Resident Evil 4 GameCube

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 4 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 4 HD - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Be afraid. The intelligent, fast-moving fiends who stalk special agent Leon Kennedy will almost make you yearn for the embrace of old-fashioned brain-hungry cadavers.
  2. The best looking console game of all time. It is its franchise's redeemer. It is a masterpiece of video game storytelling. It is genuinely tense and occasionally even scary. It is one of the best action games ever released.
  3. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is the tightest, most accessible game in the series and one of the best games out there.
  4. netjak
    97
    This game has officially spoiled me. Literally everything about Resident Evil 4 is oozing with style and meticulous attention to detail.
  5. The atmosphere still feels tense, but you no longer feel like a helpless victim that has no hope of survival; rather, you feel like an action hero with all the right moves for a Hollywood summer blockbuster, big guns and all.
  6. Few words can explain the sheer joy of playing it, because it's constantly throwing up new things to marvel at. And it just feels so affirming to play a game this confident, this well-crafted, this, well, fun.
  7. As good as it is though, it isn't perfect, which shows that the whole concept of a wholly linear 3rd person "horror" shooter wasn't all that great to begin with. I put horror in quotes because the game never actually scared me once, but if you're a squeamish pre-teen who can't watch Jurassic Park without wetting the bed this might not be an experience you'll enjoy.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 352
  1. JoeP.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Best Resident Evil ever. With the new targeting it makes killing the zombies (well, they are not zombies) fun. The gameplay is 10 times Best Resident Evil ever. With the new targeting it makes killing the zombies (well, they are not zombies) fun. The gameplay is 10 times funner and the game is not slow. You'll want to beat it in one seating. This is a must have. Expand
  2. Mr.Trey
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This game is simply amazing. There was so much hype I was somewhat worried if it would be demeaned by all the publicity (i.e. halo 2). It This game is simply amazing. There was so much hype I was somewhat worried if it would be demeaned by all the publicity (i.e. halo 2). It acctually blew my mind more than I had expected. When I first saw the screen shots I thought, "Those don't look THAT great." Then, I played the game and everything changed. I can't believe it looks that good ALL the time. I noticed some critics didn't really enjoy the story. Maybe it's not your critque, but I always liked the story line, even if it does get a bit lengthy, some games are so great action and playing wise the story isn't as important (i.e. devil may cry). Probably my favorite part is the fact you can aim at your enemies, even if there are about oh 5 coming at you at once and all you have is a pistol. It adds a new level of strategy of play, and the creepy part is they start to predict your moves if you do one thing too much, like shooting their heads out everytime will eventually lead them to duck out of the way. While there are a few small problems like no strafing, the cinematic view making it somewhat small for my TV, and the same villagers designs, they are so sparse and trivial that it doesn't hurt the gameplay. I think that there are 4 major games for every big system (xbox, ps2, pc, and gcn). They are halo 2, gta:sa, half-life 2, and resident evil 4, respectively. Halo 2 definetly didn't live up to what I had heard, I enjoy the old goldeneye or perfect dark over that game. GTA:SA was very good, although some of the missions were just irritating to do. And I've never played Half-Life 2. But in my opinion, Resident Evil 4 is the best new game to get, and is currently 2nd in my favorite games of all time (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is 1st, what else?). Expand
  3. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint about RE4 is the lack of a quick select for weapons and items.(instead of pausing for the inventory)
    but it's all because of the gamecube controller's limitations.
    so
    Expand
  4. Peter
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  5. ZackO.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    THIS is what video games are all about. This game, resident evil 4, is the premier piece of entertainment in the twenty first century. Games THIS is what video games are all about. This game, resident evil 4, is the premier piece of entertainment in the twenty first century. Games these days are about technological prowess and sophistication, and developers usually forget about the most important aspect of video games: FUN. This game returns to the roots of the essence of video games, a stunning adventure into a mystical imaginary world where anything can happen. Forget about the amazing graphics. forget about the top-notch control and camera system. What makes this game the best game that i have ever played is the fact that it will not give you a breather, it will not relent in attacking your senses, and it will not stop being astoundingly FUN throughout the entire experience. There has to be at least 50 moments in this game where i say to myself "man, that was awesome" or "man, i gotta see what happens next". The moment you think you can put down your controller and take a deep breath after youve cleared an area and a cutscene comes up, you better think again buddy. Even the cinematics in this game require you to have your trigger finger ready, because you never know when the guy in the cutscene will throw a knife at your head in a split second, or when the giant monster youre talking to will try to eat you. Besides the save points, this game never stops attacking you. And even when you complete the lengthy adventure and you think its over, youve only scratched the surface. A ton of awesome extras appear after you complete the story mode the first time, and they will attract you to do it all over again. Superb. Expand
  6. XinhuaZ
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I got about 25 hours to complete the best action-adventure game in history,and found it amazing to enjoy the horrible tour in the such a real I got about 25 hours to complete the best action-adventure game in history,and found it amazing to enjoy the horrible tour in the such a real game.i think its graphic is above all other games in history.real action and continuous plot makes it game of the year.strongly expecting the next generation in ps3 and xbox 360.i doubt if it will be any other games can match this game lah! the game contains so many things amazing enough to surprise me to continue the game and makes it fantastic!all the surroundings are so well difined that you think you are playing in the real world. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2014
    0
    I don't know where to start. RE4 disappointed me. I don't know know why many idiots out there says it's the best survival horror game. Re4 wasI don't know where to start. RE4 disappointed me. I don't know know why many idiots out there says it's the best survival horror game. Re4 was NEVER in a million years a survival horror game. RE 4 is the reason why the series is in a bad shape nowadays. The game was so action oriented. It introduced many things shouldn't have been introduced like:
    _it turned into a third person shooter game (doesn't have a dynamic camera angles like RE 0- CV).
    _There are no puzzles, and the game relied only on shooting, killing enemies, and the weapons have so many ammos (like COD).
    _It introduced Quick Time Events (no need for it).
    _enemies dropping items like ammos and money (why the hell is that?) this is one of the main reasons why it's not a survival horror game.

    Besides, It has a crappy story that didn't feel it belongs to re universe and because of that I think it was better be off a spin off or perhaps it should have another name.

    Shinji Mikami went to the wrong direction with this game. He blamed the poor sales of Re remake on it, and thats why he made it an action game. Well, if he was smart enough, he would have made ps2, and xbox version of re remake, and this way the sales would had been improved, and he would have to turn re4 into an action game, and the series wouldn't have turned into a disaster.

    Utterly disappointed. If you have a deep love for the survival horror genre. I recommend you not to pick this game up and praised it the wrong way like most critics did.
    Expand

See all 352 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005