Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Game Boy Advance

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to theAn evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to the witch's castle. Guide this unlikely bunch through an abundance of minigames such as Border Jump and Mystery Carts. Combine the powers of Mario and Luigi to pull off special tag-team moves. Immerse yourself in this bright, cartoonish, and humorous world, complete with hit music featured in previous Mario games. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. AceGamez
    100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  2. What will keep you playing through all that time is not just all the neat moves or the excellent graphics but the well-crafted and humorous story.
  3. A rarity in the gaming world; a game that brings a smile to your face by not taking itself seriously, and at the same time keep you on your toes gameplay-wise.
  4. A real surprise - if you liked "Paper Mario" on N64 you'll love this. It's funny, enjoyable and capable of eating up hours on end. [GamesMaster]
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    One of those games you cherish playing - and avoid completing because you just don't want it to end. [Jan 2003, p.93]
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    88
    Everything your typical RPG is not - fast-paced, action-oriented, colorful and lighthearted - yet it's the best game the genre has seen on the GBA. [Jan 2004, p.162]
  7. On the whole, Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga's got a solid Zelda vibe: it's polished, it flows nicely without being too restrictive, and it offers a distinct style of gameplay, all presented with a lot of charm and a laidback sense of humor that doesn't try too hard.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Lam
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of the game boy advance taking advantage of its graphic. Leave it to Nintendo to deliver this year's most fun-fill pack of advanture. Go out and buy this one, you'll be sure to love it. Expand
  2. ShadowZero
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    It's great!
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapableIncredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible. Expand
  4. DavidS.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    If you liked "paper mario" you will love this game because this is a sequal to paper mario, this is a must have game.
  5. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing. One of nintendos best. Super cute and ridiculous in a good way.
  6. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    just wonderful. to my knowledge, this is the only time you ever see mario working as a plumber in a game. the story makes no sense at all, butjust wonderful. to my knowledge, this is the only time you ever see mario working as a plumber in a game. the story makes no sense at all, but in a great way. they just keep throwing bizarre scenarios at you, and you laugh hysterically.

    seriously, if, like me, you did not grow up on RPGs, this is a game to smooth you into the genre. it's inviting, hilarious, fun, ridiculous, satisfying. you have some platforming, some tasks you have to complete with some dexterity in real time. i'd say this and stick of truth are RPG masterpieces perfect for non-RPG players.
    Expand
  7. JeffF.
    Jan 26, 2004
    2
    This game is dull, boring, and nowhere near as good as everone claims. I had it for a week then sold it on e-bay.

See all 62 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
#3 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003