Scribblenauts DS

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 110
  2. Negative: 11 out of 110
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Though i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety ofThough i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety of things that i can create. This is a truly expansive game that i could spend so much time playing. Expand
  2. SamJ
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Hours of fun throughout the entire game, I've seriously spent hours on just the title screen, its that good and the puzzles and action stages are awesome, and the thousands of objects in the game shall keep you amused, God wearing shades equipped with a machine gun doing battle with the devil ftw! plus level builder awesome game.
  3. JackV
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    Scribblenauts is a new, original idea, that is sure to keep you hooked for hours. Some of the controls may not be brilliant, but why should this game be marked down just because of that?
  4. RussellC
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    The most innovative game this year, and for the creative-minded person, one of the most enjoyable games ever. There are minor control annoyances, but saying that keeps it from being great is akin to saying that the original Star Wars movies weren't great b/c of the acting. Wonderful game, the kind every gamer who ever said they wished there was more innovation should be buying for The most innovative game this year, and for the creative-minded person, one of the most enjoyable games ever. There are minor control annoyances, but saying that keeps it from being great is akin to saying that the original Star Wars movies weren't great b/c of the acting. Wonderful game, the kind every gamer who ever said they wished there was more innovation should be buying for both themselves and all their friends. Expand
  5. AdamB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Scribblenauts is one of the most innovative and bizarrely entertaining experiments in computer gaming since Eliza the virtual therapist, and the electronic 20 Questions game. The whole point of the Scribblenauts is to outwit the computer using your creativity. You can cheat in humorous ways through some puzzles, leaving you feeling good about yourself. Other puzzles are maddening even Scribblenauts is one of the most innovative and bizarrely entertaining experiments in computer gaming since Eliza the virtual therapist, and the electronic 20 Questions game. The whole point of the Scribblenauts is to outwit the computer using your creativity. You can cheat in humorous ways through some puzzles, leaving you feeling good about yourself. Other puzzles are maddening even though they're presented so simply. Either way, the whole experience is filled with joy and feels more like a blank canvas than a game. Expand
  6. JamesR.
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    The reviews are correct. The controls definitely do leave something to be desired. They can be quite frustrating in more complex situations. However, the incredible originality of this title greatly outweighs its shortcomings. The puzzles are creative and get quite difficult. The fact that there are several possible solutions to each adds to the already great replay value. The online The reviews are correct. The controls definitely do leave something to be desired. They can be quite frustrating in more complex situations. However, the incredible originality of this title greatly outweighs its shortcomings. The puzzles are creative and get quite difficult. The fact that there are several possible solutions to each adds to the already great replay value. The online could use beefing up in future sequels, but being able to trade puzzles with others is another great way to extend the experience. If you like inventive puzzles, pick this title up and don't look back. Expand
  7. JordanHill
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this is an amazingly solid and creative game. My favorite to date for the DS. Expand
  8. PB
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Great concept, let down by a horrible control system. Using the touch-screen to control both Maxwell and created items is often infuriating- an accidental mispress when rearranging items will often lead your character to jump off a cliff or into some exploding barrels or something.
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Sloppy controls, and easily cheated levels. the 2 points off my review. Everything else? Flawless. The entertainment value of watching a panda riding another panda wearing a top hat, is simply ingenious.
  10. JoeS
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    I'm giving this game a little bonus, since I feel it's more of a 7.5. It is indeed very original and just the thing that people with big imaginations and big vocabularies have been wishing for, but, as many others have said, the controls are simply an abomination. The start screen is the most enjoyable part of the game, but it alone makes it worth trying at least once. If you I'm giving this game a little bonus, since I feel it's more of a 7.5. It is indeed very original and just the thing that people with big imaginations and big vocabularies have been wishing for, but, as many others have said, the controls are simply an abomination. The start screen is the most enjoyable part of the game, but it alone makes it worth trying at least once. If you don't buy this one, at least borrow it from a friend. Expand
  11. DaveP
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    Fun and original. It gives a new breath to the idea of open ended play. Just when you think you are ready to put the game down and get on with life, the right lobe of the brain begs for one more level with something like, "What if I attach a rocket pack to the penguin and throw him on a trampoline?"
  12. RomanT
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Definitely one of the most original games to come out for DS in a while. It has a cute and simple art style that I personally like. Most importantly, this game is very fun. Having literally thousands of objects to choose from to solve various puzzle is very innovative. Naturally, that also leads to some flaws. Moving Maxwell and all those objects can be very clunky. Fighting the physics Definitely one of the most original games to come out for DS in a while. It has a cute and simple art style that I personally like. Most importantly, this game is very fun. Having literally thousands of objects to choose from to solve various puzzle is very innovative. Naturally, that also leads to some flaws. Moving Maxwell and all those objects can be very clunky. Fighting the physics engine can be quite frustrating at times. Not all puzzles are enjoyable or even make sense. Many objects that should logically get the job done do not work in practice. The game certainly does not give enough puzzle hints and expects you to use your creativity and imagination. Aside from those fundamental flaws, it is still a great title overall. It is truly an amazing accomplishment by the developers to cram that many interesting objects and interaction into a single game. Expand
  13. RedX
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game has virtually no flaws. The gameplay is large and nearly infinite. The only flaw I have to say is the control system. I would have no problem if you could control Maxwell with the D-Pad and X,Y,A, and B buttons while controling the objects using the touch-screen and LR buttons. Even with the control flaws, this game is one of the top DS games of 2009.
  14. AaronB
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Although I would have liked to control the hero with the D-pad. The controls are not that bad. The game is very enjoyable once you do get used to the controls. Just have an open mind and you'll have a good time.
  15. AnonymousMC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    You know what I hate most? I hate that when I go on Metacritic, I see all these turds only vote to what they hear, read, or think about games they don't even have. If you don't have the game, you shouldn't vote on it just because other people say it's bad or good. I myself have this game and I think that half of you people who voted have never even seen the game beingYou know what I hate most? I hate that when I go on Metacritic, I see all these turds only vote to what they hear, read, or think about games they don't even have. If you don't have the game, you shouldn't vote on it just because other people say it's bad or good. I myself have this game and I think that half of you people who voted have never even seen the game being played. So next time you're about to ruin a game when you don't know if it's good or not, just think, "Do I really give a crap?" Expand
  16. KazukoY
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent fun, the controls take getting used to, but don't kill the experience! Games like this need to be touted and rewarded so that others may come down the line.
  17. joshP
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    The controls are a bit off but its definately a game where replay value is higher than most ds games. to completely go into every last item of the game, you would only need to type in a few thousand plus nouns. it is definitely a game where if you lack imagination (and maybe a decent vocabulary), then the gameplay can get worn out extraordinarily easily. Regardless, it is a title that any The controls are a bit off but its definately a game where replay value is higher than most ds games. to completely go into every last item of the game, you would only need to type in a few thousand plus nouns. it is definitely a game where if you lack imagination (and maybe a decent vocabulary), then the gameplay can get worn out extraordinarily easily. Regardless, it is a title that any ds owner should take a look at. Expand
  18. DanD
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    It's pretty much all that you're hoping it will be. If you're attracted to the game because of the freakish amount of items that it can generate and how they all interact with one another, you will not be disappointed. However, as a "game", it has some serious crutches. The controls are incredibly bad, though you may only notice on the really challenging levels. Odd It's pretty much all that you're hoping it will be. If you're attracted to the game because of the freakish amount of items that it can generate and how they all interact with one another, you will not be disappointed. However, as a "game", it has some serious crutches. The controls are incredibly bad, though you may only notice on the really challenging levels. Odd glitches abound -- items disappearing from the environment, random avator death for no reason, etc. -- but due to the game's bite-sized premise you don't mind these as much as Maxwell's baffling inability to go anywhere reliably. If the game weren't experienced in two or three minute chunks, the glitches would kill it. As it is, you just restart the level and hope the same thing doesn't happen again. All in all, this is a great all around time-sink, so you should absolutely buy it. If nothing else, it works as a proof of concept and lays the groundwork for some truly awesome sequels. Expand
  19. NealM
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Sometimes it can be annoying if you want something more specific and you end up writing a synonym for something slightly different, but I don't feel it detracts from the game any.
  20. NickH
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    Scribblenauts is probably one of the most original and creative games in history. Some objects don't behave as they should, and the controls could use some work, but its a definite pick up and probably one of the best puzzle games I've ever played.
  21. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Niggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premise is brilliant, write anything, solve everything. Though this pretty much is true, summoning anything is an awesome prospect, a better line would be 'write anything, solve almost everything if it wasn't for several flaws'. Still one of the best DSNiggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premise is brilliant, write anything, solve everything. Though this pretty much is true, summoning anything is an awesome prospect, a better line would be 'write anything, solve almost everything if it wasn't for several flaws'. Still one of the best DS games, if you can put up with dodgy control schemes. Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Most original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get their brain thinking, this is the game.

    A stroke of genius.
  23. cfh
    Mar 24, 2013
    8
    SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!!!!!! The first levels are awesome. Then I got stuck, but if you get stuck you can still go to different worlds and play levels there (my mistake). I would deffinitely suggest this to anyone who has a device that supports this game. Examples: DS Scribblenauts and Scribblenauts Remix for iOS ($0.99 TOTALLY worth it).
  24. May 12, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deep frustration. Plus, every puzzle has great variety and if you take your time to solve each puzzle the game can last you a good 20+ hours. On the negative side, however, the Level Creator is limited, the controls are stiff and annoying, many puzzlesThis is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deep frustration. Plus, every puzzle has great variety and if you take your time to solve each puzzle the game can last you a good 20+ hours. On the negative side, however, the Level Creator is limited, the controls are stiff and annoying, many puzzles can be solved with a simple 'blow it up' attitude and the AI is, frankly, poor. But all of this is made up for with a cast of fantastic puzzles and some pretty cool unlocks. This is also a belly-achingly funny game, and an essential purchase for any and every DS owner. Period. Expand
  25. May 23, 2011
    8
    It's not great but it's a good fun game I don't love it I don't hate it but it's still fun and the puzzles for most of them you have to be creative so you should buy it it's pretty dang good!
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    With Scribblenauts the possibilities are endless.
  27. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This game is really great for car rides, or personally for me, when laying in bed if you can't sleep or don't feel well. It has some easy levels, some creative levels, and some impossible levels. It will keep you entertained for much longer than you need to be. Also, even though it looks like it's for young kids, it's fun for all ages, I'm 19 and have an absolute blast playing with my boyfriend.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#26 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Scribblenauts is hugely ambitious, and the odd bit of buckling under its inventory has to be forgiven.
  2. 90
    Even with the flaws in Scribblenauts' controls and the level editor -- which only allows you to make levels for use on your own card, and not share them with others -- it holds a special place in my heart for being the most fun I've ever had improving my vocabulary. It is, dare I say, the best piece of edutainment since Math Blaster.
  3. 83
    You get a wholesome puzzle game in Scribblenauts, with challenges that may well last you longer than you think, but it's not perfect.