Sonic Colors DS

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    Sonic Colours offers some good times and the Wisps are an interesting alternative to simply running, but it's over in a second and feels like there's a lot that could've been expanded on.
  2. 60
    Despite the good presentation and fun aspects of the game, the underlying poor design dirties up the game.
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Fans will still find a few surprises this time around, including a form of multiplayer support available from a single DS card, but it's in the colour-based wisp abilities that the game tries to stand out from the crowd.
  4. Nov 15, 2010
    70
    With such a gameplay on DS, Sonic Colours could have used some more content.
  5. Nov 14, 2010
    60
    Its entertainment is short-lived, but only because the game itself is short. Although there is replay value in exploring the levels to their entirety, and completing the missions and multiplayer offer a few more hours entertainment, Sonic Colours is ultimately unsatisfying.
  6. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    71
    Fast paced but maybe too much so. Mastery will require psychic powers or a great memory. [Issue#56, p.61]

Awards & Rankings

15
5
#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
21
#21 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    I wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed byI wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed by the Wii version. So I played it for a bit, and all I can say is, "Sonic is back". The game play is so fast and fluid, yet I did not experience any lag while playing, unlike Sonic Rush. The music is also great, it brings back feelings of the old Genesis games, while still staying fresh and new. Speaking of Fresh and new, the levels are much more varied this time. I won't spoil anything, but let's just say, it's awesome. The one thing that kills it though, are the boss battles. The boss battles for me are disappointingly generic and bland. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth,FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth, Chronicles which at best was half decent, but then they released unleashed which kind of brought the series, but critics nitpicked at the "Boring" wolf sections. That game KIND OF saved the series, but in 2010, I saw the trailer, and since I don't have a Wii, which got very positive ratings, I got the DS version, and I loved every Sonic-Second of it. EVERYTHING from the beautiful intro, the gameplay, story, speed, humor, audio, it's AMAZING! This game is so good that it brought the Sonic series back! And Sonic hasn't had a bad game since! Except for the 3ds version of lost world, which at WORST, was pretty, mixed. I just didn't like frozen factory, and Sonic 4 I actually liked. Don't listen to the bad reviews on here and buy the game. And if there's ever a day when your feeling bored, depressed, or just overall down in the dumps, get your Wii or DS, plug in this game, and reach for the stars. :) Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    4
    Sonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having funSonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having fun is incompatible with the game's difficulty , mostly boosted by the never-ending memorization and cheap death scenarios. Ugh. Full Review »