User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This first game i ever played of DBZ was Budokai 2 but Budokai 1 is one game that i have to remember to be.... ONE OF THE BEST DBZ GAME EVER!!!! Go get it right now if your a DBZ fan.
  2. ScottH.
    Apr 22, 2004
    2
    Simply put this game is a discrace to all fighting games... it's too slow paced too incredibly easy and the only people who actually go out and buy it are dragonball z fans.
  3. MuhammadA.
    Nov 29, 2003
    0
    Not a good game at all!.
  4. RjIce
    Nov 28, 2003
    4
    Its okay. But to easy. should be longer and items should be easier to get.
  5. PatriciaA.
    Nov 12, 2003
    5
    This game is OK but it's too easy who ever came up with this game please make the next one Harder! To add on I beat it on hard mode too easy.
  6. DevinA.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    From most DBZ games i played in the past. They made the graphics, controling, and story. Budokai beats all fighting games.
  7. ForrestB.
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    the only down-side is it takes for ever to get a dragonball but when you get it its worth it
  8. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The budokai and the tenkaichi series made my childhood alongside with the anime they are based one. One of the greatest fighting games, if you really are a dbz fan. Go get it!
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. 75
    A game with simplistic fighting and a tedious unlocking system, but it's a polished and faithful presentation of Dragon Ball Z with a fair amount of content.
  2. Easily the best game of their franchise, though mechanical engine flaws prevents this game to compete against the top brawlers such as the mighty "Soul Calibur."
  3. If you don't lust after balls of dragons, you'll see nothing more than a mediocre fighter with a really confusing plot and characters in dire need of haircuts. [Dec 2003, p.159]