Pikmin 2 GameCube

Pikmin 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Captain Olimar has returned to the planet where the Pikmin live, and he's all business this time. The company he works for is going bankrupt, so to save it, Olimar must salvage the treasure buried all over the planet. Of course, he'll need the help of the Pikmin to do that--he can't doCaptain Olimar has returned to the planet where the Pikmin live, and he's all business this time. The company he works for is going bankrupt, so to save it, Olimar must salvage the treasure buried all over the planet. Of course, he'll need the help of the Pikmin to do that--he can't do anything by himself. Control one of two main characters--Olimar or his assistant--as you command your Pikmin to defeat enemies, propagate more Pikmin, collect precious doodads, and solve puzzles. With unlimited time, new colors of Pikmin, and two-player cooperative play, Pikmin 2 improves on the original in many ways. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Flat-out weird does not begin to describe this highly addictive title. You become so attached to your herds that it kind of hurts when you lose a Pikmin or two to drowning or carnivorous giant beetles. It's like losing a child. A fat, little purple child with a flower budding out of his forehead.
  2. 95
    On top of the game's extended length, Pimin 2 also includes much more content than the original.
  3. If you're a fan of the original game, picking Pikmin 2 up should be a no-brainer. If you haven't tried the series yet, Pikmin 2 is a fantastic place to start.
  4. The only problem here is that we have no full-blown two-player co-op. Other than that, this game is packed to the gills and well worth your time.
  5. A game that gets everything right; the puzzles are just hard enough to be a challenge without being too frustrating, the presentation pleasing and the control spot-on.
  6. The concept may be just as extraordinary as its predecessor's, but with a hefty dosage of multiplayer and a quest that isn't as nerve-racking, Pikmin 2 is deserving of mainstream recognition and is easily the most noteworthy and praiseworthy GameCube product this summer. [Aug 2004, p.101]
  7. 70
    A great exploration-based real time strategy and puzzle game, but a fractured one.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. D.Z.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite game ever! Great graphics, fantastic gameplay, strategic, too!
  2. Lily
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Some people who gave it low scores obviously did not play it. This is a great game, forget the fact that it looks like a "kiddie" game Some people who gave it low scores obviously did not play it. This is a great game, forget the fact that it looks like a "kiddie" game because it's not. People as old as me can enjoy it as well as the young ones. Pikmin 2 is amazingly done, just as good as the first, if not better. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    A Masterpiece. The Graphics are beautiful, the humor brilliant, the concept original, the boss battles epic. The Multiplayer and ChallengeA Masterpiece. The Graphics are beautiful, the humor brilliant, the concept original, the boss battles epic. The Multiplayer and Challenge Modes will give you a whole lot of additional content after the initial quest is over. The cuteness of the Pikmin themselves will draw you in to the point where it truly pains you to let one of the little buggers die. The addition of caves and berries, the new types of Pikmin, and more really add to the strategy. If Miyamoto could continue to make new IPs as great as this, Nintendo will be set for a very long time, not that they aren't already. This is the greatest game I have ever played. Expand
  4. SamK.
    May 28, 2005
    10
    I bought the first Pikmin a few years ago and was blown away by it's realistic graphics, incredibly fun and absorbing gameplay and sheer I bought the first Pikmin a few years ago and was blown away by it's realistic graphics, incredibly fun and absorbing gameplay and sheer brilliant original formula. Then came Pikmin 2, and now I'm even more impressed. My wife and I stayed up till 5 in the morning upon purchasing it. We couldn't stop. The new 2-player battle mode is incredible fun. I've never been so enthralled by a game in my life! Only Nintendo could pull this off, and we all know that. God bless Nintendo. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Best game for the Gamecube EVER! This game is a must have for anyone that has every touched a gamecube or hash't, Pikmin 2 is a masterpiece,Best game for the Gamecube EVER! This game is a must have for anyone that has every touched a gamecube or hash't, Pikmin 2 is a masterpiece, the gameplay and graphics are revolutionary, even for a game that came out nearly 10 years ago, much better than the first, (Another awesome game!) It has everything a sequal should have, and I wouldn't be surprised if it is better than the third, which comes out very soon, FINALLY! Talking about it makes me want to drop everything and go play it! It is much easier than the first, as you had a time limit to beat the game, which I disliked and made it much harder. There's just so much to do before and after the game, it's just an amazing game that I remember getting when I was only 7, my favorite childhood game by far, the new pikmin are awesome and of coarse adorable, but some of the underground levels are brutally tough, but not impossible! GET THIS GAME NOW IF YOU DON'T HAVE IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!! Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Another masterpiece from Miyamoto. Gorgeous and detailed above ground areas followed by unique under ground caves. The double captain mechanicAnother masterpiece from Miyamoto. Gorgeous and detailed above ground areas followed by unique under ground caves. The double captain mechanic works really well by adding a stronger sense of strategy and multitasking. This game also has one of the most underrated OSTs in gaming history. Rather than being all "up in your face" like the Geno's Maze or Planet Wisp themes, the songs in this game are very subtle and atmospheric, and they fit the area or cave they play over perfectly. The Pikmin AI is completely improved from the first game, and the camera works perfectly, allowing multiple viewing angles ranging from bird's eye view to behind the shoulder. The adventure mode is much longer than that of the first Pikmin game, and there are also Challenge and Multiplayer modes for more content, so you definitely get your money's worth. The only viable complaint I can see for this game is that the purple pikmin break the combat in this game. However, while this is true, the game's various hazards, gimmicks, and bosses still bring the pain in terms of difficulty, and it's VERY easy to lose your pikmin if you aren't careful. I've only had this game for four years now, so it's not even a game from my childhood that I only like for nostalgia purposes. This game is one of my all time favorites. If you ever have the opportunity to pick up a copy, I highly recommend you do. Expand
  7. ShaneS.
    May 12, 2006
    5
    This game is just a dumbed down clone of PC strategy games, wrapped up in a cute little package. It's lengthy, and original, but This game is just a dumbed down clone of PC strategy games, wrapped up in a cute little package. It's lengthy, and original, but compared to a lego strategy game on PC (that is a few years pikmins senior) it seems dumbed down and lacking. Perhaps I'm just being picky, but I want a full fledged strategy game, not a cutsey treasure hunt nintendo spinnoff. oh well. Collapse

See all 41 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004