Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit 2 Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed is back and faster than ever in Need For Speed Hot Pursuit 2. Engage in the next generation thrill of arcade racing with the spiritual successor to Need For Speed III Hot Pursuit. The sequel houses a stable of exclusive and exotic cars from the world's most coveted licensors including Ferrari, Porsche, and Lamborghini. Become the "champion road racer" by conquering numerous racing events, all carrying rewards such as cars, tracks, and high performance upgrades. The game challenges the driver to dodge traffic, police, and natural elements in high speed and high style. And it's up to you to evade any cops on your path, since getting busted just might end your career. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Killer aerial shots, intense chases, and a rock-infused soundtrack make for a heart-pounding ride. [18 Oct 2002, p.124]
  2. With plenty of racing challenges it should have a decent amount of longevity but their repetitive nature might grate for some.
  3. The graphics are great and the only deterrents are some questionable physics and the idea that a cop could catch me in my Opal. [Nov 2002, p.134]
  4. Although it has more than its fair share of good points, Need for Speed 2 should have been so much more and you can't help but come back to that annoying frame rate.
  5. It feels more like a Sunday drive down a busy city street... Go straight for the PS2 game. It's far and away the best of the three. [Nov 2002, p.306]
  6. At the core of any racing game should be the feeling of fast movement, and the Gameube version just doesn't seem to deliver in this regard.
  7. 50
    This unfortunate version of HP2 is just plain slow and its handling just doesn’t feel right. If possible, stick with the stellar PS2 edition or the strong Xbox game.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit 2 was one of the best Need for Speed games. It featured many cars that are rare to be in the Need for Speed series like the McLaren F1, the McLaren F1 LM, the Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR, the Ferrari F50, the Ferrari 550 Barchetta, the Lamborghini Diablo 6.0 VT, the Ferrari 360 Spider, the BMW Z8, and others. Plus, the instant replays were hilarious when you did like 18 barrel rolls and you were wondering if the whiplash was intense enough to kill you. Speaking of intense, one the the most outrageously intense parts was when the cops were throwing bombs and spike strips at you while you were trying to race against everyone. On top of all that, you could be the cop and arrest racers! This game is composed of great memories, intense scenes, awesome cars, and rare amazing features. Expand
  2. BEATTHEGAME
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Very fun game to play. I am a former PS2 owner (now PS3) and it has wonderful graphics. the cars are of your wildest dreams and corect statistics. Feels awesome to blast the volume ad let the cars tak you through the game. Very addictive and very hard to beat. Expand
  3. D.P.
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    I hesitated to get this game because of the reviews saying there were framerate issues. Well I've played it for over five hours and I haven't noticed any problems. It's an excellent game. Addictive gameplay. It's fun to be chased by the cops and to do the chasing. The graphics are lovely, some of best I've seen on the Gamecube. Don't hesitate to get this. Expand
  4. mRant
    Dec 30, 2003
    8
    I enjoyed this game first night out of the box. My daughter enjoyed placing on championship mode while I took on the man in hot pursuit. I've seen nothing inherently wrong with the game. It is a pure arcade racer, no sim. So if you like thrills without all the head scratching go for this offering from the nfs crew. I got it for 20 bucks...! Collapse
  5. AnoukP.
    Dec 14, 2005
    8
    Hot Pursuit 2 is a great racing game; by the way, the rest of versions of this game do not feature as much differences as the press usually point out. The frame rate is not 'terrible', and graphics are crispier than those in the blurry NFSU & NFSU2. In terms of fun, Hot Pursuit 2 is also much more enjoyable than the 'underground' spinoffs, and its background music is by far much more friendly for every listener than the stupid tracks in NFSU1 & 2. Maybe it was necessary to punish the GC version for something it does not have. But the truth is that Hot Pursuit 2 is one of the most satisfactory racing games I've played since Beetle Adventure Racing and Ridge Racer Type 4 Expand
  6. HoodedJustice
    Sep 26, 2004
    8
    The game is addictive. There may be some downsides but it's a definite buy. The speed is there and it's good enough to keep you going back until you get all golds. Expand
  7. SaintPuhn
    Oct 14, 2002
    3
    Pros: i like the matrix camera shots. i like being chased by the cops. i like the variety in cars and tracks. Cons: framerate? strike one. graphics? strike two. adrenaline rush ditching the cops on the final lap? strike three. rant: its called hot pursuit. why do the cops give up so easily? *sigh* Expand

See all 10 User Reviews