User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TeppoN.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    The best Nintendo DS game. Ever!
  2. DavidW.
    Aug 23, 2005
    8
    The psuedosequel to Yoshi's Island. When I'm bored, I'll pop it into my DS and then enjoy the Yoshi love... for an hour or two, at which point I'll burn out and get bored with it, spend an hour on sites like these... and then boot it up again. I was expecting a full-blown story mode like Canvas Curse, but instead it's all arcade-style 1st and 2nd player... In The psuedosequel to Yoshi's Island. When I'm bored, I'll pop it into my DS and then enjoy the Yoshi love... for an hour or two, at which point I'll burn out and get bored with it, spend an hour on sites like these... and then boot it up again. I was expecting a full-blown story mode like Canvas Curse, but instead it's all arcade-style 1st and 2nd player... In retrospect, that play style helps make it different from Canvas Curse [which is what it will be compared to] and more worth buying for those who already have Canvas Curse. An interesting feature is that it will notify you if anyone near you is on PictoChat. It's a nice touch. Expand
  3. Pazzle
    Mar 6, 2005
    9
    Famitsu have this right, its a great game.
  4. StuartL.
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    The only thing bad about this game is the lack of story mode. If it had that it would have been getting 9s or higher.
  5. AdrianH.
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    A stunning puzzler that is cronically mis-understood. A lack of story mode could upset some, but the puzzle outlook makes it fresh and long lasting. Really shows off the DS features.
  6. Supersean
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    Fun, Not Amazing, but it's got good music, pleasent graphics, good controls. Definitely Buy it! Good Replay Value!
  7. T.G.
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    These reviewers are puffing the la la or something... this game is great.
  8. AlexJ.
    May 13, 2005
    9
    This game has potentially the most original gameplay mechanics of all time. Its highly intuitive and addictive, and inspite of it only having two stages it's lasted me long enough! Great fun, well done again nintendo for producing yet another quality ds product.
  9. JariH.
    May 25, 2005
    9
    A Great game, getting better high-score´s keep game interesting.
  10. PaulScottodiP.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite DS game ever. It is cute, and you can play with it for a long time... I haven't gotten bored with it yet...
  11. MarkB.
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    A sheer delight. A much needed breath of fresh air for the platform genre, a true original. It is a joy to play. It's only drawback is that for some reason Nintendo is pretending that this is a puzzle game. It's not. It's a 2-D action platformer and one of the best I've ever played. So why are there no levels, bosses, of plotlines? It's still an excellent game, A sheer delight. A much needed breath of fresh air for the platform genre, a true original. It is a joy to play. It's only drawback is that for some reason Nintendo is pretending that this is a puzzle game. It's not. It's a 2-D action platformer and one of the best I've ever played. So why are there no levels, bosses, of plotlines? It's still an excellent game, and marathon mode is great. It never ends and the areas change enough to keep the game interesting. I love the randomly generated level design. Expand
  12. TonyG.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    awsome gameplay. this is nintendo at thier finest. original, fun, and very responsive. boards do change up alot also ... so it is not the smae game over and over again. totally addicting game. was worried it wpould be no good. boy was i wrong.
  13. LawrenceP.
    Aug 16, 2007
    8
    Lots of people don't like the omission of a story mode, which is understandable, but really the game stands alone perfectly well without one. In fact, I have serious doubts about whether a story mode would work, given the game's unique style. That aside, the game is brilliant. Arcade gameplay doesn't get any better, or more inventive, than this. Using only the stylus, a Lots of people don't like the omission of a story mode, which is understandable, but really the game stands alone perfectly well without one. In fact, I have serious doubts about whether a story mode would work, given the game's unique style. That aside, the game is brilliant. Arcade gameplay doesn't get any better, or more inventive, than this. Using only the stylus, a wide variety of different actions can be achieved--jumping, drawing clouds, capturing items and enemies in bubbles, and throwing eggs. And while that simple array of moves may seem spare when compared to Yoshi's previous adventures, never before have they been integrated so elegantly, and the environments change frequently keeping the gameplay fresh and challenging. The inclusion of several different gameplay modes also helps to keep the game from growing stale. And did I mention how ludicrously addictive it is? Expand
  14. Framikaze
    Dec 16, 2006
    9
    Really a good game.I'm addicted to it! It's also an anti-stress...when you are nervous try to play it...surely you 'll make tons of records.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. I have to hand it to Nintendo for making another creative product, but it's more like a mini game than a complete DS title.
  2. 9 / 8 / 9 / 9 - 35 platinum [Jan 2005]
  3. Mixes elements of classic Mario games and sidescrolling shooters with touch screen controls for an experience like you’ve never played before.