Rayman Advance Game Boy Advance

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2001
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    This game is fantastic. One of the launch titles for the Gameboy Advance, this game truly demonstrates what the system is capable of. The enviroments are lush and beautiful, character animtions are fluid and stunning, the gameplay is difficult, but it has that "I can do it" feeling to it. If you like 2-D platformers, don't miss this game.
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Rayman passed untouchable in the GBA, similar to the PS adaptations that made the franchise important. What i want now, is too Ubisoft stop being lazy, and make more of this frantastic series.
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Rayman Advance is easily one of the most challenging GBA titles. For that reason, I nearly ripped of my finger in frustration (sarcasm.) But the graphics are colorful and the animation is jaw-dropping. I just wish that the game had more music in it that isn't so repetitive.
  4. SamTheOzzy
    Dec 11, 2002
    8
    Make no mistake this game is *hard* and there will be times when you want to throw down your GBA in frustration. However Rayman is an absolutley classic platformer with plenty of variation and huge reply value.
  5. HannahDS
    Nov 18, 2002
    9
    If you enjoyed the original Rayman game for the Jaguar, PC etc you'll love this game. It small enough to fit in your pocket and it takes HOURS to finish. You don't get tired of the colour and energy, and while there are some 'leaps of faith' involved you can get the hang of the game play easily. In responce to B. S. being a 'true gamer' doesn't make you If you enjoyed the original Rayman game for the Jaguar, PC etc you'll love this game. It small enough to fit in your pocket and it takes HOURS to finish. You don't get tired of the colour and energy, and while there are some 'leaps of faith' involved you can get the hang of the game play easily. In responce to B. S. being a 'true gamer' doesn't make you the god of all game knowlage, and Rayman Advance is fun for all ages and levels of skill (a great game for a player novice like me!). Expand
  6. B.S.
    Sep 18, 2002
    4
    All you do is throw fists that's it you can duck and jump and do what ever mario can do. The music is great untill you find there's only 2 or 4 songs in the game! if you go through this site you'll find a couple of reviews I'm a true gamer and I know what I'm talking about.
  7. Jul 4, 2011
    0
    Rayman Advance is easily one of the most challenging GBA titles. For that reason, I nearly ripped of my finger in frustration (sarcasm.) But the graphics are colorful and the animation is jaw-dropping. I just wish that the game had more music in it that isn't so repetitive.

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2001
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. GMR Magazine
    80
    It looks great and provides a decent challenge. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. The graphical detail throughout makes this a new watershed in handheld game design.