Pokemon Colosseum GameCube

Pokemon Colosseum Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokémon fans can now battle their favorite Pokémon on the grand stage. Starring a brand new leading character, Pokémon, Colosseum offers a story mode that pits you against tough trainers who routinely catch damaged Pokémon. In Battle mode, you can use the GamePokémon fans can now battle their favorite Pokémon on the grand stage. Starring a brand new leading character, Pokémon, Colosseum offers a story mode that pits you against tough trainers who routinely catch damaged Pokémon. In Battle mode, you can use the Game Boy Advance cable to send your team from your Pokémon Ruby or Pokémon Sapphire Game Pak to your Gamecube, then witness the true potential of your team. Rescue Pokémon and watch them come to life in spectacular Colosseum battles. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nintendo Power
    94
    The Story mode, variety of Battle mode options and amazing level of detail give the game an immeasurable amount of fun and replay value. [May 2004, p.119]
  2. netjak
    86
    While it is a little rough in the sound department, a few of the visuals are off, and it has slight limitations on how you can obtain your Pokemon, Colosseum is a worthy of a Pokemon fan’s time. This is the full-on console RPG many Pokemon fans have been clamoring for.
  3. Battling is only a fraction of what makes the Game Boy games special, and although Colosseum expands on this, it doesn’t do the Game Boy games justice.
  4. 75
    Merely good - hopefully Nintendo will take heed and give us the game we've REALLY been wanting next time around.
  5. Game Informer
    70
    Even though none of these elements are so astounding as to bring outsiders into the fold, the franchise's debut on the GameCube ("Pokemon Channel" doesn't count) is a trainer's dream come true. [Mar 2004, p.110]
  6. 70
    Most fair-weather Pokemon fans will find the Story mode not interesting enough and the Colosseum mode a little too hardcore. [Apr 204, p.98]
  7. Cheat Code Central
    50
    Pokemon Colosseum doesn't go overboard with these new features however. It's probably the least amount of innovations and updates that a game can get away with and still call itself a new game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. G.H.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Pokemon coloseum must beat stadium and he will.
  2. May 4, 2016
    10
    Great pokemon game on the gamecube very good quality for its time, good story, and it felt like it was for an older audience and more violentGreat pokemon game on the gamecube very good quality for its time, good story, and it felt like it was for an older audience and more violent it was awesome and creative areas and designs. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved this game when I was younger, I liked having a story different to the usual scenario of starting your Pokemon journey at aI absolutely loved this game when I was younger, I liked having a story different to the usual scenario of starting your Pokemon journey at a young age and finding a rare level 5 pokemon and going through the cities, especially through the fact that you start with an Espeon and Umbreon, the story was fullfilling and memorable. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    Whilst nothing new is bought to the pokemon world, there is nothing relatively bad about the game. The gameplay on the gamecube is better thanWhilst nothing new is bought to the pokemon world, there is nothing relatively bad about the game. The gameplay on the gamecube is better than that of the Gameboy, but there are no original villians to fight, and you are unable to catch any pokemon but shadow pokemon. On the upside, at least you get to see the great hairstyles of characters like Mirror B. Worth buying, but not worth playing to the end more than once. Expand
  5. JacobP.
    Apr 4, 2004
    7
    This game was very disapointing, that the fact that ity wasnt like the previos games. Its missing registering any pokemon, mini games beter This game was very disapointing, that the fact that ity wasnt like the previos games. Its missing registering any pokemon, mini games beter interaction with the gameboy game, it was still a desent game, but it seems more of a 1 player game. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    I played this game when I was 14, more than 200 hours. It amazed me, but I missed the freedom of the game boy advance versions. Characters areI played this game when I was 14, more than 200 hours. It amazed me, but I missed the freedom of the game boy advance versions. Characters are cool, Pokemon animations, multiplayer mode...but it's an step back coming from Pokemon Stadium of N64. Lenght of the game is ok, 25-30 hours easily, and a lot of stuff to do after you end the game. Expand
  7. B.
    Mar 24, 2004
    0
    Wanted an actual rpg.

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#12 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004