Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku takes you on an incredible journey to protect the universe from the evil Frieza once and for all. Goku's son has been kidnapped and it's up to you to save him. Vegeta, Krillin, Piccolo, and King Kai are some of the characters you'll encounter along yourDragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku takes you on an incredible journey to protect the universe from the evil Frieza once and for all. Goku's son has been kidnapped and it's up to you to save him. Vegeta, Krillin, Piccolo, and King Kai are some of the characters you'll encounter along your quest. You'll need your melee and ki combat strategies to defeat your enemies. The future depends on your ability to use your ki blasts, solar flare, and kamehameha attacks. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Game Informer
    75
    This title's adherence to both the substance and sytle of the show are what kept me playing it - and I'm not even a fan. [May 2002, p.88]
  2. It’s like that delicious piece of cake you receive at a party; scrumptious but anything but filling. Such is this, short indeed but an enjoyable experience while it lasts.
  3. I was frustrated by its slow, aggravating gameplay, but I still enjoyed it enough to keep playing and I hated to see it end.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    58
    Battling enemies is both frustrating and boring thanks to touchy hit detection and extremely repetitive fights. [June 2002, p.122]
  5. Short, easy, and lacking in imagination.
  6. Nintendo Power
    54
    It's fairly basic RPG gaming, but it's got the fine details that'll please fans of the show. [May 2002, p.142]
  7. A sucky game. There's no two ways around it. The graphics are mediocre, the gameplay is utter crap, sound and music are redundant and forgettable, and don't even get me started on the story.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome! I don't understand all the bad reviews, this game is one of the best dbz games ever and I've played all the This game is awesome! I don't understand all the bad reviews, this game is one of the best dbz games ever and I've played all the Japanese imports, Legacy of Goku is 1000 times better than those. Expand
  2. SamuelA.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    Amazing! I'm glad to have fought off the "nah, it will disappoint me" feeling.
  3. JonoE.
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    Its 1 of the bests games out 4 the GBA.
  4. BillyT.
    Sep 17, 2002
    9
    It was a pretty good game, despite the short gameplay.
  5. KelvinV.
    Dec 23, 2002
    9
    It is great and everthing but, did you beat the legacy of goku yet if you did can you help me out with somthing. You know planet namik with It is great and everthing but, did you beat the legacy of goku yet if you did can you help me out with somthing. You know planet namik with the three ballz the red, blue, and green ballz were is the green one at. please tell me if you know. e-mail me back were is the green one is at. My screen name is ShineStone2002 Thanks! Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2017
    9
    This is a quality game that will take you by surprise. One of the better games on the system but still not the best in the series. Well worthThis is a quality game that will take you by surprise. One of the better games on the system but still not the best in the series. Well worth a purchase. Expand
  7. B.S.
    Jan 18, 2003
    4
    Can he be anymore orange?

See all 11 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

99
8
#8 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
15
#15 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002