Sonic Rush DS

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2005
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    70
    The great level designs provide frantic fun, but despite my many fond memories of Sonic, it's difficult to heap praise on a game that makes me feel like I'm still playing the Sega Genesis. [Jan 2006, p.157]
  2. 70
    The designers did attempt to break up the simplistic game play a bit by forcing Sonic and Blaze to stop and fight a handful of mechanical terrors every once in a while, but it doesn't really add much to the overall game.
  3. As much as I might admire the precise way everything's been put together, and enjoy compulsively dispatching Zone after Zone, I still can't abide the way it builds you up and then runs you straight into someone's swinging baseball bat without warning.
  4. 70
    Sonic Rush certainly isn't revolutionary, and it only barely makes use of the touchscreen, but it is a decent distillation of what's kept a sprite-based Sonic alive in the age of textured polygons, as long as you're fine with more of the same.
  5. Edge Magazine
    70
    It instantly shares the same atmosphere and pleasure as the original Sonic classics did 15 years ago, even if it does little to move them forward. [Christmas 2005, p.111]
  6. Perhaps the first Sonic game that had Gamestyle reaching for the instruction manual. It starts a bit vague in regards to how it should be played, but it soon clicks into place.
  7. Sorry, but Sonic Rush is just a mediocre offering and should be passed over for better titles unless you are a big fan
  8. Exploring as Sonic or new character Blaze the cat is rewarding, even if enemy placement can be stupidly punitive, demanding rote memorisation or lightning use of the dash attack to avoid calamity.
  9. 70
    With the fast and furious gameplay of old once again rediscovered, it’s only the odd moments of glaring level-design error that cause the kind of dismay that a selection of the 3D titles offered up.

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
#15 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This is platforming to the most extreme level. The game's many long levels have been crafted perfectly to give you a real "rush" like feeling.This is platforming to the most extreme level. The game's many long levels have been crafted perfectly to give you a real "rush" like feeling. The basic story may only take you 8-12 hours to beat, but the story isnt really over then. If you do something (can't say), then something will happen, greatly extending the hours to play, and you won't get bored with it! The multiplayer is also amazing as you get to race around with your friend, very rush-like! I highly recommend this game to all sonic and platformer fans!!!

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 8.5/10
    Music: 9/10
    Presentation: 9/10
    Length: 9/10
    Overall: 9.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    Sonic Rush showcases the awesomeness of the DS rather well, with fast-paced sonic awesomeness taking place over both screens. I haven't playedSonic Rush showcases the awesomeness of the DS rather well, with fast-paced sonic awesomeness taking place over both screens. I haven't played a Sonic game on a Nintendo Handheld that I haven't enjoyed. It isn't fantastic, just great. Where it succeeds is the gameplay and difficulty, very good. But where it fails is in level design and music. The levels are mostly good, but there are one or two that aren't so great and the game contains what is quite possibly the most annoying soundtrack I've ever heard on the DS. But, it is great and Blaze isn't actually that bad, maybe a tad pointless, but not that bad. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    best originally handheld sonic game that isnt called sonic advance, so go get its rly cheap actually preowned, so yeah, (agents are...) GO getbest originally handheld sonic game that isnt called sonic advance, so go get its rly cheap actually preowned, so yeah, (agents are...) GO get it now, and i give it a 94%, and i rly dont know what didnt make me give it a ten, but what the heck? Full Review »