Pikmin 2 GameCube
Pikmin 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Captain Olimar has returned to the planet where the Pikmin live, and he's all business this time. The company he works for is going bankrupt, so to save it, Olimar must salvage the treasure buried all over the planet. Of course, he'll need the help of the Pikmin to do that--he can't do anything by himself. Control one of two main characters--Olimar or his assistant--as you command your Pikmin to defeat enemies, propagate more Pikmin, collect precious doodads, and solve puzzles. With unlimited time, new colors of Pikmin, and two-player cooperative play, Pikmin 2 improves on the original in many ways. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Flat-out weird does not begin to describe this highly addictive title. You become so attached to your herds that it kind of hurts when you lose a Pikmin or two to drowning or carnivorous giant beetles. It's like losing a child. A fat, little purple child with a flower budding out of his forehead.
  2. 95
    On top of the game's extended length, Pimin 2 also includes much more content than the original.
  3. If you're a fan of the original game, picking Pikmin 2 up should be a no-brainer. If you haven't tried the series yet, Pikmin 2 is a fantastic place to start.
  4. The only problem here is that we have no full-blown two-player co-op. Other than that, this game is packed to the gills and well worth your time.
  5. A game that gets everything right; the puzzles are just hard enough to be a challenge without being too frustrating, the presentation pleasing and the control spot-on.
  6. The concept may be just as extraordinary as its predecessor's, but with a hefty dosage of multiplayer and a quest that isn't as nerve-racking, Pikmin 2 is deserving of mainstream recognition and is easily the most noteworthy and praiseworthy GameCube product this summer. [Aug 2004, p.101]
  7. 70
    A great exploration-based real time strategy and puzzle game, but a fractured one.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a perfect fusion of exploration and strategy. The pikmin are adorable, and I love the little touches like them humming the pikmin main theme sometimes, or lying down and sleeping when you don't have tasks assigned to them.
    Improvements over the original include a much more alive environment, which is also a bit more diverse now (you start out in a snowy field, and the caves are very creative, like sewage pipes, children's toys etc).
    The removal of the 30-day limit seems a tad bit unnecessary here, since time doesn't pass in the caves, and most of the game is spent in the caves. Therefore, the difficulty of the 30-day limit would already be a bit lowered.

    Overall though, a must-have game, be it for Gamecube or the New Control Play Wii. I can't wait for the sequel.
    Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing, and much better than the previous game. There is nothing I would change in this game, It's just that perfect. This game has amazing replay value too. Just like the first Pikmin game you want to get a better score, so you create new files. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    A Masterpiece. The Graphics are beautiful, the humor brilliant, the concept original, the boss battles epic. The Multiplayer and Challenge Modes will give you a whole lot of additional content after the initial quest is over. The cuteness of the Pikmin themselves will draw you in to the point where it truly pains you to let one of the little buggers die. The addition of caves and berries, the new types of Pikmin, and more really add to the strategy. If Miyamoto could continue to make new IPs as great as this, Nintendo will be set for a very long time, not that they aren't already. This is the greatest game I have ever played. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    This Game is a masterpiece its not to short or to long the controls are great and the game play is just amazing i can't get over how good this game really is Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Another masterpiece from Miyamoto. Gorgeous and detailed above ground areas followed by unique under ground caves. The double captain mechanic works really well by adding a stronger sense of strategy and multitasking. This game also has one of the most underrated OSTs in gaming history. Rather than being all "up in your face" like the Geno's Maze or Planet Wisp themes, the songs in this game are very subtle and atmospheric, and they fit the area or cave they play over perfectly. The Pikmin AI is completely improved from the first game, and the camera works perfectly, allowing multiple viewing angles ranging from bird's eye view to behind the shoulder. The adventure mode is much longer than that of the first Pikmin game, and there are also Challenge and Multiplayer modes for more content, so you definitely get your money's worth. The only viable complaint I can see for this game is that the purple pikmin break the combat in this game. However, while this is true, the game's various hazards, gimmicks, and bosses still bring the pain in terms of difficulty, and it's VERY easy to lose your pikmin if you aren't careful. I've only had this game for four years now, so it's not even a game from my childhood that I only like for nostalgia purposes. This game is one of my all time favorites. If you ever have the opportunity to pick up a copy, I highly recommend you do. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I Haven't played the first Pikmin game, but if it is anything like this incredible masterpiece, than i'd buy it. This is one of the greatest games ever made to me. A fun story, great music, good graphics, great gameplay, and awesome concept Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a fast paced strategy game, not like games where it takes three hours to fight a battle or something like that. It has a good storyline. Funny, cute animals. and gameplay that might be addicting, but not as much as minecraft. It is a good 20 hours too, and there is a little extra you can do when you finish it. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews