Spore Creatures DS

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    90
    A triumph - a constantly evolving, charming and surprising triumph. [Oct 2008, p.83]
  2. It comes on a little slow, but if you put some genuine time and effort into this game, you can come away with a fun experience.
  3. Nintendo Power
    80
    The realistic way these creatures move and act is by far the game's most impressive feature. [Nov 2008, p.95]
  4. 78
    This is a fun, involved, albeit more linear DS experience with a few quirks that get in the way, but even with those quirks it’s great to experience a game on the more limited handheld with a similar sense of creativity that PC gamers will have in Spore.
  5. Spore Creatures is a decent demonstration about the power of Will Wright's ideas in a videogame that tries to imitate the PC version customization possibilities. The result is obviously limited but it's still a very suitable adventure for the kids above all.
  6. 70
    The basic gameplay elements from Spore's creature stage have been expanded upon in Spore Creatures, and if you're looking for more of that, you'll be quite pleased by this attractive little adventure.
  7. Unfortunately, while the quests and mini-games vary from region to region, overall gameplay is rather repetitive.
  8. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    66
    A boring old caterpillar rather than a beautiful butterfly - not what we'd hoped for at all. [Nov 2008, p.79]
  9. Spore Creatures is pleasant and charming, but ultimately forgettable.
  10. Unfortunately, a great concept got lost in a morass of poor decisions and overcomplexity, if that's a word.
  11. Not the cheap cash-in you might have feared and yet still a portable game that runs contrary to all the aims of the PC original.
  12. Spore Creatures isn’t the shovelware I originally expected, but it isn’t much more than a cash-in on the PC version’s anticipated success. It isn't a bad game, it isn't a good game, it's just sort of there.
  13. Nintendo Gamer
    60
    Perversely, there are complex ideas in here but the game itself is pretty simple, rather repetitive and often clumsy. [Nov 2008, p.62]
  14. Forget the PC version because this adaptation of the brilliant Spore isn’t at all on the same level as Will Wright’s new gem. Spore Creatures for the Nintendo DS uses basic gameplay based on doing missions related to finding various items and then using them to create a new monster in a nicely done monster editor. Anyway, the game isn’t bad for little kids.
  15. The wonky camera and repetition is annoying, but it still just about works as an average exploration game. What it doesn't offer is any sort of Free Play option where you can do your own thing.
  16. With none of the scope seen in the PC version, Spore: Creatures is a poor alternative. It’s a quirky & great looking, but soon ends up killing itself with repetitive gameplay and dull puzzles.
  17. Due to a repetitive gameplay and uninspiring content the portable DS-version of Spore fails to make itself interesting. A greater selection of mini-games and ways to play the game would have helped this in essence mediocre experience.
  18. It's very simplistic, despite the appearance of having a complex system of creature building. Apart from my issues with the combat, at no point is the game really bad, but it's never a whole lot of fun either. It is charming for about an hour's worth of play but not much else.
  19. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    40
    Linear, boring and tedious game – is it really Spore? An unsuccessful attempt to bring the evolution process onto the pocket console fails in all aspects. Waste of time. [Oct 2008]
  20. In conclusion: If you want Spore, buy Spore. If you don’t mind wading through hours and hours of the most basic, linear, join-the-dots repetition for the sake of a stripped-back creature creator on your DS, then why not? Knock yourself out. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Awards & Rankings

#33 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#58 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I can safely say that this is one of the most entertaining games for the DS. If you are one for adventure games, you will definitely enjoy this one. I have two used copies from Gamestop, and both had completed saves on them so I got to see what the whole game had to offer at first sight, and later on I finished the game myself. The instructions are a bit confusing in the beginning, because they give little assistance in finding out what different parts of spore cards and items mean, but I am fairly sure that they did this on purpose to make the gamer figure some stuff out for themselves instead of being force-fed information. It includes a fairly lengthy storyline, and if you're willing to sit down and play all of it at once, be prepared to get bored quickly, because this game is best played in hourly doses, like most games out there. Walkthroughs may be useful at some points. There are also a few glitches. One of them is when you must throw rocks at the attacking Glob-lods, they still steal the Bubleebu's bananas anyways and you have to restart the quest. It took me almost an hour to get through that short portion, and on another save it didn't even work to begin with. Another negative to the game is it is very linear, there are no, "you can do this instead of this and still reach the same outcome," no, its entirely, "if you cant do this, run around and complete other tasks but you still have to do this to continue." I highly recommend this game, but if you are into games with incredibly high replay value and broad options on what you can do, try this one anyways, it won't take much of your paycheck to pick up an entertaining sliver of the renowned PC legend, Spore.

    (Also, when you befriend a nest, you get a part/experience/both. If you kill a nest, you get a part/experience/both. This is a way to get all the parts, just befriend all the creatures, take the prize, kill all of them, take the prize, rebuild the nest, befriend them, and so on. I have managed to get almost all the parts this way. Gruesome, but whatever it takes.. Also the aftermath of the game is pretty drab. All you can do once you defeat the villain is go back to the places you've already been to get more parts and unlock cheats.)
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    Don't get me wrong here, i love spore games. i rated spore for pc an 8 out of 10. This game however is just a disappointment. the gameplay isDon't get me wrong here, i love spore games. i rated spore for pc an 8 out of 10. This game however is just a disappointment. the gameplay is pretty boring, the fighting isn't fun, the worlds are small. But the downright worst thing about this game, which makes me drop my score from like 6 to 4: the graphics. The entire game looks like it was made using paper cut-outs. When your creature turns around, you can physically see the 1-dimentional side of it. WHY?? Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    While Spore Creatures will never, EVER be as good as Spore for PC, there is no doubt that it is fun. But the overall presentation could haveWhile Spore Creatures will never, EVER be as good as Spore for PC, there is no doubt that it is fun. But the overall presentation could have been better. Full Review »