Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This horror story spans generations, so you must relive the blood-soaked history while conjuring spells, solving puzzles, and slaying supernatural beasts. Whether you're creeping around as the Roman Centurion, Cambodian villager, or any of the other characters, the psychological thriller will challenge you to use your mind as well as your might. The story is historically based and features many significant real-world events and locations, including the blood-soaked fields of the Somme, the jungle-ridden temples of Angkor Wat, the deserts of Persia, and the haunted vales of Rhode Island. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. A game that plays you with its unique sanity effects, that forces you to adapt to over a dozen characters and that holds no punches when it comes to the horror of Lovecraftian agents plotting out demise, Eternal Darkness will be a significant milestone in gaming for years to come.
  2. A cinematic feel and the trappings of a supernatural thriller. [16 Aug 2002, p.75]
  3. Brilliant, stunning, the best thing on the GameCube since I dropped my soiled undies on it two months ago before I went to bed...It blows "Resident Evil" out of the water.
  4. You're not going to find anything like it that outclasses it at all, it's incredible.
  5. If you have a semi-firm grasp on reality, don't mind the machinations of evil tugging at your own sanity factor, then you will enjoy this puzzle-riddled romp.
  6. I literally got the bejeebers scared out of me when I played it during the midnight hour. Any game that gets under my skin like this one gets my seal of approval.
  7. The enemies are repetitive, the puzzles are simple, and players aren't given much freedom to explore, but what is here is fun to play -- thanks to an interesting story, excellent sound effects, and well-animated visuals.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any other horror game past or present has even come close to this one. A classic. Expand
  2. EfraimN.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome. Spine-tingling, and downright scary in some places, Eternal Darkness is verything a great game could hope to be. Powerful, emotive voice acting, superb scenery, well-crafted gameplay and the awesome soundtrack- this game has it all. It left me with a feeling of sadness when I'd finished it, sadness that this game had finally ended. And there aren't many games that do that- games that are so involving that the player feels a sense of loss when he realises that it's finally over. The insanity effects make this a game that no-one who's played it can rightly forget. A brilliant achievement, Nintendo. I can only hope it's going to have a sequal. Expand
  3. BrianC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    As far as I am concerned, the best GameCube game ever. (Excluding the Ocarina of time Re-Release) From the Sanity System, to the chilling sound effects. Pair this game with surround sound and the lights off, and you'll be twitching all night. Expand
  4. M.W.
    Oct 31, 2003
    9
    Great adventure and the script beats zelda anyday.sanity system is fantastic, even if it is a little gimmicky.
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This game managed to create a scary overall atmosphere, yet always made me want to explore every dark corner of all the featured locations. Plot, fighting system, music, sound effects,... everything's top notch. There's only one little flaw: The enemies get quite difficult very soon and you might find yourself frustrated every now and then in the early parts of the game. Expand
  6. GamesBitch
    Aug 18, 2003
    8
    Spooky, puzzling and generally pretty damn challenging stuff. ( I did have to get some faq help though to complete)
  7. EricS.
    Jan 12, 2004
    0
    Fun for the first 15 minutes, Eternal Darkness coudn't hold my interest. This is an example of a game that focuses all on graphics and plot, yet ignores gameplay. The "original" combat is slow pased, pointless, repetative, and overall, boring. To make matters worse, ED has an increadibly clunky controls which takes hours to get used to, and for the whole game it feels like the characters are walking around in lead shoes! The most overly hyped game in years, Nintendo should just stick to kiddy games and leave everything else to Sony and Microsoft. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.