• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 11, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1098 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MicahelH.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This Game is so Awesome it took the game in a brand new direction!!!!
  2. ZachC.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This game is the best of any I have played and will play for a long time... or Resident Evil 5.
  3. AlxD.
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    I HATE Resident Evil games, but this one? It completely and utterly blew me away. I've never been so gripped by a videogame in my life. Its not only a great game in its own right, but its also kicked all of the flaws out of the franchise. Long may it continue.
  4. Chuck
    Mar 14, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game ever created. I never did like Resident Evil games in the past but this game takes the cake. Whenever I die in this game I just want to keep playing no mattter how many times I die. There is also so many extra stuff in this game its crazy. When you beat the game you can start the game off with the revolver cannon gun and with alot of money you can upgrade this This game is the best game ever created. I never did like Resident Evil games in the past but this game takes the cake. Whenever I die in this game I just want to keep playing no mattter how many times I die. There is also so many extra stuff in this game its crazy. When you beat the game you can start the game off with the revolver cannon gun and with alot of money you can upgrade this gun enough to have infinite ammo which makes this gun by far the best gun to have. When you beat the game you unlock new mini games and if you beat the mercenaires mini game with a four star rank you can now beat the game with new characters with special weapons only they can use. Expand
  5. CindieB.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I have played the Resident Evil games from the start. I've always loved them, but this game out does them all. It is the game that I feel should set the standard for all others. The graphics, story line, etc. all are wonderful!
  6. CotyV.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This is the most addictive game I have ever played. Its like as soon as I get home the first thing I reach for is my gamecube controller, and as soon as I get started I cant stop. This is for sure one of the best games ever. I cant wait for Resident Evil 5!
  7. MasonK.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Very good graphics um the thing i dint like was that you could not run but over all i give this game a 10.
  8. ArntC.M.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    A dream come true for all survival horror fans!
  9. EricS.
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    This is what happens when Link and Joanna Dark make whoopie! Nothing is sweeter than droping a fool by cuttin him off at the knees, and then while standing over him, obliterating his skull with your riot gun. Sure some might say killing zombiesque people isn't as fun as goldeneye or other FPS's but the number of enemies you face is much greater and they don't stop comming. This is what happens when Link and Joanna Dark make whoopie! Nothing is sweeter than droping a fool by cuttin him off at the knees, and then while standing over him, obliterating his skull with your riot gun. Sure some might say killing zombiesque people isn't as fun as goldeneye or other FPS's but the number of enemies you face is much greater and they don't stop comming. one more thing... when you die in this game, have your phone near by... you might need an ambulance when your heart pops out of your chest! Expand
  10. Peter
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  11. JacopoG.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    I played all the Resident evil games, but this is absolutely the funnyest one!I've finished the game in 20 hours of effective playing in two days...Incredible game!
  12. MiguelAngelR.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!!!! 4 sure.
  13. RafaelC.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    This game Really is the BEST game on gamecube and on any console right now! ( period! ) , an absolute masterpiece of Capcom. If you dont have a Gamecube this is the best reason to buy one, forget the PS2 version ( which will probably have lower graphics and run slower ) go to your closest Videogames store and buy one right now! and at the end of the year youll get another greath game for This game Really is the BEST game on gamecube and on any console right now! ( period! ) , an absolute masterpiece of Capcom. If you dont have a Gamecube this is the best reason to buy one, forget the PS2 version ( which will probably have lower graphics and run slower ) go to your closest Videogames store and buy one right now! and at the end of the year youll get another greath game for sure : The new Zelda! Expand
  14. Ben
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    My favorite, even of old games. This game brought be back to what video games should be. Its close to having a seemless interface, but doesn't try and pretend its not a video game, which is definately deserving of props. Some of the quick button mashing experiences really brought me back to the old days when games were about fun. Which is another thing: fun and amazing graphics! My favorite, even of old games. This game brought be back to what video games should be. Its close to having a seemless interface, but doesn't try and pretend its not a video game, which is definately deserving of props. Some of the quick button mashing experiences really brought me back to the old days when games were about fun. Which is another thing: fun and amazing graphics! These graphics aren't quite half-life 2 but close, and the style surpasses half-life by far. But what makes the graphics so real aren't the way they look in stills but the amazing detail spent on animation. The nuances of walking and crepping and screaming and speaking are amazing! it is quite obvious that they have done something beyond just motion capture. If you haven't gotten this game yet, you better hurry up, you are missing out on a lot! Expand
  15. RyanG.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Amazing graphics and gameplay above all else was you could upgrade your own weapons with money that you get by killing insane villagers.
  16. WesBorlin
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    I literally pissed on myself I was so scared Beautiful. Awesome... Breathtaking.
  17. AdD
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Great Game looks great and is very easy to get imersed into not quite as scary as the first game as you can control the camera to spot ememies around the corner rather than walking into then like in the resi 1 remake which makes you much more confident. but the fixed camera seemed to be what people moaned about (even though it gave it it's atmos) so it's gone. The games still Great Game looks great and is very easy to get imersed into not quite as scary as the first game as you can control the camera to spot ememies around the corner rather than walking into then like in the resi 1 remake which makes you much more confident. but the fixed camera seemed to be what people moaned about (even though it gave it it's atmos) so it's gone. The games still great though although not so much a survival horror any more. More of a zombie kill fest! easily ten out of ten best game so far this year on any console! Expand
  18. RossL.
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing. That is the only word that describes RE.
  19. AnthonyS.
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    This has to be one of the best RE games I have played thus far, but it just isn't as scary as the others before it. But over all a must to play. WOW
  20. JoeJ.
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    Super duper, the best game of my time, I loved all the scary enimes, and boss' but going around with ashley, can get bothersome. the only thing that was wierd to me was Saddler (the last boss) was simple, i just shot him 3 times with the revlover, and the Rocket launcher came, and CABOOM, dead just like that, simple, BUT I WOULD TOTALLY GET THIS GAME.
  21. JoeD.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Best resident evil ever.
  22. AndyL.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Best game i've ever played. Details like the lightning strikes and the blur effects near fires and lava and the screen getting wet during a boss really draw you in. Game of the Year.....Guaranteed.
  23. S.Yorganci
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Resident evil 4 takes playing video games to another level just about flawless in every department. By far the best game of the year!
  24. AJMarsden
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Best frickin game in the universe. The opening level is like none other than anything everdond.I mean how many games are there with a guy with a potato sack over his head and has a chainsaw.15 out of 10!!
  25. AlexP.
    Apr 9, 2005
    9
    Resident Evil 4 will probably be the best game of the year by far and I thoroughly enjoyed it: from incredible visuals and panicky gameplay to it's ingenious buy/sell system, the game carefully keeps your excitement high by keeping you rooted in its world, through both limitation and innovation. Sublime.
  26. MattG.
    May 16, 2005
    10
    This game is frieken AWESOME! I love this so much, that I named by kid Leon and my daugher Ashley.
  27. RenatoF.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    The best game i-ve ever played!!!
  28. CoryK.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    WOW. This game blew me away. I never got into the previous RE games or even the survival horror genre to begin with. However, after playing this game, I have checked out other survival horror games. The graphics, gameplay, bosses and the creepy atmosphere makes this game THE BEST game on Gamecube.
  29. DaveS.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Fantastic! Fluid, flowing, addictive, compulsive, ingenious, atmospheric, intriuging. It plays like a true game should, it is constanly action packed, and offers a streaming flow of gameplay. It feels so good to play. Blasting a farmer's head off with a shotgun at point blank range, sending his corpse fly into the villagers behind him so you can make a quick escape, feel so good. The Fantastic! Fluid, flowing, addictive, compulsive, ingenious, atmospheric, intriuging. It plays like a true game should, it is constanly action packed, and offers a streaming flow of gameplay. It feels so good to play. Blasting a farmer's head off with a shotgun at point blank range, sending his corpse fly into the villagers behind him so you can make a quick escape, feel so good. The sounds and voicecasting are perfect. The plot is engrossing. And its the most fun Resi game yet. But it still keeps its creepy atmosphere. The spooky mystery is central to the game,as you unearth the hidden secrets of this fresh slant of the resi series. Expand
  30. Ashlyn
    May 26, 2005
    10
    True story: I have a friend who visits me every six months or so. We're both prolific gamers, so whenever he comes over we stay up all night and play video games. Two years ago, being a loyal RE fan despite the increasing staleness of the franchise, I had bought a GameCube for the Resident Evil "Remake" and I persuaded him to try it. He did, and it took two hours of backtracking True story: I have a friend who visits me every six months or so. We're both prolific gamers, so whenever he comes over we stay up all night and play video games. Two years ago, being a loyal RE fan despite the increasing staleness of the franchise, I had bought a GameCube for the Resident Evil "Remake" and I persuaded him to try it. He did, and it took two hours of backtracking through the same rooms and firing at monotonous off-screen enemies before he lost interest and lamented my decision to get a GameCube in the first place--said pigs would fly before he got one. This year I bought "RE4" and realized that it was one of my favorite games of all time. On game night, I hooked up the GameCube despite his protests and handed him the controller. Within five minutes, he was on his feet trying to keep Leon alive in the first village stage, and after his first chainsaw death we yelled incoherently for two minutes. Then he sat down, pressed "yes" to continue, and remarked to me, quite casually, "I'm gonna buy a GameCube." I was completely floored. So he now has his own GameCube with RE4 decals on it, and he's on his fourth round. We talk about RE on the phone and he keeps me updated on all the cool things he's been finding out with each play-through. So congrats, Capcom--you made pigs fly. Thanks for having the balls to re-invent an established series for something far better. Both my friend and I will be waiting with bated breath for "RE5". Expand
  31. IanC.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This game is worth buying a Gamecube for!!! Never a dull or frustrating moment. Breathtaking in presentation. If you like video games at all, Resident Evil 4 is for you.
  32. RolandL.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    An amazing game... I bought it because of the high rating enjoyed every frustrating seconds of it. I have since lost a lot of sleep over it just playing and playing. I'm not into violent game type but this one stands out!
  33. CozoniW.
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An unexpected pleasure. My faith in the series and the genre has been restored. And thank God RE4 is being released on PS2 as well because it deserves to sell by the bucket load.
  34. S.F.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    The most innovative game in the history of the series.
  35. BrandonE.
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    What can I say? This game is absolutely incredible. I almost soiled myself at various points in the game, both at the sheer terror that it induced in me and the utter coolness of it all. I played it whenever I could for about 5 hours during the week, then when the weekend came, I played it non-stop for over 18 hours, stopping only for a shower and a brief snack. I just couldn't put What can I say? This game is absolutely incredible. I almost soiled myself at various points in the game, both at the sheer terror that it induced in me and the utter coolness of it all. I played it whenever I could for about 5 hours during the week, then when the weekend came, I played it non-stop for over 18 hours, stopping only for a shower and a brief snack. I just couldn't put it down until I had beaten it. I've never had a comparable gaming experience, the closest perhaps being when I played Ocarina of Time back in college. This game really expanded my notions about what a gaming experience could be like in terms of the visceral experience. I don't know necessarily if this will stand the test of time like a Zelda, but at the moment, all I can say is that this game is THE BOMB! Expand
  36. Jim
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    I just got the game I am still in the 1st chapter sec 3 and I am loving every bit of it it is quite possible the best game I have ever played. It just so intense.
  37. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played. It has almost anything a gamer would want - incredible graphics, awesome gameplay, a great story, its all here. Another highlight would be how the boss battles are never tiring or dreadful - they are very entertaining, for the most part. A lot of Resident Evil fans bashed this game for all of the changes, but either way, the changes were Easily one of the best games I have ever played. It has almost anything a gamer would want - incredible graphics, awesome gameplay, a great story, its all here. Another highlight would be how the boss battles are never tiring or dreadful - they are very entertaining, for the most part. A lot of Resident Evil fans bashed this game for all of the changes, but either way, the changes were for the best. If you own a GameCube and haven't played this game, you have no idea what you are missing. Expand
  38. Cory
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    This game proves that Gamecube isnt a joke. This is the best horror/survival video game ever! I cant get enough of blowing a Ganado's head off with the shotgun. The cut scenes are some of the best I've ever seen. This deserves game of the year more than Halo and Half-life.
  39. SFC
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    I'd never have thought that it'd take a new RE to prove once and for all the brilliance of the series. It's amazing to see it achieved such greatness. I've asked myself whether it's lost some of the RE individuality, becayse that seemed to be one of the few issues at hand when talking about RE, and I believe it didn't. The producers just made some sacrifices I'd never have thought that it'd take a new RE to prove once and for all the brilliance of the series. It's amazing to see it achieved such greatness. I've asked myself whether it's lost some of the RE individuality, becayse that seemed to be one of the few issues at hand when talking about RE, and I believe it didn't. The producers just made some sacrifices which paid off really well.They may not be zombies, but they're more ferocious, the story is a la RE and you've still got Leon, for all that counts. It's the same universe, just another planet. Expand
  40. BenH.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    This game rocks.. i give it 10 because i cant really expect any better then this.. Its is a massive improvement on all the previous RE installments. Only one thuing that i think would be good. A STRAFE BUTTON.. or something like it. Maybe it does exist.. if it does email me.
  41. TroyE.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    I had never played a Resident Evil game before. Then i got this, the most amazing game of 2005. After beating it a couple of time with the Handcannon, Infininte Rocket Launcher, and the Chicago Typwriter, I played my frinds copy of Resident Evil 3: Nemisis and was AMAZED by the difference. All in all, Resident Evi 4 kick ass.l
  42. JoeM.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Kool fatalities, kool enemies, brilliant graphics, long long gameplay, best game ever, need i say more?
  43. BurimB.
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  44. JakeR.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    It's sweet.
  45. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Almost a perfect game. The graphics are top notch and are absolutely stunning to look at. The control scheme as been heavily improved upon the old tired RE formula to a much easier control set-up. The gameplay is the best there ever could be for horror games. The escort missions don't even bother you. Its just so fun. The AI is much much smarter and the button pressing during Almost a perfect game. The graphics are top notch and are absolutely stunning to look at. The control scheme as been heavily improved upon the old tired RE formula to a much easier control set-up. The gameplay is the best there ever could be for horror games. The escort missions don't even bother you. Its just so fun. The AI is much much smarter and the button pressing during cut-scenes make you feel much more invloved and keep you on the edge of your seat, I don't get scared by the horror genre and this is no exception but this is the best of its kind especially since the camera angles are good. The bosses are very very cool as well and it'll excite you. I have few complaints 1. You can't move while firing which is huge for me and 2,. The acting is pretty bad. This is a buy without a doubt. Now go by a cube and get RE4! What PS2 version? Don't wait! Besides it'll have worse graphics and its a good guess it'll have long load times. Trust me this is one of the best games of 05' Expand
  46. OmarR.
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    O my god!!!!! This game is banging. It's the best game I've ever played. Who ever gives it a 9 or lower is a ratarted nerd.
  47. TaylorK.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    If you haven't played this game, you missing out on a game that will always be remembered as one of the greatest games made. Truly One of the best of the best games ever made, trust me its worth buying a game cube just to get this game, Just one thing, why can all games have this much intensity and passion like this game has unleashed?!!!!!
  48. FredB.
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    I played it about 6 times all the way through and I loved it as much the 6th time as I did the first.
  49. JohnB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    7
    Well, compared to most videogames nowadays, it was pretty damn good, but I feel this generation is deteriorating. As time goes by, all we demand is better and better graphics, smoother and smoother fps, better and performance when no one seems to realize that with every new system they pump out, gameplay stays the same or gets worse. Yes Resident Evil 4 was good and something fresh, but Well, compared to most videogames nowadays, it was pretty damn good, but I feel this generation is deteriorating. As time goes by, all we demand is better and better graphics, smoother and smoother fps, better and performance when no one seems to realize that with every new system they pump out, gameplay stays the same or gets worse. Yes Resident Evil 4 was good and something fresh, but at the end I still felt unsatisfied. I agree with the review by "Gamer's Hell" criticizing how the game becomes drawn out towards the end, becoming almost mindless killing, making no more than seemingly interactive B-rated Arnold movie. There was minimal thinking involved and one's goal was to speed towards the cutscenes as fast as possible. Strangely enough, I suspect we've turn into nothing but a bunch of zombies ourselves, satisfied with anything that feeds our visual bloodlust. Time will probably cause this game to age away like a rusted machine rather than like fine wine, but hopefully by then, gamers and gamemakers will open their eyes and invest more time into the actual gamePLAYING itself rather than how fast or well the graphics can run. If not, I'd rather just watch a movie. Though this game has alot of flaws, it is a very good start in terms of this generation finally shedding their technogically gluttunous attitudes and appealing to audiences through glimpses of real videogame playing. Expand
  50. SkaterAce
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Excellent the game is a mind blowing experience with a clever use of the over the shoulder camera. I love it.
  51. CristianC.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    this game is the best game ever. i can't stop playing it it's that good it kicks ass! The unlockable weapons are so cool and makes the game so fun.I hate the ps2 it sucks and wanted resident evil4 only because it's the best game out there. the only problem is Ashley she dies way! to easily and also leon he also easily. but other than that anyone who thinks this game sucks this game is the best game ever. i can't stop playing it it's that good it kicks ass! The unlockable weapons are so cool and makes the game so fun.I hate the ps2 it sucks and wanted resident evil4 only because it's the best game out there. the only problem is Ashley she dies way! to easily and also leon he also easily. but other than that anyone who thinks this game sucks they're just idiot, like my friend aaron, he thinks it's geeting but that hell of not true the resident evil series is great and a classic. Expand
  52. KenM.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing game for the Gamecube. Must have game!
  53. ShaneS.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Look folks. I'm one picky ass-gamer. Please don't confuse me with the legions of 12 year old kiddies rating all decent games a 10. Windwaker was short, and boring. Metroid Prime lacked the arcade feel of old metroid games and the bosses were way too easy. Pikmin 2 is a sad primitive clone of PC strategy games wrapped up in a cute little world. But RE4. Ahh RE4. Never in my life Look folks. I'm one picky ass-gamer. Please don't confuse me with the legions of 12 year old kiddies rating all decent games a 10. Windwaker was short, and boring. Metroid Prime lacked the arcade feel of old metroid games and the bosses were way too easy. Pikmin 2 is a sad primitive clone of PC strategy games wrapped up in a cute little world. But RE4. Ahh RE4. Never in my life have I seen context sensitive actions, FPS (only behind the back) gameplay, challenging boss battles, challenging unique varied enemies, and constant change of action blended together into such perfection!! Context sesitive actions are added at just the right time, to give a lifelike feel to the game. You can "check" many items in the game to get a eerie discription of what's going on. It addes gread atmosphere. The behind the back view is great. You can only shoot when standing still which means you cannot run from the zombies.. You have to kill them before they get to you!!! It makes for intense gameplay. The boss battles are all challenging and unique. From facing a berserk soldier gone mad, to spearing a giant salamander which being tugged along in a tny rowboat, to running for your life from Salazar's right hand man. The enemies are varied and challenging. Some enemies have crossbows and shoot from a long way off. Some pepper you with dynamite sticks. Some blow flames at your carnaval style. Some just run towards you with a chainsaw, and near invincability, some are blind with good hearing and the ablity to hack you to peices if they discover your location. Some sneak attack you from above, to hurl acid onto you. Some are invincable to all but the most careful avenues of attack. Oh the list goes on and on. Plus the mere zombies attack you en mass. It's not a FPS game at all. It's a game of crowd control. 10-30 enemies are all after you at once. They aim to corner you in and smother you. You must use your wits, and guns to keep them at bay. Merely shooting random enemies will only get your killed. You must outthink your zombie opponent's or simply die. Anyway in conclusion this one of the best games ever made. It stands right up there with Ocarina of Time, as one of the best. I'm not kidding you. I'm the world's most picky gamer and even I love it. Expand
  54. [Anonymous]
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Fantastic and addictive gameplay. Stunning sound and visuals, smart AI and a great new control system. RE4 is a must buy.
  55. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Generally, I'm opposed to games that are this gory, but taken in context, RE4 couldn't really be done any other way. The gameplay simply blows my mind (why can't all games be this intense and well-made?!?) and the attention to every little detail is fantastic. The boss fights are epic and wonderful, too, and the game is really authentically freaky. Be careful, though: this Generally, I'm opposed to games that are this gory, but taken in context, RE4 couldn't really be done any other way. The gameplay simply blows my mind (why can't all games be this intense and well-made?!?) and the attention to every little detail is fantastic. The boss fights are epic and wonderful, too, and the game is really authentically freaky. Be careful, though: this game is the very definition of the M rating. By the end of the game, you'll have decapitated countless mindless fiends (and you probably will have been decapitated, or mutilated, or crushed several times too) Language is minimal, though (what's up with the warning before the title screen?) and there's no sex or drugs. Most of the violence is aimed at inhuman beasts or possessed kind-of-humans. But still, nobody below 18 should even consider playing this game. For all those who meet that criterion ought to at least check RE4 out - it's simply stunning. Expand
  56. BenjaminB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    If you are looking for a masterpiece, this is the game. great control scheme, great graphics, great sound and a feeling of suspense which makes you feel you are in a really great horror-movie. buy it.
  57. J.Valliere
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    One of the best video games I've ever played. It was a great gaming experience that lasted much longer than previous RE games. I loved the new controls, the new inventory system, and the over-the-shoulder camera angles. I LOVED the use of actions in the midst of cut-screen movies; very innovative. My favorite RE game by far!
  58. SamG.
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    This game is the best game ever made to me, the other people that don't like this game pretty much does have no good taste in games. Now I can't wait for "Resident Evil 5".
  59. DannyT.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This game is so awesome! There are things that jump out of nowhere and scare the living crap out of ya but over all the game is worth a 10 because of its shooting style (not like the old 007 games lol) and story line.
  60. AlexA.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    I would like to start by saying that all the other people who say the story is amazing are wrong. For me the story was awful and extremely repetitive, guy saves girl, guy attempts to return girl to her father, girl gets captured, guy saves girl etc. The reason i like this game is because the gameplay is amazing the controls are so simple a monkey could play it. I don't see anything I would like to start by saying that all the other people who say the story is amazing are wrong. For me the story was awful and extremely repetitive, guy saves girl, guy attempts to return girl to her father, girl gets captured, guy saves girl etc. The reason i like this game is because the gameplay is amazing the controls are so simple a monkey could play it. I don't see anything wrong with repetitive gameplay as long as its good gameplay. The boss battles are awesome, its not like most other games when you die you get pissed but in RE 4 if you die your like you son of a bitch and then you want to go back and beat it. The weapon upgrades were also a nice touch in most other games you can just by new better weapons rather than upgrading the ones you already have. All in all this is (despite it's annoying story line) one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  61. DieselC
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    A must play and must have game. It is everything you'd want in a game. while not perfect it is a rare gem.
  62. XinhuaZ
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I got about 25 hours to complete the best action-adventure game in history,and found it amazing to enjoy the horrible tour in the such a real game.i think its graphic is above all other games in history.real action and continuous plot makes it game of the year.strongly expecting the next generation in ps3 and xbox 360.i doubt if it will be any other games can match this game lah! the game I got about 25 hours to complete the best action-adventure game in history,and found it amazing to enjoy the horrible tour in the such a real game.i think its graphic is above all other games in history.real action and continuous plot makes it game of the year.strongly expecting the next generation in ps3 and xbox 360.i doubt if it will be any other games can match this game lah! the game contains so many things amazing enough to surprise me to continue the game and makes it fantastic!all the surroundings are so well difined that you think you are playing in the real world. Expand
  63. AlanD.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever, i have never played a Resident Evil game until 4. My friend has a gamecube, and he said that i shoul get it when it comes out on PS2, so i rented it, and i have concludet the this game kicks!
  64. SamD.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the top 50 games ever, not to mention one of the top five shooters ever. best game on gc.
  65. PlixiKWhommings
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    The game just rocks!
  66. MattA.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    I just played this game for the first time and it blew me away! The village part is like your playing a role in a movie and you actually get an adrenaline rush as you think on your feet about what to do. No zombies... not a problem anymore... these guys are doing just fine.
  67. JohnathanH.
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Point blank... you need to buy this game. No Gamecube? Buy yourself one.
  68. BrendenC.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    i say this game rules one for allt he enemys you can fight. two for all the weapons you can find buy and upgrade. and last of all it never gets boring nomatter how many times you play it. and every time you beat it and start over you can keep the weapons that you had when you finished.
  69. Mother
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    RE4 is unquestionably the best game on the market...all platforms...all years. Nothing touches this game. Nothing. Don't have a Gamecube yet? The time is NOW. RE4 awaits you, and it takes no prisoners. Believe me, the hype is real. 15 minutes into the game you'll be mashing the "pause" button on your controller to check your pulse. You have been warned.
  70. AaronD.
    Jan 13, 2005
    9
    This is a much needed sequel to a series that was on its last leg. RE4's gamplay is completely overhauled wich results in amazingly fast paced action not yet seen in a surrvival horror game.
  71. BuddyLove
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    WOW!!! This game could kick my friends out of my house.
  72. JoseQ.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Absolutely stunning, great atmosphere, pace of action is great, graphics are unequaled, and absolutely a blast to play.
  73. Tony
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    The controls blew me away, it is so fun and scary with good sound, and great graphics.
  74. TomC.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    ... One who has a gamecube, and does not have this game within their collection is truly a disgrace to all those who have the system everywhere. This is truly the best game I've played in this console generation in terms of graphics, gameplay, sound, and everything... It's all there. If you are reading this comment and haven't purchase this game, run to the store RIGHT now.
  75. MickaP
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Simply put... RE4 is the best video game I have ever played!
  76. 63
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    I had read the hype, and I didn't believe a game could be this good. I have beaten it one time and can say that this is the AB-SO-LUTE best game ever created. When the credits rolled I was upset because I wanted more; guess what, there IS more. I couldn't believe it when I saw two new game modes pop up AND a new difficulty AND a new costume for the normal game mode. Although I had read the hype, and I didn't believe a game could be this good. I have beaten it one time and can say that this is the AB-SO-LUTE best game ever created. When the credits rolled I was upset because I wanted more; guess what, there IS more. I couldn't believe it when I saw two new game modes pop up AND a new difficulty AND a new costume for the normal game mode. Although many have tried, there is no explaining how incredibly amazing this game is. I loved Ninja Gaiden. I thought no game on this generation of consoles would beat it. I was naive. Get RE4 now. Expand
  77. MahebruH.
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    An OUTSTANDING game. Saying it's the greatest game in the Resident Evil series is a modest, timid understatement that doesn't nearly describe the game's fun potency. It is, for certain, one of the greatest games of all time.
  78. Sam
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    A terrifying and gourgeous masterpiece. The plot is well done and the gameplay can be considered at the absouloute least amazing. The are times where the music is a bit odd, but that flaw is overseen. Like Prince of Persia The Warrior Within, it's a sequel taking the franchise to unexplored areas, and it does a damn well job at doing that. An even better thing is it will also come to A terrifying and gourgeous masterpiece. The plot is well done and the gameplay can be considered at the absouloute least amazing. The are times where the music is a bit odd, but that flaw is overseen. Like Prince of Persia The Warrior Within, it's a sequel taking the franchise to unexplored areas, and it does a damn well job at doing that. An even better thing is it will also come to the PS2 so PS2 owners, don't feel sad. Bravo Capcom, Bravo. Expand
  79. SeanD.
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    WOW! Just simply greatness here. Every flaw fixed, everything is so different but so great, the ability to but things, more space, more ammo, etc. etc. I never was a fan but if they keep makin em like these. I will keep buying them. WOW!
  80. Wingman47g
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This game is the most exciting best looking and most crap your pantsmoments game.
  81. JustinDePadre
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    The best damn survival horor game ever! Best Console graphics to this date. Nuff said
  82. Jean-PierreD.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    J'ai 28 ans et je m'intéresse depuis toujours au jeux vidéo depuis la superbe console colécovision. Qui aurait pensé que 20 ans plus tard, nous aurions droit a ce niveau de graphisme?? I'M speechless, this game is the most georgeous thing i've ever seen...
  83. MikeW.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Simply a masterpiece and a showcase for this generation.
  84. LuiggiR.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    My all time favorite game. It wasabsolutely perfect in every way. Graphics, gameplay, and levels were perfectly done and choreographed. Capcom did excellent work for their fourth installment of this incredible series. Very addictive and insperational. A joy to play.
  85. WillL.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The best game of this generation. It immerses you in a world like no game has since Ocarina of Time.
  86. ZackO.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    THIS is what video games are all about. This game, resident evil 4, is the premier piece of entertainment in the twenty first century. Games these days are about technological prowess and sophistication, and developers usually forget about the most important aspect of video games: FUN. This game returns to the roots of the essence of video games, a stunning adventure into a mystical THIS is what video games are all about. This game, resident evil 4, is the premier piece of entertainment in the twenty first century. Games these days are about technological prowess and sophistication, and developers usually forget about the most important aspect of video games: FUN. This game returns to the roots of the essence of video games, a stunning adventure into a mystical imaginary world where anything can happen. Forget about the amazing graphics. forget about the top-notch control and camera system. What makes this game the best game that i have ever played is the fact that it will not give you a breather, it will not relent in attacking your senses, and it will not stop being astoundingly FUN throughout the entire experience. There has to be at least 50 moments in this game where i say to myself "man, that was awesome" or "man, i gotta see what happens next". The moment you think you can put down your controller and take a deep breath after youve cleared an area and a cutscene comes up, you better think again buddy. Even the cinematics in this game require you to have your trigger finger ready, because you never know when the guy in the cutscene will throw a knife at your head in a split second, or when the giant monster youre talking to will try to eat you. Besides the save points, this game never stops attacking you. And even when you complete the lengthy adventure and you think its over, youve only scratched the surface. A ton of awesome extras appear after you complete the story mode the first time, and they will attract you to do it all over again. Superb. Expand
  87. LeslieT
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    IT IS THE GREATEST GAME EVER!!! no other game can beat it... its awesome you just need to play it no matter what kind of games you like its just awesome. it is by far the best game i have ever played trust me people you will love it
  88. PatK.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    This game is the shisnaz. I love this game but u hav to put up wit the girl.
  89. KeeganB
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    This game is flawless. I have beat this game many times and gotten everything but yet I still play it now because the game is just so awesome, I really hope RE5 uses this exact style of gameplay again because this game is on my top3 best games ever list. If you died but had this game in your hand people would remember you as the guy that died holding the best game ever.
  90. Michelle
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Simply put, if you're a fan of videogames, pick this one up. This is a genre-definer and then some. And to that guy below me who says it's too easy, well, the initial game's difficulty adjusts to your gameplay, so if you die a lot and your hit ratio's low, then of course you get an easier ride. It's that simple. Likewise, if you're like me and have only Simply put, if you're a fan of videogames, pick this one up. This is a genre-definer and then some. And to that guy below me who says it's too easy, well, the initial game's difficulty adjusts to your gameplay, so if you die a lot and your hit ratio's low, then of course you get an easier ride. It's that simple. Likewise, if you're like me and have only twelve deaths and 80% hit ratio, then it's a tough mother. But when you beat this game, it will leave you with a sense of accomplishment you don't get from other games. Expand
  91. TimH.
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    You really need to let yourself be killed in every horrible disgusting way in this game so you can see just how amazingly detailed and terrifying the creatures are.
  92. AlexC.
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    Best game ever good graphics and every thing.
  93. VincentP.
    Feb 13, 2005
    9
    There's nothing else to say: one of the funniest game in years. You will play it over and over again. Big action, no more stupid puzzles -even if there are some- or keys with spades or hearts, astonishing graphic, good storyline... and Leon is too cool! Capcom reinvented RE and did a great job (so why DMC 3 is so lame?). A must buy for ALL Gamecube players and RE fans.
  94. Blood
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. The gameplay is better than all other resident evils out there and the unlockable weapons are kick ass!
  95. BLajhB.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Very Cool!!! way to hard in some places.
  96. MariaL.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This game has spoiled me. Now nothing else I play seems to be as good; when I watch cutscenes in games now--even the best ones--they seem too jerky or unrealistic or too, well, un-interactive. When I play an FPS it doesn't give me the same satisfaction as blowing off a Ganado's head. When I look at character models in other games, they don't seem as impressive or as This game has spoiled me. Now nothing else I play seems to be as good; when I watch cutscenes in games now--even the best ones--they seem too jerky or unrealistic or too, well, un-interactive. When I play an FPS it doesn't give me the same satisfaction as blowing off a Ganado's head. When I look at character models in other games, they don't seem as impressive or as sufficient as they used to before I got my hands on RE4. This game is a revelation--the bosses are incredible (no mindless pump-them-full-of-lead-until-they-drop scenario here), the scenarios are breathtaking (from the first village assault to the cabin invasion to the first sniping mission to the mine cart ride), and the escort mission is actually fun (!). Nothing I've ever played before remotely compares to the RE4 final package. Thank you, RE4, for making me expect more out of video games from here onwards, no matter how unrealistic that may be. I have one concern, though: how is Capcom going to top this with RE5? Expand
  97. DemonicAngel
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    Amazing graphics and sound, extremely compelling gameplay and a very high level of polish. However, a sometimes excessive and occasionally utterly unfair difficulty level (on Normal) drags the rating down somewhat. OK, it's supposed to be survival horror, but even so, I don't much enjoy being barricaded into a cabin and swamped by horde after horde of ganados with no apparent Amazing graphics and sound, extremely compelling gameplay and a very high level of polish. However, a sometimes excessive and occasionally utterly unfair difficulty level (on Normal) drags the rating down somewhat. OK, it's supposed to be survival horror, but even so, I don't much enjoy being barricaded into a cabin and swamped by horde after horde of ganados with no apparent end in sight. An impressive achievement, but I'd probably rent it first if I had the choice again. Expand
  98. YousefR.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    This is amazingly the best game i have ever seen in my whole life.The graphics are great, the story is amusing,and the zombies are wicked sick.This game is the only game that should come to mind for gamecube.The only thing i would say is bad is that the presidents daughter keeps talking, other than that this game is a no-brainer as they say.
  99. RaulC.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I´m a PS2 fan, I owned and loved my PS1, and if I´ve had to choose a second console, it sure would be the Xbox. But after I played RE4(I´m a huge RE fan too!), I must say, without a doubt, that this could easily the single, most complete, and incredible game experience on this console generation. Even compared with Halo2, MGS3, GTA San Andreas, GT4, all of this a 10 on I´m a PS2 fan, I owned and loved my PS1, and if I´ve had to choose a second console, it sure would be the Xbox. But after I played RE4(I´m a huge RE fan too!), I must say, without a doubt, that this could easily the single, most complete, and incredible game experience on this console generation. Even compared with Halo2, MGS3, GTA San Andreas, GT4, all of this a 10 on my list, RE4 would came on top, simply because instead of being an improvement of tried and tested gameplay scheme, this game came to revolutionize no only the RE series, but all the genre aswell. Throw in, if you like, the two PC gems of Doom 3 and the great above all Half Life 2, compare the years of development of both games with RE4, and it woul be still came on top in an overall, time-to-innovation package. For me, only HALO and GT3, would be as important for gameplay innovation on the current console generation, and both of them were a lot less polished than this. A masterpiece that should be enjoyed by everyone, even if you(like myself) don´t own a Gamecube, and even if you don´t want to do so, do yourself a favor, borrow a cube(like I did) and play this. I only hope that the PS2 version keeps all this greatness...(but don´t wait till then, play it now!) Expand
  100. TylerM.
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    This game has awsome grphics! I thought it would be the usual resident evil games before this 1. I was so very wrong. I have not played this game but it looks very nice and seems to handle pretty good.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    95
    10 / 9 / 9 / 10 - 38 platinum [Jan 2005]
  2. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is the tightest, most accessible game in the series and one of the best games out there.
  3. Magnificent. It's a terrific, if tardy, showcase for the GameCube, and it's every bit as worthy as the Halos, the GTAs, and the MGSes of this generation. This is a stunning return to form. (Happy Trails, GMR staff!) [Feb 2005]