User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    The best way to describe Shantae: Risky's Revenge is a 2-D version of Zelda: A Link to the Past. Incredible art, well developed and puzzled filled dungeons, and an emphasis on unlocking new items and abilities in order to progress. Yes, it can also be compared to Metroid or Castlevania, but to do ignores one of the games greatest strengths: its charm. This is the first game on DSiWare that is a must-own, which is not only an admission to the terrible state of the DSiWare store (it's terrible and filled with garbage), but also a celebration of the incredible value this game provides. It's easily the best $12 that can be spent on either the DSiWare or WiiWare stores. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Shantae: Risky's Revenge is a 2-D adventure game in which you guide half genie, Shantae, on her quest to stop Risky the pirate. Shantae uses her hair as a weapon against her enemies but can also wield magic including types that can turn her into an animal to reach places otherwise unavailable. I particularly find it very fun to look for some of the hidden items necessary to further upgrade Shantae and her arsenal of magic. This is the best original game I've played from the DSiWare library. I have to give credit to the developer for making something from scratch just for the DSiWare when there's been other games ported from other portable devices and phones. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    If you haven't played the original, Shantae was a Metroidvania released in 2002 by Wayforward Technologies. The plot was simple: Risky Boots the Lady Pirate/Leader of the Tinkerbat Army has stolen an ancient Steam Engine to use for a Doomsday device. Shantae, a Half-Genie, vows to to recover her Uncle's discovery and bring peace back to Sequin Land. Controls were simple: You could jump, whip, run, and use items bought from the shop. What made Shantae unique, however, was the Dance gimmick. It was very akin to how the Ocarina was used in the 3D Zeldas, but, instead of pressing the buttons at any rate, you had to wait for the beat to press the correct button. Shantae went over well with many review sites, getting 9's and 10's left and right. It became a smash hit...however, hardly anyone bought it. Matt Bozon, Creative Lead at WF, spent years trying to revive the series. GBA, Wii, DS, PSP, all didn't make it of the design floor, until last year that is, where Risky's Revenge was announced, and many rejoiced. Shantae: Risky's Revenge takes place presumably a couple months after the orginal. Shantae heads to her Uncle Mimic's presentation at the Relic Hunter's Expo after being told by her friend Bolo that she's late. At the speech, Mimic is given the honor of presenting the Mystery Auction Item, which is encased in hollow rock . It turns out that the Mystery Item is an Old Oil Lamp, which Mimic tries to hide and ignore. Just then, Risky drops from the ceiling and swipes it. Shantae chases her down to the bay, and is knocked unconscious by a unfair blow. Mimic wakes her up, and tries to keep her at her lighthouse, away from possible danger. Shantae refuses, and asks what the possible danger is. Mimic refuses to talk about it, but instead tells her how to stop Risky: by locating the 3 Magic Seals. Shantae heads out of town and seraches for the said artifacts. Shantae: RR's controls are as simple as it's predecessor's: you can jump (B), Whip (Y), Dance (X), Use Items (R), and do a backwards dash (L). Dancing has been simplified this time around: instead of using an OoT-esque code system, you just hold the button til the right formation, and then release. The item system has also taken a turn for the best, items can now be bought and used indefinitely, as long as you have Magic in your Meter. Items are also upgradable, but you must also pay in hidden objects known as Magic Jams, an item that's hidden in various nooks and crannies throughout the game. One major gripe the game has recieved is the map system. It is very simple: all it does is show you what room you are in, and that's it. At first, it seems like a problem, but it isn't. It's very hard to get lost, really. There's only one point in the game where you might get stuck, but that's it. Overall, Risky's Revenge can run you about 4-6 hours of gameplay, depending on whether or not you try to go 100% or not. Replay Value is really high, it's something you'd want to challenge yourself with for various runthroughs. If you are a fan of the Metroidvania genre, get it. If not, get it anyways. Shantae has returned from a 8 Year Hiatus, and she wants to show us who is the Princess of the Metroidvanias. Best 12 Dollars you shall ever spend on a Downloadable Title. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    S:RR is a fantastic game. I'm not a very big fan of platformers and I didn't play the original. Nevertheless, this is a very fun, polished and good looking game. The audio is also very good. The complete soundtrack is available from the developer, on a pay what you want system. All in all, this is a very good value for $12.00. S:RR Is better than some full retail DS games, costing twice as much.
  5. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Shantae keeps running into issue of coming out toward the end of the console's life cycle. I don't think people even know there was one before this DSiware version. This is one of the best DS games. If you enjoyed action adventure such as Metroid and Zelda series (2D ones), Castlevania (starting with SotN), you will love this game. I was hoping this game would come out as a packaged game so DS Lite and DS Phat owners can experience it too... Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Last night I beat Risky's Revenge. The game's clock put my efforts at about 6h30min of playtime. I was a bit disappointed when it ended, I felt like a game at that price-point should have offered more content.

    My overall impression of the game is quite positive, however. The graphics were detailed and beautiful, and the gameplay elements were varied enough never to get boring. There was
    a lot of backtracking and exploration, but it never really felt tedious to me.

    The game's writing was silly and childish, which actually worked in its favour, as it didn't try to be something it wasn't. This is a kid's game with an adult appeal.

    While not particularly difficult, many of the game's puzzles were quite challenging, and I found myself using a gamefaq on 4 separate occasions to progress onward. The dungeons were all quite massive investments, they took time and concentration, which I enjoyed. They never gave you anything on a silver platter, including your objectives, and yet they never quite abandoned you either.

    Overall it was a well-balanced game that only suffered from being too short. Was it worth $12+tx? No, I don't think so, not unless it proved to be longer. Money aside, was it worth playing? Yep, definitely, enjoyable and memorable gameplay with a solid visual style and excellent sprite animations made this game a pleasure to experience.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 1, 2011
    85
    It deserves better than a cult following. [May 2011, p.93]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    78
    Not the fantastic retro platform that we expected, Risky's Revenge is a nice little metroidvania game that suffers from a just competent but far from stellar level and game design.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    In the cold light of day, however, it's difficult to see what all the fuss is about. [Issue#107, p.117]