game that i could spend so much time playing. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Sloppy controls, and easily cheated levels. the 2 points off my review. Everything else? Flawless. The entertainment value of watching a pandaSloppy controls, and easily cheated levels. the 2 points off my review. Everything else? Flawless. The entertainment value of watching a panda riding another panda wearing a top hat, is simply ingenious. Full Review »
  3. DME
    Sep 24, 2010
    3
    The idea behind it was good, but execution wasn't. Graphics were "blah". Sound was decent. Controls were just awful. Puzzles were fun atThe idea behind it was good, but execution wasn't. Graphics were "blah". Sound was decent. Controls were just awful. Puzzles were fun at first but then got real boring. There are certainly worse games on the DS, but even so, I don't recommend this one. Full Review »