Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. There are enough flaws, mistakes, and outright omissions of advertised features to keep this from being a recommended game.
  2. 69
    We've got old-school wrestlers with no hint of old-school style.
  3. Due to the slower paced action, I would recommend this to people like me who were big fans of WWF Warzone back in the day, and don’t care as much for the faster, arcade style gameplay from Jakks Pacific.
  4. Doesn’t play as fluently as the AKI games from THQ of yore, and is lacking some elements that would give it some life or charisma.
  5. I'm still not sold on the saggy engine, but the new Career mode storylines help to keep me playing. [Feb 2003, p.101]
  6. Its different modes, which feature a relatively unique approach, are undermined by the substandard gameplay.
  7. The presentation feels more like local-access television than Wrestlemania's glamorous theatrics. [Feb 2003, p.146]
  8. 60
    Even though its list of features, modes, and wrestlers outshines most, it lacks a solid gameplay engine to provide a firm foundation. Because of this, most players won't find enough here to compete with the more rewarding action found in THQ's WWE titles.
  9. 60
    Even though its list of features, modes, and wrestlers outshines most, it lacks a solid gameplay engine to provide a firm foundation. Because of this, most players won't find enough here to compete with the more rewarding action found in THQ's WWE titles.
  10. Among the improvements, you'll find more dazzling graphics, smoother animation, more moves and more match types. [Mar 2003, p.136]
  11. Among the improvements, you'll find more dazzling graphics, smoother animation, more moves and more match types. [Mar 2003, p.136]
  12. 50
    I've scored the GCN's LoW2 lower than the PS2 and Xbox versions because of its lack of the interviews featured on the other platforms... combined with the GCN's persistent slowdown.
  13. 50
    I've scored the GCN's LoW2 lower than the PS2 and Xbox versions because of its lack of the interviews featured on the other platforms... combined with the GCN's persistent slowdown.
  14. A slight improvement over LOW1 and not worth the purchase in my opinion. Get it right and I'll like it. Don't waste my time with a few tweaks.
  15. A slight improvement over LOW1 and not worth the purchase in my opinion. Get it right and I'll like it. Don't waste my time with a few tweaks.
  16. While the options are bigger this year, I thought last year’s game felt more complete in overall game play.
  17. 50
    While the options are bigger this year, I thought last year’s game felt more complete in overall game play.
  18. 42
    A great concept, but it's not worth a purchse. [Feb 2003, p.51]
  19. 42
    A great concept, but it's not worth a purchse. [Feb 2003, p.51]
  20. The quality of the graphics look as if they are dated by at least a few years. If we were able to see crisp characters, it might add something to the game.
  21. 40
    The quality of the graphics look as if they are dated by at least a few years. If we were able to see crisp characters, it might add something to the game.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Wwefanatic
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    This is not the best wrestling game ever but its a good game for hardcore wrestling fans.
  2. FuzzyMickael
    Oct 3, 2003
    8
    I really think that the WWE paid off every reviewer to talk badly about this game. The truth is, you get 65 of the most memorable wrestlers I really think that the WWE paid off every reviewer to talk badly about this game. The truth is, you get 65 of the most memorable wrestlers of all time, several match types, and the controls are more than responsive for me. It's NOT the arcade-style Smackdown 2 type of controls, but that's because those controls lack depth. The ISP system in LOW2 allows for over 30 moves per wrestler, and you can set up combos, which you can't do in older THQ games. Also, you still get taunts and finishers, an in-depth create-a-wrestler mode which can create nearly any superstar you've ever seen. (Doink might be a little hard, but I bet it's possible.) And, all-in-all, this is the most entertaining wrestling game I've played since Fire Pro Wrestling D. It's better than Smackdown and Smackdown 2, better than WWF Wrestlemania 2000, better than WWF No Mercy, better than WCW Nitro, better than those old WCW/NWO games, and MUCH better than the X-Box's WWE RAW. Trust me on this one, the available moves are incredible. jumping off the ring apron, the top of the cage, ladders, tons of weapons underneath the ring. This is an exact replica of professional wrestling. I only wish they had Sting and RVD. Full Review »