• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheElusivePossom
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    Baten Kaitos gets a lot of things right: the soundtrack is brilliant, for starters, being a delicious mix of orchestral splendour and power metal. The pre-rendered backgrounds look great, and the character models suit them well. The battle system is certainly inventive and easy to get into, although perhaps unnecessarily involved (I've almost finished the game, and I haven't Baten Kaitos gets a lot of things right: the soundtrack is brilliant, for starters, being a delicious mix of orchestral splendour and power metal. The pre-rendered backgrounds look great, and the character models suit them well. The battle system is certainly inventive and easy to get into, although perhaps unnecessarily involved (I've almost finished the game, and I haven't paid any attention to the run/pairs combo system). The storyline is pretty well thought out and movement not as linear as some other RPGs. However, the voice-acting is unfortunately dire, but this can be turned off. Also, if you're the kind of person who wants to find everything in a game, then be prepared to take a LOT of pictures early on with the camera Magnus, because you'll kick yourself when you lack the essence of the first boss you faced. Expand
  2. GouletteD.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    This is gamecube masterpiece that every gamecuber must have. Unique and very addictive. Stunning visuals and near-perfect gameplay.
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    Baten Kaitos is conflicted and flawed but still manages to be an enjoyable game. The story is familiar, cliche, and predictable but well written and charming at the same time. The voice acting is horrid but you can turn it off. The environments are often gorgeous but character animations are stiff and awkward. The card battle system is as refreshingly different as it is deep but alsoBaten Kaitos is conflicted and flawed but still manages to be an enjoyable game. The story is familiar, cliche, and predictable but well written and charming at the same time. The voice acting is horrid but you can turn it off. The environments are often gorgeous but character animations are stiff and awkward. The card battle system is as refreshingly different as it is deep but also flawed and frequently frustrating. The only thing that doesn't have anything detracting from it would be the score, which is solid across the board. Perhaps the best card in it's hand is that it's an actual RPG on the Gamecube. That alone is reason enough for owners of the system (or the Wii) to check it out if they have the opportunity. Expand
  4. AthrunZ.
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Loved. Must have.
  5. AustinR.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I loved it....the graphics were amazing,and the gameplay was great......I LOVE THIS RPG!!!!
  6. CarlC.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Near perfect. Best RPG I've ever played.
  7. KatieH.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    The only bad thing about this game are the VOICE ACTORS. Oh my god, it sounds like it was recorded in a toilet bowl.
  8. KilioF.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    Great.
  9. JosefW.
    May 18, 2005
    9
    Truly a beautiful game. A Master Piece.
  10. alcaponeDonking
    Dec 18, 2004
    2
    This is is soo rubbish maaaaannn. the graphics are great but apart from dat the gameplay and story is SHHHHHH$%^*T. The voice over will anyoo the hell out of yah.
  11. JonathanZ.
    Feb 13, 2005
    6
    As I played Baten Kaitos: Eternal Wings and Lost Ocean for the first hour, I was blown away by the beautiful backgrounds, each almost a work of art. (Rather than being full 3-D, they
  12. Ellix
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    This game managed to leave a lasting impression on me due to its amazing graphics, and innovative card battling system (which I originally received mixed reviews from). However the flaw to some is that the story and characters are not the greatest, so someone who isn't very patient and expects tons of plot-twisters and action will be affected negatively. However the story didn't This game managed to leave a lasting impression on me due to its amazing graphics, and innovative card battling system (which I originally received mixed reviews from). However the flaw to some is that the story and characters are not the greatest, so someone who isn't very patient and expects tons of plot-twisters and action will be affected negatively. However the story didn't keep me from having a great experience with this RPG. Expand
  13. KrystalB.
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    A delightfully epic and original game, though perhaps at times more original than actually good. Overall, though, definitely a must-play.
  14. Billy
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Only other rpg that comes close is tales of symphonia. must buy.
  15. YukiS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Baten Kaitos is an amazing rpg game that I became obsessed with the moment I watched the intro. The score is amazing and vibrant, ranging from slow classical to speedy almost rock. The graphics are spectacular, and the charactor development takes you in to the game. I admit to throwing pillows at the t.v. when a particurally annoying scene came. The card-style fighting system is Baten Kaitos is an amazing rpg game that I became obsessed with the moment I watched the intro. The score is amazing and vibrant, ranging from slow classical to speedy almost rock. The graphics are spectacular, and the charactor development takes you in to the game. I admit to throwing pillows at the t.v. when a particurally annoying scene came. The card-style fighting system is challenging (I still haven't gotton the combo system thing down yet). What really pulled me into the game were the graphics and the settings. The intro is amazing, and really gives you a taste for what's to come. I recommend it to anyone who loves rpg's, and to everyone who isn't a big fan, either. Expand
  16. JohnG.
    Jan 29, 2005
    8
    I love the battle System in this game! the fact that you get to use the cards to battle is cool.
  17. RyanM.
    Dec 19, 2004
    9
    Compare this to other recent rpg's, and you realize just how awesome this whole game is. graphically it is incredible, and it also has a unique new battle style. don't confuse "card game" with yu-gi-oh. ignorant people will dismiss this game for that point alone. baten kaitos has everything we need in an rpg. if tales of sympthonia didn't exist, then there would be nothingCompare this to other recent rpg's, and you realize just how awesome this whole game is. graphically it is incredible, and it also has a unique new battle style. don't confuse "card game" with yu-gi-oh. ignorant people will dismiss this game for that point alone. baten kaitos has everything we need in an rpg. if tales of sympthonia didn't exist, then there would be nothing comparable to baten kaitos and it would deserve a 10. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This game has a magical atmosphere that surrounds all. Everything contribute to this. Artwork, story (a bit cliche but charming, intriguing and the most interesting plot twists i've seen in a game of this type) and the (amazing, brilliant, virtuous) music. It's not the typical role game, the battle system is weird, hard to dominate at the end of the game but easy to get into and veryThis game has a magical atmosphere that surrounds all. Everything contribute to this. Artwork, story (a bit cliche but charming, intriguing and the most interesting plot twists i've seen in a game of this type) and the (amazing, brilliant, virtuous) music. It's not the typical role game, the battle system is weird, hard to dominate at the end of the game but easy to get into and very attractive. Also, if you can't dominate it as good as you would want to you still won't get stuck in any part of the game, because of it's difficulty. It's very well adjusted, with some thrilling spikes. The duration of the storyline is about 35 hours, and with all the secrets it reaches 100 hours.This game won't leave you indifferent. You'll probably love it. Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    [Spanish] El juego está bastante bien aunque tira demasiado de clichés para los personajes, en algunas ocasiones faltos de carisma, sobre todo Kalas, el protagonista, el juego es bastante preciosista y la verdad es que pese a que su sistema de batallas es algo confuso y deja mucho al azar el juego merece la pena ser probado al menos .
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    I had high hopes for this game, having heard generally positive things. However i couldn't help but be disapointed. The story is incredibly bland and cliche and the characters are boring. At first I liked the battle system. It seemed to filled with good ideas. But unfortuneatly it got worse instead of better as it went along. You get less time to make desicions. And eventually it feelsI had high hopes for this game, having heard generally positive things. However i couldn't help but be disapointed. The story is incredibly bland and cliche and the characters are boring. At first I liked the battle system. It seemed to filled with good ideas. But unfortuneatly it got worse instead of better as it went along. You get less time to make desicions. And eventually it feels like you have no idea what cards you'll end up with. I must admit the music and graphics are good. I however feel the package as a whole did not deliver. Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    This game has all that makes a wonderful game. I was charmed by its combat system that is original, yet easy to understand. The graphics are really good for a game of this generation, and the story is wonderful.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. 8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 782]
  2. 80
    An enchanting tapestry of stylistic design, a deep and unconventional battle system, and fifty hours-plus of rewarding game play.
  3. While the story and characters are unfortunately very weak, Baten Kaitos is easy to recommend to anyone looking for an RPG that focuses strongly on gameplay rather than storytelling.