• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    It just shows that they've done such a good job of the "Legend" that the sight of the credits rolling up the screen made our hearts sink - we want more and we want it NOW. [May 2006, p.48]
  2. More variety in the level design, a save feature, and a few more weapons would have made the experience even more enjoyable. As it stands, Prophecy is a solid title worth your clams.
  3. The greatest thing about Tomb Raider: The Prophecy is that it captures the same scope and spirit of exploration that made the early Tomb Raider games so enjoyable.
  4. The digital controls are extremely precise and you won't find yourself falling to your death very often.
  5. It's one huge adventure with thirty-two levels in all, making it longer than many Gamecube games.
  6. 78
    Accurately modeling the features that have made this series so endearing and capturing the action from a surprisingly workable viewpoint, it's a tremendous traveling companion for anyone with a taste for adventure.
  7. Lara has a nice range of moves, but the game is pretty linear and straight-forward. What you have in the end is a nice looking but fairly standard game that will have the most appeal to Lara Croft and action-adventure fans.
  8. Nintendo Power
    Play control is smooth and intuitive. [Dec 2002, p.222]
  9. Her voice and 3D model may be missing but the spirit of adventure is definitely something not forgotten here.
  10. Game Informer
    When you're pulling switches, backtracking, and participating in boring combat through these large areas, you tire quickly. [Jan 2003, p.122]
  11. It does its job reasonably well, but blandness abounds, and the whole thing just looks like it's been rushed out to fulfil a contractual obligation, rather than a labour of love.
  12. 60
    Thanks to the lifeless puzzle design, TR quickly becomes dull-hit the switch, jump to another ledge, repeat.
  13. 60
    A likeable platform game, but as it progresses, its lack of variety makes it dull.
  14. With all the inexpensive technology available today, it grinds my nerves to see that Ubi Soft couldn't program in the ability to save on the cartridge. With passwords becoming less of a trend today, the game is severely hurt.
  15. 50
    What makes Tomb Raider: The Prophecy so dreary is the level design.
  16. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    Prophecy is little more than an endless procession of switches. [Feb 2003, p.158]
  17. Pocket Games
    Little more than an endless procession of switches. [Spring 2003, p.40]
  18. While the game is graphically impressive, and it has very tight controls, it's just no fun. Lara has been reduced to a simpleton, and so has her game.
  19. A totally underwhelming experience.

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. KiaC.
    Apr 12, 2003
    I haven't finished it yet but it is a challenge so far.
  2. RacheleT.
    Feb 22, 2003
    I am still on the 10th level...but enjoying it. I like the puzzle aspect of the game but would enjoy it more if I could save halfway through I am still on the 10th level...but enjoying it. I like the puzzle aspect of the game but would enjoy it more if I could save halfway through the level. Full Review »
  3. LazP.
    May 8, 2003
    This game rocks...nice graphics and playabilty...Very good!!!