Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem GameCube

Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This horror story spans generations, so you must relive the blood-soaked history while conjuring spells, solving puzzles, and slaying supernatural beasts. Whether you're creeping around as the Roman Centurion, Cambodian villager, or any of the other characters, the psychological thrillerThis horror story spans generations, so you must relive the blood-soaked history while conjuring spells, solving puzzles, and slaying supernatural beasts. Whether you're creeping around as the Roman Centurion, Cambodian villager, or any of the other characters, the psychological thriller will challenge you to use your mind as well as your might. The story is historically based and features many significant real-world events and locations, including the blood-soaked fields of the Somme, the jungle-ridden temples of Angkor Wat, the deserts of Persia, and the haunted vales of Rhode Island. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Developers of 3D games should study the camerawork in "Eternal Darkness." It's quite simply a stunning technical achievement.
  2. It's the best game on the GameCube and the best game I've played in a very long time.
  3. Brilliant, stunning, the best thing on the GameCube since I dropped my soiled undies on it two months ago before I went to bed...It blows "Resident Evil" out of the water.
  4. You're not going to find anything like it that outclasses it at all, it's incredible.
  5. You should buy this game because it's frightening in a way that few games ever have been, and because it's a vividly explored, engrossing narrative the likes of which few out-and-out storytellers like "Final Fantasy" can compete with.
  6. I literally got the bejeebers scared out of me when I played it during the midnight hour. Any game that gets under my skin like this one gets my seal of approval.
  7. The enemies are repetitive, the puzzles are simple, and players aren't given much freedom to explore, but what is here is fun to play -- thanks to an interesting story, excellent sound effects, and well-animated visuals.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 68
  2. Negative: 4 out of 68
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any otherThis game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any other horror game past or present has even come close to this one. A classic. Expand
  2. JimS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today it wouldnt have gotten a 92." That's true of pretty much any game. Duh. That's like saying, "Remember, while Pac-Man might have been good in its day, it is pretty lame now." Idiot! At any rate, this game is -still- an excellent game. It is definitely worth at least one play-through. Play it in the dark by yourself, and I guarantee it will scare the hell out of you. The story is great and all of the many different plotlines are tied together masterfully. Try it, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. May 7, 2015
    10
    I played Eternal Darkness about 1 year ago. Unfortunately I never got a GameCube, so I used to play it with the well-known Dolphin emulator. II played Eternal Darkness about 1 year ago. Unfortunately I never got a GameCube, so I used to play it with the well-known Dolphin emulator. I was curious to try a few games for the GameCube, and I knew the fame and prestige that Eternal Darkness has, so I decided to start playing it.

    In my opinion the plot of Eternal Darkness is strange, but especially beautiful. I loved a lot the time gap from one era to another throughout the history and events of humanity, and amazingly all the stories will have a final perfect consistency. The characters are very well characterized, and each of them has a story to tell. Another thing that struck me is the atmosphere: I am not a big reader, but is palpable the reference to works of H.P. Lovecraft's literature and mythology, as the Ancients, the occult, spirituality, madness. Beautiful also the ending: a cruel but true reality of how human life is influenced by events older and greater than it, and how mysterious forces manipulate its fate. It is an anti-anthropocentric story: the man is in the universe, but not in its center, in other words.

    Like the plot, although the gameplay of Eternal Darkness is extraordinary. The first thing that catches one's eye is the special combat system: you can actually decide where to hit the target, to the head, to the body, or to the arms or legs, and according to the type of enemy the attack will have more or less effect. The combat system is in fact impeccably, and it must be considered the wide range of weapons available, from melee weapons to firearms, ancient and modern, and regardless of type of weapons the combat system is fun and structured. The use of magic with the special book not only allows you to perform powerful attacks but also to enchant weapons, or to interact with the environment to uncover secrets. Some types of spells need to be created by the player, through the combination of the runes. Among other things, the manner in which spells are related to each other by color, is a whole order of the strengths and weaknesses of the Ancients, and each color reflects the kind of power of the god. However what makes Eternal Darkness truly original is the indicator of mental sanity. Yes, because let's be honest: Eternal Darkness may be frightening, but not a lot. However the character's sanity, indicated by a green bar, it may decrease during the game and when it is empty the game begins to give birth to strange consequences: the heads of the statues that move, blood dripping from the walls, parts of the body that fall without a reason and many others. All this, beyond if the game is scary or not, surely leaves the player with his mouth open, because of unpredictability of events, and I personally found the addition of this expedient in the gameplay something simply brilliant. A special note for the battle against the final boss, that is beautiful and challenging. Really the gameplay of Eternal Darkness is beautiful, original and fun. It is as it should be the gameplay of each good game. If I have to say something that I didn't like some puzzles are a bit too frustrating and inconsistent, but they are relatively few compared to others.

    From a technical point of view, Eternal Darkness maybe not excel, but still boasts a pretty good graphics and well made in 2002, especially considering that the game was originally designed for Nintendo 64. A very nice soundtrack too. Speaking of my experience with the emulator Dolphin, Eternal Darkness is the game that gave me less trouble: 50 frames, few bugs, and an exceptional stability.

    Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem is a great game, well made, balanced and original. A masterpiece of thriller and horror and surely a killer app of the GameCube, and one of the best games of the early 2000s.
    Expand
  4. KymP.
    Feb 15, 2005
    9
    1. Nintendo didnt make this game...Silicon Knighst did... so all you cokcs who are saying Nintendo should stick kiddie stuff should just shut 1. Nintendo didnt make this game...Silicon Knighst did... so all you cokcs who are saying Nintendo should stick kiddie stuff should just shut the hell up and let the informed people talk. 2. This game is brilliant. 3. Anyone who can't at least acknowledge its well handled gameplay and fantastic story telling should probably go back to playing Driver 3 and The Getaway - 'worst controls EVER! (on foot)' Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2015
    9
    An expertly created game, this game instills fear into the hearts of gamers. The sanity system is something that will truly make you questionAn expertly created game, this game instills fear into the hearts of gamers. The sanity system is something that will truly make you question the game and the gameplay is innovative, fresh and original. I have heard complaints of clunky controls, but I would rather complain that is how the survival horror genre plays out (for most survival horror games from the day this game was released had clunky controls). The story is truly excellent and has much food for thought. The only true complaint I can find here is that the boss battles of this game are something that you wished were better executed and that the game is rather easy even for a beginner. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    A truly remarkable game for it's time. Probably one of the most original games I've ever played. Visuals are OK for the most part, but not asA truly remarkable game for it's time. Probably one of the most original games I've ever played. Visuals are OK for the most part, but not as good as they could be. Voice acting is very good, narrative is a bit confusing but pretty good (provided you get what's going on.) Atmosphere is truly where this game shines. A true horror game that does everything it can to mess with your mind. Overall: Eternal Darkness is truly a unique game that really can not be fairly compared with anything else, but if I had to try, I would say that it is a cross between Alone in the Dark and Amnesia. A great game and an unforgettable experience, but it could have use a little brushing up in terms of the visuals. Expand
  7. EricS.
    Jan 12, 2004
    0
    Fun for the first 15 minutes, Eternal Darkness coudn't hold my interest. This is an example of a game that focuses all on graphics and Fun for the first 15 minutes, Eternal Darkness coudn't hold my interest. This is an example of a game that focuses all on graphics and plot, yet ignores gameplay. The "original" combat is slow pased, pointless, repetative, and overall, boring. To make matters worse, ED has an increadibly clunky controls which takes hours to get used to, and for the whole game it feels like the characters are walking around in lead shoes! The most overly hyped game in years, Nintendo should just stick to kiddy games and leave everything else to Sony and Microsoft. Collapse

See all 68 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#6 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002