Mario Kart Super Circuit Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Whoever hands out driver's licenses in the Mushroom Kingdom is about to be in some serious trouble. Classic Mario Kart action is back once again, this time in a colorful, lightning-fast game that you can take anywhere. Mario, Luigi, Peach, Toad, Wario, Yoshi, and Bowser are all tearing upWhoever hands out driver's licenses in the Mushroom Kingdom is about to be in some serious trouble. Classic Mario Kart action is back once again, this time in a colorful, lightning-fast game that you can take anywhere. Mario, Luigi, Peach, Toad, Wario, Yoshi, and Bowser are all tearing up the track, tossing Koopa Shells and laying banana peels along the way. Mario Kart: Super Circuit puts your driving skills to the test on 40 tracks, each littered with wild weapons and obstacles. Four players can compete in Mario Kart: Super Circuit using only one Game Pak. If each player has a copy of the game, bonus features and new modes of play become available. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 100
    It's all the fun of the original in the palm of your hand.
  2. 100
    Offers gamers a quality racing title with weapons, and the ability to keep players' attention for years.
  3. The graphics, sound, and gameplay all set benchmarks that other developers will attempt to surpass.
  4. One of the most ingenious games ever to come from the Nintendo stable.
  5. Fortunately, although the naming scheme has strayed from tradition, the gameplay is exactly what you expect of Mario Kart.
  6. Amazingly, the game exceeds both its Super NES and Nintendo 64 ancestors, making it a serious contender for the best kart-racer yet released.
  7. GMR Magazine
    80
    A balanced blend of "Super Mario Kart" and "Mario Kart 64." [Feb 2003, p.97]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    While it's graphics are somewhat sub-par compared to the Snes Super Mario Kart, I can't help but really like Super Circuit too. I While it's graphics are somewhat sub-par compared to the Snes Super Mario Kart, I can't help but really like Super Circuit too. I feel it's the best GBA game. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Even after Mario Kart 7, MKSC still has a lot of extreme fun. It has 40 tracks, more than any other game in the series. What's not to like inEven after Mario Kart 7, MKSC still has a lot of extreme fun. It has 40 tracks, more than any other game in the series. What's not to like in a racing game this good? Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    Marvelous.
  4. May 1, 2011
    9
    It's "almost" all the fun of Super Mario Kart and Mario Kart 64 right on your GBA. Pros: Excellent visuals and control; some of the bestIt's "almost" all the fun of Super Mario Kart and Mario Kart 64 right on your GBA. Pros: Excellent visuals and control; some of the best graphics on a GBA ever; single-player and multi-player mode are a blast; variety of characters and tracks. Cons: It can feel a bit repetitious, especially if it's the only GBA game you have. Collapse
  5. B.S.
    Oct 22, 2002
    8
    Too much like 64's version. If you have super mario cart 64 don't buy this!
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Maybe I just need to get used to the controls, but I found Super Circuit to be probably the worst game in the entire Mario Kart series and itMaybe I just need to get used to the controls, but I found Super Circuit to be probably the worst game in the entire Mario Kart series and it seriously shocks me to see that this game got the highest score on Metacritic out of all the Mario Kart games. I mean the game is not bad, but it just fell flat for me and it kind just feels a bit dated for it's type of game.

    Pros:
    -Atmosphere and character selection is fine.
    -The graphics are done well...well probably about as well as the GBA can handle.
    -Item selection is fine, the courses...not bad.
    -I like that they brought the courses from the original Super Mario Kart.

    Cons:
    -Steering controls felt gimmicky which was bad for the loads of sharp turns this game had.
    -When you had no coins, there would be this annoying and repetitive beeping noise.
    -There is a delay when you run into a banana peel or a hazard like that where you would just shake a bit continue a little and then spin around out of control which is STUPID!
    -Like MK64, the Time Trails are very strict on how you can save the ghosts, like on Boo Lake if you bump into just one small edge of the stage it will immediately prevent you from saving the Ghost.
    -I didn't like Luigi's voice or his winning pose (I know, very nit-picky of me)
    -Also Nit-Picky but seriously, another giant Cheep-Cheep floating over the celebration stage. I am so glad they too that stupid thing out of Double-Dash and Mario Kart games beyond that.
    -Credits are un-skip-able, which is annoying, especially when the credit music is crap when compared to MK64's amazing credit music.

    Overall, This is a Mario Kart i'd probably would say to skip unless you find it for a great deal.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2015
    0
    There is absolutely nothing good about this stupid game. The tracks are lame, the controls are messy and very hard to control, characters haveThere is absolutely nothing good about this stupid game. The tracks are lame, the controls are messy and very hard to control, characters have nothing special because they suck and the music is simply horrible. Overall this game is a monstrosity to the gameboy and not even worth a rent. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

2
2
#2 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2001
5
#5 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2001