Ikaruga GameCube

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 25, 2004
    3
    Too hard.
  2. Mallfouf
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent game. Greatly recommend this game to anyone with some nostalgia of the old school, fun, and well made shooters.
  3. ChrisC.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This game is kick ass and all the people that say it sucks can go blow.
  4. JoshH.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    You just have to play it!!
  5. WilliamW.
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Excellent, a Master Piece . Brings back old school gaming. Just Play it, it rules!
  6. MrT.
    Sep 7, 2004
    8
    Zen balanced old school gameplay. Always enough to keep you constantly challenged, no matter how good you get. However if you are not the type who strives to get A++super ratings for levels (eg Viewtiful Joe, Devil may Cry, etc) then this may have slightly less appeal. Other than that, don't worry about comments regarding length of the game, your mind would melt if it was any longer, Zen balanced old school gameplay. Always enough to keep you constantly challenged, no matter how good you get. However if you are not the type who strives to get A++super ratings for levels (eg Viewtiful Joe, Devil may Cry, etc) then this may have slightly less appeal. Other than that, don't worry about comments regarding length of the game, your mind would melt if it was any longer, besides that, the replay value is immense, thats what this game is about. I would also ignore comments regarding difficulty, i would not trust any persons/magazines opinion if they say this is to hard (or can't get past the first level of this game as one mag review says above), leave these simple people to play the pre-school games, a challenge is what this game is and what many more games should be. Expand
  7. DemonicAngel
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    First, let us get one thing straight - I really, really hated playing this game. The 10 rating is entirely for the game's innovation, complexity and sheer beauty - unfortunately, these elements are showcased in a game which is so unbelievably hard, and relies so much on reflex, memorisation and persistence, that most normal people will probably give up before the end of the first First, let us get one thing straight - I really, really hated playing this game. The 10 rating is entirely for the game's innovation, complexity and sheer beauty - unfortunately, these elements are showcased in a game which is so unbelievably hard, and relies so much on reflex, memorisation and persistence, that most normal people will probably give up before the end of the first level. This is a game whose mechanics stretch back to times of yore, when games couldn't rely on graphics and sound, instead having to go all-out on pure challenge. Mortals, rent first [and try not to snap the disc in half ;) ]. Hardcore shooter fans of old will love it, and for such people it fully deserves the 10 rating. Expand
  8. GarrettL.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    I've played it so much I think it's beginning to consume my soul.
  9. JorgeD.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Best shooter game in a long time!
  10. MikeM.
    May 24, 2003
    10
    This games is the best of the shooters.
  11. QunchuanY.
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    This game has become a part of me...
  12. P.P.
    Jul 30, 2003
    8
    Very good.
  13. JohnDoe
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing in all qualities. Whether it's the beautiful design or great challenge, this game is a must-have for any gamer that wants a good challenge or that just wants to blow some stuff up. This game is a little short, but if it were to be any longer than a person would probably go insane of frustration before the end of the game.
  14. Best
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    One of the best classic remake games I ever played in a new console.
  15. Shinra
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    I have had a difficult time deciding on a rating for this game. The game is hard, of course... to a point. One of the main complaints I have against this game is the fact that the more you play, the more continues you get. Sure... it's a good idea in concept but they should have stopped at 5 or 6 continues. With the "Free Play" option you don't have to worry about dying anymore I have had a difficult time deciding on a rating for this game. The game is hard, of course... to a point. One of the main complaints I have against this game is the fact that the more you play, the more continues you get. Sure... it's a good idea in concept but they should have stopped at 5 or 6 continues. With the "Free Play" option you don't have to worry about dying anymore so if you just want to beat it and move on, you can and you can say it was easy simply because of the unlimited continues. If you are like me and love the challenge [I still haven't beaten the game in one continue yet {level 4=hard}.] Then you can't go wrong. With so many different ways to play the game [high score, dot eater, low score etc.] if the game was any longer, it would get boring. Thank goodness for the practice mode because it becomes your best friend if you are try to learn the subtle nuances of each level. The two player co-op in this game is awesome as long as he/she is skilled. [It's a drag when you are going through the level with a full combo only to have your friend shoot that lone black enemy you needed.] The intro will make you feel like a beginner, and that's the way it should be. It made me feel like I can do better, as I strived to increase my scores and combos in each level. I also love the ability to watch each stage being played perfectly [you can only get the intro for a stage that you have completed with 1 credit. Brilliant!] so that you can pick up a new strategy or maybe go through the level a little bit differently. The only stage I didn't totally love was level 4 due to the constantly tight spaces you were in. The level is fun, but you begin to feel a bit constricted due to everything on screen at once. The bosses in the game are fun to fight and [if you choose to fight them using reverse polarity] can become really intense. Each boss fight is a totally unique experience. In one, you are dodging/absorbing it's attacks while shooting it. Another has you open up it's hatch revealing it's weakness, flying between the hatch and weak point, and shooting it dodging bullets. Another has you on a rotating wheel of guns shooting you. I could go on, but you get the idea. One thing that is rather important [at least to me] is the area in which the ship will be destroyed. Unlike in most shooters where if any part of your ship gets shot/hit, it gets destroyed, the only part you have to worry about is the middle of your ship. That's right, if an enemy collides with your wing, you WON'T lose a life. This helps several times, and you can be a bit less cautious because of it. [In level 3 where the black and white ships are flying toward each other getting destroyed, you can stay in one spot due to this making that part a bit easier.] The bullet-eater idea was another good idea making this the "anti-shooter" as you get points for absorbing bullets or lasers that are the same color as your ship. There are so many other things I could get into, but I figure that this should be enough to give you a small sample of this game. Expand
  16. RichardS.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    This game is so addicting. It has been a long time that i was so into a game that that is all there was. switching back and forth from white to black. Tring to get the power boosts and not dying. SWEET GAME!!!
  17. Brian
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    This game will consume your life. ride the snake, baby . . . ride the snake.
  18. _Hickey
    Aug 17, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played in years becasue I can't beat it.
  19. TonyG.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    This is the best puzzle shooter of all time hands down. puzzle because you have to switch black and white alot depending on bullets incomming. has that twitch puzzle element. masterpiece ... work of art ... perfect game. hard as diamonds, but rewarding. if you can find this game, grab it ... it is so rare that it will definitly cost you as much or more than any new release. and i am This is the best puzzle shooter of all time hands down. puzzle because you have to switch black and white alot depending on bullets incomming. has that twitch puzzle element. masterpiece ... work of art ... perfect game. hard as diamonds, but rewarding. if you can find this game, grab it ... it is so rare that it will definitly cost you as much or more than any new release. and i am talking used. i know this had a small print run. still never understand some of the greatest games in history having small print runs. enough talk, get out there now and try to track it down before it goes up! Collapse
  20. CoffinSandman
    Nov 14, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly, I was able to find this game at a retailer and I can easily say it was worth the $50. It's very deep for a side scroller. You have to use strategies and have quick reflexes to make it through. The graphix and music are really good too. I will admit that it is a bit too hard, but it's something I can overlook. Only thing that sux is that after I bought it I learned Surprisingly, I was able to find this game at a retailer and I can easily say it was worth the $50. It's very deep for a side scroller. You have to use strategies and have quick reflexes to make it through. The graphix and music are really good too. I will admit that it is a bit too hard, but it's something I can overlook. Only thing that sux is that after I bought it I learned that it'll come out on Xbox Live for only $10. So you might as well buy it there, but MAKE SURE YOU DO!!! Expand
  21. DaveB.
    Nov 18, 2003
    7
    This game is for hardcore games only. It requires your complete attention and gaming wits. I purchased it, enjoyed it for a month, then retuned it and traded it for SSX3. I was hoping for something closer to Legendary Wings for the NES where you soup up your guns, but it's not really like that. Disappointing, but the makers are on to something, that's for sure.
  22. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    A really hard but an amazing bullet hell shoot 'em up that Treasure is always great at making them. Easily recommend it to those who love shoot 'em up games or games that are made by Treasure like Gunstar Heroes and Radiant Silvergun as well.

Awards & Rankings

#18 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 90
    Ikaruga is not an easy game. Even on Easy difficulty mode it is quite challenging, and the higher modes just ramp things up another notch.
  2. Brilliant. It's hugely playable, graphically sublime and even more importantly, once again Treasure have raised the bar for top-down shooters.
  3. Ikaruga is the best shoot-em-up on the current generation of consoles. With perfect gameplay, perfect difficulty curve, and beautiful graphics, it provides an intense experience like no other.