User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2015
    10
    I got this game for my Gamecube when I was 14 and I just loved it. Yes, you would like to play as Neo, in the beginning. However, the best feature of it is that it makes you feel vulnerable. This is The Matrix, and you are just an intruder. You are able to dominate some tricks, some simple enemies. But you gotta run from an Agent Smith or you're dead, just like in the movie.
    Some years
    I got this game for my Gamecube when I was 14 and I just loved it. Yes, you would like to play as Neo, in the beginning. However, the best feature of it is that it makes you feel vulnerable. This is The Matrix, and you are just an intruder. You are able to dominate some tricks, some simple enemies. But you gotta run from an Agent Smith or you're dead, just like in the movie.
    Some years later, I played Matrix: The Path of Neo. I got very disappointed, and I prefer by far Enter the Matrix.
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    Enter the matrix gives the perspective of two side characters, Niobe and Ghost. The game takes place during the second installment of the matrix series, matrix reloaded, taking you from the classic "Morpheus falls off the truck and onto the car" to destroying the power plant to help Neo get to the "father of the matrix." This will also explain why the Logos was downed in the thirdEnter the matrix gives the perspective of two side characters, Niobe and Ghost. The game takes place during the second installment of the matrix series, matrix reloaded, taking you from the classic "Morpheus falls off the truck and onto the car" to destroying the power plant to help Neo get to the "father of the matrix." This will also explain why the Logos was downed in the third installment, Matrix Revolution. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    As a 9-year old, I enjoyed playing Enter the Matrix back in Christmas 2003. I was so good at playing action video games like Zelda, Starcraft and this.
  4. VideoCritic
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This is a grreat matrix game. I liked that you could play 2 different people in different senarios. it was fun intutive and had great controls. even the storyline of the game fit in with the movies.
  5. EricL.
    Apr 29, 2004
    8
    This is a fun game for fan's of the movie. it's kinda of renter since you can finish it in under 10 hours. good graphics, nothing great, the best part of the game was the hacking.
  6. PersonthatDoesNotLikeThisGame
    Apr 2, 2004
    1
    This game is too repetitive. If it DOES try something new, it still sucks. It is just too glitchy. I would have gave it at least an 8 if it wasn't buggy, and if it had more gameplay variety.
  7. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    1
    This game is not awesome. This game is a poorly put together piece of rubbish designed to grab as much money as possible. The controls were clunky, the graphics were ugly at best and the levels were boring and repetitive. The slow-mo fighting is slightly fun the first time you do it. By the 20th time it is just irritating. This game derserves to be cast into a sea of lava.
  8. MikeG.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    This game is awsome!! you get to run though levels shooting and kicking agents in slow motion. Man that's cool. and it supplies a lot of matrixy action (besides that).
  9. Chris
    Oct 20, 2003
    4
    This is the worst game that I have ever played !!! Not because of the action (its really good) but it crashed on my GC !! the stack heap overloaded - this is NOT a good piece of software. Please Atari - release this game WITHOUT any bugs and I'll give it a 9. Hacking (extra game) is fun !
  10. NanoK.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    This game is the greatest stress reliever of all time, a great game for diehard Matrix fans like myself.
  11. NevinF.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    It is the best game i have everv played. i was very surprised at how well it was made. it captures the movie greatly and makes it fell like you are right in the game.
  12. BrendanO.
    Sep 26, 2003
    8
    This game is great!!! The martial arts are awesome, the controls are pretty simple, and the slow-mo is cool. It does suffer from repetition, but you can hardly notice it. I am a big fan of martial art games. And this is one is great. I highly suggest this game if you like martial arts. P.S. subscribe to Nintendo Power. It is great.
  13. Josh
    Aug 31, 2003
    9
    I saw Andrew's review and it's stupid. He said its "the worst driving game ever" maybe its because ITS NOT a driving game. Its a fighting and shooting game, which its one of the best of. Critic's also say that it handles bad with the controls. I thought it was fine, nothing wrong with the controls. I was amazed with the amount of different fighting moves there were. Truly a I saw Andrew's review and it's stupid. He said its "the worst driving game ever" maybe its because ITS NOT a driving game. Its a fighting and shooting game, which its one of the best of. Critic's also say that it handles bad with the controls. I thought it was fine, nothing wrong with the controls. I was amazed with the amount of different fighting moves there were. Truly a great game. Expand
  14. AndrewF.
    Jul 24, 2003
    6
    The action levels are good if slightly repetetive, but the driving levels are a piece of crap, plain and simple. Worst driving game ever. I agree with the reviews, this was blatantly rushed to tie in with the release of the movie, why didn't they just wait and release it in November for Matrix 3?
  15. TimH.
    Jul 21, 2003
    6
    Not bad except for the glaring racial subtext which was way more obvious in this game than in the films. Did anyone else notice how all the bad guys were white and the two protagonists both of color? Anyway... The other thing that started to bother me after a while was killing all the cops over and over again. I know the premise of the movie allows for the unremorseful killing of Not bad except for the glaring racial subtext which was way more obvious in this game than in the films. Did anyone else notice how all the bad guys were white and the two protagonists both of color? Anyway... The other thing that started to bother me after a while was killing all the cops over and over again. I know the premise of the movie allows for the unremorseful killing of 'innocent' cops and security officers but it gets pretty nauseating. Expand
  16. AlexR.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    U know whats funny? the critics all dissed the game and said it sucked, and the gamers all say its good. hmm....I think i will trust a gamer over a critic.
  17. Anonomousguy
    Jun 18, 2003
    6
    Unfortunately Enter the Matrix is merely an OK game. Although the graphics are pretty good and the story is interesting, this game gets old pretty fast. After a while most of the levels fall into a pattern and some of them are utterly pointless. If you are a huge fan of the matrix (like myself) then you should definitely buy this game. If not, you should probably just rent it for a few Unfortunately Enter the Matrix is merely an OK game. Although the graphics are pretty good and the story is interesting, this game gets old pretty fast. After a while most of the levels fall into a pattern and some of them are utterly pointless. If you are a huge fan of the matrix (like myself) then you should definitely buy this game. If not, you should probably just rent it for a few days (it only takes that long to beat). Expand
  18. ToddM.
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    This is the best fighting game since 007 Goldeneye. I recommend this to anyone who loves the Matrix or jut plain fighting.
  19. JaJa
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    This game is da the best.Its worth buying this wicked game. Its game of the year.
  20. BillR.
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    LOVE IT cant stop... It is so much better with out the codes..
  21. FilazaferX
    Jun 11, 2003
    8
    The reviewers are right, the controls stink, the driving parts are lame, and with a little more time this could have been much better. With that said, EVEN WITH ALL IT'S FLAWS THIS IS STILL ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED. I recommend playing it on easy. That way you can speed through and you feel like you are really an untouchable bad-ass from the movie. In the Matrix that The reviewers are right, the controls stink, the driving parts are lame, and with a little more time this could have been much better. With that said, EVEN WITH ALL IT'S FLAWS THIS IS STILL ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED. I recommend playing it on easy. That way you can speed through and you feel like you are really an untouchable bad-ass from the movie. In the Matrix that is the way it is supposed to be anyway. P.S. If you see an agent, just run. Seriously. Expand
  22. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Screw the critics! Im not a die hard matrix fan but this is a great game. a perfect balance between gunplay and kung fu, this game has everything. i think some of the critics are out of their minds, and there is nothing wrong with the controls!
  23. EdmundR.
    Jun 9, 2003
    9
    Cool.
  24. J.R.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    It's a kick ass game all the way. I wish it was alot longer though. The new moves on it are the best I've seen in a long time.
  25. J.R.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    Amazing
  26. SeanK.
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    Ok, for all those people who say this game is crap... Back off, the game does well in what it sets out to do. It flavorfully recreates the feel of the movies and puts you in controll of all the sweet moves you saw in the movies and said to your friend "Sweet fornicating feces! That was too brutal!" (at least, thats what I said...) All in all, I think Enter the Matrix is a neccesary game Ok, for all those people who say this game is crap... Back off, the game does well in what it sets out to do. It flavorfully recreates the feel of the movies and puts you in controll of all the sweet moves you saw in the movies and said to your friend "Sweet fornicating feces! That was too brutal!" (at least, thats what I said...) All in all, I think Enter the Matrix is a neccesary game for those of you who loved the movies and wanted more! Ive only played it on PC and Game Cube so I cant say much for the other two systems... However, I think if you want to buy it... Pass on the PC version and get a console one. As the game needs to run fast to be fully appreciated... (subject to change if you PC is crazy awesome) Music is perfect, al the best from the second film, as well as new music to add to it. Best of all, its not that lame music done by "Todays popular artists!" (blah, give me good orchestral any day) In conclusion, the game is good, this is my opinion, and there is a nice little multiplayer feature you can unlock in the cheat mode. If you dont like my opinion, then you dont have to play the game! However, for those of you who want a pretty well made action game that will continually suprise you with what seems like ENDLESS amounts of moves, get this game. It is a wonderful experience. Sincerely, Sean K. Expand
  27. RyanP.
    May 29, 2003
    8
    This game is really awesome. But I find a lot of hacks that don´t work. Plus, I can only get so far in the hacking. In order to go further I need a high speed modem. Or whatever it´s called. I don´t have one, I don´t know when I can get one. The fighting scenes are ok. But I´ve seen better, and the way Niobe, and Ghost run and climb makes them look like This game is really awesome. But I find a lot of hacks that don´t work. Plus, I can only get so far in the hacking. In order to go further I need a high speed modem. Or whatever it´s called. I don´t have one, I don´t know when I can get one. The fighting scenes are ok. But I´ve seen better, and the way Niobe, and Ghost run and climb makes them look like gaylords. The storyline is awesome and action packed. One more thing to close this up. I find it rather strange when you shoot someone. They don´t have certain points that make them act differently. They have about two or three different shooting points that make them react to the shot differently. For example, I´m in the powerplant, covering Niobe. I decide to play bag tag with a sniper. When I shoot him in the crotch, instead of doubling over, he flies back as if I shot him in the chest. Other than these, the game is awesome. I rate it 8. Expand
  28. Uter
    May 27, 2003
    3
    Stop buying crap games people!! It's sold over a million copies already. Visit metacritic and do your research before purchasing! Enter the matrix is yet another example of an awesome license gone to waste. They must have spent all their budget on the brand name rights.
  29. RalfyG.
    May 27, 2003
    10
    A complete game.... At first it felt as though it lacked but soon after getting use to the controls... All the pieces game together great concept of side story for Niobe... This is worth the money time and effort and gives you more of a full view of the Matrix story... Just perfect just like the movies...
  30. GregS.
    May 25, 2003
    4
    Throughly disappointing game, is this all they could do with three years fo work? I'm a big fan of shiny's work but this game simply doesn'ty do it's source mateiral justice, with pathetic AI, blocky graphics, bad motion capture and simply button masning gameplay it's simply not fun to play. The only remdeming feature is the focus mode and the hand to hand combat Throughly disappointing game, is this all they could do with three years fo work? I'm a big fan of shiny's work but this game simply doesn'ty do it's source mateiral justice, with pathetic AI, blocky graphics, bad motion capture and simply button masning gameplay it's simply not fun to play. The only remdeming feature is the focus mode and the hand to hand combat moves, these makw the game fun for a while. Expand
  31. Ceeco
    May 23, 2003
    5
    An utterly disappointing, rushed game. The best things about Enter the Matrix are the high-production value FMVs. The focus/bullet-time feature is fun, but it's executed no better than in Max Payne and Dead to Rights. Character animations are completely laughable, outdoing even running-in-diapers Gabe (from Syphon Filter). The driving levels are absolutely horrendous. The graphical An utterly disappointing, rushed game. The best things about Enter the Matrix are the high-production value FMVs. The focus/bullet-time feature is fun, but it's executed no better than in Max Payne and Dead to Rights. Character animations are completely laughable, outdoing even running-in-diapers Gabe (from Syphon Filter). The driving levels are absolutely horrendous. The graphical environments are so low-poly and poorly textured that I had to do a double-take to make sure I wasn't playing on my PlayStation ONE. It's too easy, too linear, and too shallow. And it's a shame, because if Shiny Entertainment and the Wachowskis had just spent at least another year really polishing the game, it might've been able to rival Rare's Goldeneye as the best movie-licensed game ever. (FYI, Goldeneye for N64 came out a full TWO YEARS after the movie, and it was still a monstrous hit.) Instead, we're left with another merely adequate movie-licensed game. Expand
  32. CarlosS.
    May 17, 2003
    10
    It's wicked fill in some of the stuff that was in the matrix reloaded.
  33. KevinS.
    May 16, 2003
    10
    I have this game, and i now only play this game. Slowmotion is very cool. And there is enough action. It just is a topgame. I am now going back to my NGC to play more :D
  34. Noah
    May 16, 2003
    6
    Great concept, great graphics, cool cutscenes, and repetative gunplay, easy melee fighting, mediocre sound effects, cool moves that you will never get to use much less want too and short levels with lots of loading times. The game had one of the best licenses to make the best action game using bullet time but they failed to make the game fun enough to keep someone entertained. The Great concept, great graphics, cool cutscenes, and repetative gunplay, easy melee fighting, mediocre sound effects, cool moves that you will never get to use much less want too and short levels with lots of loading times. The game had one of the best licenses to make the best action game using bullet time but they failed to make the game fun enough to keep someone entertained. The targeting system completely eliminates any use for the bullet time. When doing cool moves you'll notice that the camera follows you, allowing you to somehow circle people while diving in mid air. characters movements are just down right silly looking, they run like the have a stiff back and when they climb ladders or fences, they look like they have something very uncomfortable shoved where the sun doesn't shine. In the end, they game leaves you dissapointed, if you want a true Matrix experience in a game, Get Max Payne for the PC and download the latest version of the Kung Fu mod. Expand
  35. ChrisJ.
    May 16, 2003
    9
    The reviews you have read saying that this game is a let down are completely wrong and un-justified. Many of the reviews are of the beta version for P.C. This game is Great. The gameplay is incredible. Slowing down time to fight hand to hand and run on walls is incredible. The scenes from the film are phenomonal. If you have this game turned on to Progressive Scan than be prepared to be The reviews you have read saying that this game is a let down are completely wrong and un-justified. Many of the reviews are of the beta version for P.C. This game is Great. The gameplay is incredible. Slowing down time to fight hand to hand and run on walls is incredible. The scenes from the film are phenomonal. If you have this game turned on to Progressive Scan than be prepared to be blown away. The graphics with or without progressive scan are top notch. I will admit the driving could have been better though. Overall this game is a ton of fun whether you are a fan or not. Check it out. The replay factor is huge, having two characters and numerous hacks to even make the game 2 player. I give it a 9 out of 10, which is high for me because i am a rough grader. Expand
  36. HarryH.
    May 16, 2003
    2
    Looks like sh.t, plays like sh.t. Watch the movie, ignore this crap.
  37. D.Sidwick
    May 16, 2003
    7
    Well, this game serves well if you are looking for an easy-to-play Matrix-experience. Where it really fails to deliver is in terms of gameplay and replay-value. This game is extremly short; it took me around 3,5 hours for playing it through for the first time. The actual gameplay is very straightforwarded and repetitive. It's fun to play and watch, but in the end it leaves you kind Well, this game serves well if you are looking for an easy-to-play Matrix-experience. Where it really fails to deliver is in terms of gameplay and replay-value. This game is extremly short; it took me around 3,5 hours for playing it through for the first time. The actual gameplay is very straightforwarded and repetitive. It's fun to play and watch, but in the end it leaves you kind of unsatisfied. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Enter the Matrix isn't a perfect slice of interactive entertainment, but it does provide at least a dozen hours of action-packed fun and serves as a clever vehicle to expand on the events in "The Matrix Reloaded."
  2. Merely an okay game that benefits greatly from its movie license. [June 2003, p.106]
  3. Its game play suffers from repetition, but this two-disc technomelange has tons of great stuff for "Matrix" fans. [July 2003, p.142]