Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door GameCube

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 359 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 359
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2015
    9
    This Paper Mario game has proven itself to whether be a great sequel to the original Paper Mario. It's adventurous and it's a fun blast until the game's over.
  2. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    Out of the paper mario series this is my favorite. Why? Better graphics, better story, Better fighting mechanics, and great controls. I do recommend it but the story is a bit off.
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. One of nintendos best.
  4. May 15, 2016
    8
    This is very good JRPG . Good graphics for RPG 2004 and in this game very interesting bosses , complicated , but good storyline . This game is the best JRPG i've seen and the best Paper Mario Game not no mention Paper Mario Sticker Star... Joke... Actually Paper Mario The Thousand Year Door the best Paper Mario Game . 8/10 .
  5. Jul 14, 2016
    9
    Game: Paper Mario The Thousand Year Door
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Nintendo System: Gamecube (GCN) Total Score: 92/100 Value Score: 9.2/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 9/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 8/10 • Replay Value: 6/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Retains great story elements and colorful characters like the previous
    Game: Paper Mario The Thousand Year Door
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Nintendo
    System: Gamecube (GCN)
    Total Score: 92/100
    Value Score: 9.2/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 9/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 6/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Retains great story elements and colorful characters like the previous Paper Mario
    +Badge system has been improved with a whole new set of badges with different effects
    +Use of Paper abilities gives players different ways to travel around dungeons and maps not seen in the original game
    +Mini games include Bowser Platformer similar in style of the classic Mario Bros and Peach has her own story like in the first game
    +There's a crowd during battles which can affect the battle progression in both good and bad ways changing the difficulty of the battle at times
    +Completely new setting with a new cast of characters mixed up with a familiar set of characters from previous Mario games.
    +A lot of sidequests (mainly fetch quests) which will net you coins and items
    +Longer than the first Paper Mario

    Cons
    -Lack of Post-Game content/replay value
    -Some badges from the first game do not appear in this game which would have helped a lot
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is longThe sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is long enough to keep the storyline interesting and smart. It is one of the best GC games in my opinion, and it receives a very well earned 10 from me. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The Thousand-Year Door is a fun, thoroughly charming RPG for all ages. Pros: Unique graphics and colorful visuals, crafty level design, instantly likable characters, and lots of secrets to unlock. Cons: It's a bit difficult at times because of its reliance on backtracking.
  8. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Even 10 years later, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door has to be one of the finest RPGs Mario has ever experimented with and it's certainly not paper thin -- okay, that's a poor shot of a pun. Pros? The originality in its visuals are its selling point; excellent use of 2.5D RPG and platforming elements; cartoonish humor; charming characters; lots of secrets. Cons? Annoying amount ofEven 10 years later, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door has to be one of the finest RPGs Mario has ever experimented with and it's certainly not paper thin -- okay, that's a poor shot of a pun. Pros? The originality in its visuals are its selling point; excellent use of 2.5D RPG and platforming elements; cartoonish humor; charming characters; lots of secrets. Cons? Annoying amount of reading -- anyone who button mashes through dialogue might miss something some characters only say once -- and requires the player's patience; annoying backtracking; occassional lack of hints, which is more frustrating than challenging. Expand
  9. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where youThis game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where you are taking a train ride and solving mysteries. I also love the atmosphere of this game with the blend of 2d and 3d graphics, it really makes the game stand out. I also like the rpg system in this game, it was good in the first Paper Mario but even better in this game. Sure it's simple when compared to other rpg games, but it really suits the game. I love this game, I surprised this game wasn't "universally acclaimed" with the critics. I just hope that Nintendo will make another game with this Paper Mario formula again someday which was something special that the next games on Wii and 3ds lacked. Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Paper Mario TTYD is one my fav Paper Mario Games on Gamecube,
    tje game rpg element was best and close to Paper Mario 64 if fans ever want the feel of classic paper mario is get these two, while more recent's take the series to a new level.
  11. May 2, 2013
    10
    Basically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. TheBasically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. The long scrolls are text are regular in an RPG, and they make lots of sense.

    The enemies in the game are varied from classic mario game enemies all the way to new and old paper mario exclusives. Bosses are extremely fun and tough to fight, and require a whole lot of strategy to beat out. The music is absolutely pleasant, as I listen to the music all the time on and off the game. The game length is also very long, at around 35 hours on your first go, and that doesn't even include post-game things. After all you can do, it can all end one save file in around 50 or more hours, which is pretty solid for a mario game. I highly recommend this game to every single person that I have met

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9.5/10
    Music: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Length: 9.5/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  12. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making
  13. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Great transition from the N64, Thousand Year Door continues to bring out the RPG, paper madness that is Paper Mario. With well done visuals and improved combat system, this is a great RPG game for the GC.
  14. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Its audio, visuals, and gameplay aren't a big step from its N64 predecessor, however, that doesn't disqualify The Thousand-Year Door as fun. In fact, it's one of the most unique RPG titles to hit the NGC.
  15. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Truly one of my favorite RPG's of all time and in my top 3 if not number 1 top nostalgic game. It has the best partners, storyline, gameplay, graphics (it's so beautiful), characters, locations, and fun factor of any Mario RPG (in my opinion) if you like untraditional RPG's look no further.
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way.Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  17. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have to pick on some flaw in a game, but in this one I don't think I can find one.
    The game looked stunning. Every bit of progression made me feel apart of this game. The concept was so smart and really fits well for a Mario title. Another thing I
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have to pick on some flaw in a game, but in this one I don't think I can find one.
    The game looked stunning. Every bit of progression made me feel apart of this game. The concept was so smart and really fits well for a Mario title.
    Another thing I found about this game, is that it was quite dark in a way which is hard to explain which was certainly unexpected.
    There were also so many witty characters that made me laugh a lot.
    One of my favourite areas in the game is during the wrestling chapter where you fight that hawk.
    I may seem a bit strange when I point the reasons why I liked it
    1 - I was a huge wrestling fan
    2 - When you had to wait for your time to fight, it somehow felt good to be waiting in the locker room.
    3 - You didn't really know what was going to happen

    I also found the game very challenging aswell. You had to have great timing for dodging attacks and you had to be properly equipped and leveled to succeed.

    The wrap this up. The game looked beautiful (not a word that I usually say) but its true.
    Game play was perfectly balanced and a pleasure to explore the world and find out what it had to offer.
    Music was quirky and very Mario-Like. Music is a big check box for me in gaming.
    It had some strange humor which was quite subtle and mature. I really had to thing twice on what was said!

    10/10 masterpiece
    Expand
  18. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    In my opinion, the best Mario game there is. Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door is one of the few Mario games I view as flawless. This could just be my nostalgia talking, but I honestly don't care. I love this game so much. The story is captivating and memorable, the characters are filled with personality, the gameplay takes every problem Paper Mario had and fixes them, I don't know ifIn my opinion, the best Mario game there is. Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door is one of the few Mario games I view as flawless. This could just be my nostalgia talking, but I honestly don't care. I love this game so much. The story is captivating and memorable, the characters are filled with personality, the gameplay takes every problem Paper Mario had and fixes them, I don't know if there's anything bad I can say about this game. The story has Mario traveling to a place called Rogueport and has him adventuring around it's surrounding areas searching for objects called the Crystal Stars. Along the way, he meets a many partner characters who fight alongside him and a wide cast of lovable characters. The gameplay is top notch and easy to get the hang of, especially for those who played the first Paper Mario. The game also features lots to do, even after the game is beaten, granted your the kind of person who doesn't mind searching for badges, creating recipe items or enduring the Pit of 100 Trials. It may be incredibly late to give a review on this game, but Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door is stellar in every way and even if it's really hard to find now a days, I'd still gladly recommend it over Sticker Star and likely Color Splash, games they're trying to pass off as Paper Mario. Expand
  19. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    STEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVEe
  20. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything about Paper Mario, The Thousand Year Door is amazing. The animation is fun and exciting, the story is beautiful, and the characters are amazing! Even in this video game there is a lot of morals and lessons in here. Even the soundtrack is fantastic! The battles are heightened by the music. Anyways, the best game I have ever played Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2017
    10
    Perhaps my favourite game of all time, and the one I have beaten more times. I mean, there is nothing I dislike about this game! Maybe it is a bit easy, but it is so fun... and funny as well! Characters, especially Mario's partners are astonishing, and the variety of places you get to explore is also very good. You go from a castle with a giant dragon, to a dojo coliseum, then to darkPerhaps my favourite game of all time, and the one I have beaten more times. I mean, there is nothing I dislike about this game! Maybe it is a bit easy, but it is so fun... and funny as well! Characters, especially Mario's partners are astonishing, and the variety of places you get to explore is also very good. You go from a castle with a giant dragon, to a dojo coliseum, then to dark place where people become pigs... so there is no way this gets repetitive, you always have fun.

    I don't know, not much more to add, this is a masterpiece in every sense of the word, it is a real shame that new Paper Mario games are so far from this gem.
    Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    Hardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's an outstanding game and is personally my favorite Mario game ever. Not only does it have a surprisingly good story for a Mario game, but also has a combat system that flows extremely well. The system of leveling up is a little simple, but it works well, andHardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's an outstanding game and is personally my favorite Mario game ever. Not only does it have a surprisingly good story for a Mario game, but also has a combat system that flows extremely well. The system of leveling up is a little simple, but it works well, and the badge system adds a nice touch. The only real issue is that it's a bit too similar to the first Paper Mario game, but it still is different enough that it feels like a unique and fantastic experience. Expand
  23. May 15, 2016
    10
    Wonderful gameplay? Yes. Wonderful storyline? Yes. Wonderful graphics? Yes. I must say one more - this game one of the best from Nintendo. Actually this game so muck interesting by other games, what i see. 1010 and only.
  24. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time if not the best. I like everything about this game. Everything. Ok there is only one thing that is not that good. It's the beginning. First level or whatever castle is not that good but after that it's all so phenomenal
  25. Oct 7, 2016
    7
    A sequel to one of my favorite games of all time, Paper mario 64

    Ok first of all, the game looks ugly as **** Just look at the beautiful art style of Paper mario 64 and look at ttyd just ugly. The battle system is good but i miss the stars from the original game that talked and you got them after every chapter. The stage for battles is very dull, no awesome bakground for your
    A sequel to one of my favorite games of all time, Paper mario 64

    Ok first of all, the game looks ugly as **** Just look at the beautiful art style of Paper mario 64 and look at ttyd just ugly. The battle system is good but i miss the stars from the original game that talked and you got them after every chapter.

    The stage for battles is very dull, no awesome bakground for your location is a huge dissapoitment.

    The game just kills so much **** that i loved from the first one, the partners are worse and more.

    Paper mario ttyd gets a 7/10 for still having a fun experience.
    Expand
  26. Jul 22, 2016
    9
    A sequel to one of Nintendo's classics, "Paper Mario" for the N64. This games takes everything that made "Paper Mario" great, and made it better. In terms of graphics, the characters, locations, music, and especially, story. Mario gets a letter from Princess Peach telling him to come to Rogueport to find this legendary treasure. Mario soon arrives at Rogueport only to find a littleA sequel to one of Nintendo's classics, "Paper Mario" for the N64. This games takes everything that made "Paper Mario" great, and made it better. In terms of graphics, the characters, locations, music, and especially, story. Mario gets a letter from Princess Peach telling him to come to Rogueport to find this legendary treasure. Mario soon arrives at Rogueport only to find a little goomba-gal getting attacked by an evil force called the X-Naut, who are also looking for the treasure. After rescuing her, the little goomba, Goombella, tells him that the maps shows where each Crystal-Star is, and obtaining all 7 of them will open up the treasure. The only thing that kept me from playing is it's difficulty. I did make it to the final boss, but it was so dang hard. If you're truly a video gaming expert, this game should have enough difficulty in it. Otherwise, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year-Door is one the best games in the series. (For me at least). Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    A stunning game. This game has one of the best combat mechanics I have ever played with simply because of the options you have: jump, hammer, a variety of items, attacks your buddies can learn, and having the ability to use the power of the Crystal Stars makes this system never go stale, though a tad easy. Each world is fun to explore and their are several sidequests, but I personally feltA stunning game. This game has one of the best combat mechanics I have ever played with simply because of the options you have: jump, hammer, a variety of items, attacks your buddies can learn, and having the ability to use the power of the Crystal Stars makes this system never go stale, though a tad easy. Each world is fun to explore and their are several sidequests, but I personally felt that alot of them, particularly the cooking and problem center quests, were rather tedious. Still, it is hard to get bored with this game.

    Story-wise, the narrative isn't anything amazing, but praise must go to the clever writing. Personality brims from every character and nearly every word is fun to read.

    Who can possibly forget the presentation? The paper style is nothing short of ingenious and fun, and the music is surprising epic and memorable.

    A gem of an RPG.
    Expand
  28. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    This sequel is a massive step up in every regard from the already great classic on the N64. Though simplistic, the story is immersive with many zany and unique characters and companions. As a JRPG, combat is based around real time responses much akin to the original game. The customizable badge system is also quite fun and diverse in changing stats, gaining access to certain moves andThis sequel is a massive step up in every regard from the already great classic on the N64. Though simplistic, the story is immersive with many zany and unique characters and companions. As a JRPG, combat is based around real time responses much akin to the original game. The customizable badge system is also quite fun and diverse in changing stats, gaining access to certain moves and having status effects in battle. The world is so expansive and unique and really has its own identity separate from the usual Mario fare. The setting of Rogueport is really refreshing and fun to explore. Expect to spend dedicated hours on this, and don't pass up on it because it's the best Paper Mario experience and one of the best JRPGs made. Expand
  29. Mar 13, 2016
    9
    Although I consider the original Paper Mario to be allot better, this game improved upon the foundation that was set, and gave us a game that was allot more fleshed out and really unique and innovative. It's not something I personally would replay as much I've replayed Paper Mario 64, but it's still a masterpiece of a game, no doubt.
  30. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    EPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebob squarepants movie game too....but Paper Mario...is a Legend.

Awards & Rankings

7
3
#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
3
#3 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    83
    9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  2. GMR Magazine
    90
    The mix of 2D characters on a 3D plane not only looks appealing, the gameplay that's designed around the concept (Mario's transformation skills in particular) is a creative fusion of art and design. [Nov 2004, p.105]
  3. And it'll soak up far more of YOU than "Mario & Luigi" or the other Mario RPGs ever did, too. It's easy to believe you could spend as long with this as you could a decent-length Final Fantasy title.