Resident Evil 4 GameCube

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 4 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 801 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Be afraid. The intelligent, fast-moving fiends who stalk special agent Leon Kennedy will almost make you yearn for the embrace of old-fashioned brain-hungry cadavers.
  2. The best looking console game of all time. It is its franchise's redeemer. It is a masterpiece of video game storytelling. It is genuinely tense and occasionally even scary. It is one of the best action games ever released.
  3. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is the tightest, most accessible game in the series and one of the best games out there.
  4. netjak
    97
    This game has officially spoiled me. Literally everything about Resident Evil 4 is oozing with style and meticulous attention to detail.
  5. The atmosphere still feels tense, but you no longer feel like a helpless victim that has no hope of survival; rather, you feel like an action hero with all the right moves for a Hollywood summer blockbuster, big guns and all.
  6. Few words can explain the sheer joy of playing it, because it's constantly throwing up new things to marvel at. And it just feels so affirming to play a game this confident, this well-crafted, this, well, fun.
  7. As good as it is though, it isn't perfect, which shows that the whole concept of a wholly linear 3rd person "horror" shooter wasn't all that great to begin with. I put horror in quotes because the game never actually scared me once, but if you're a squeamish pre-teen who can't watch Jurassic Park without wetting the bed this might not be an experience you'll enjoy.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 347
  1. JoeP.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Best Resident Evil ever. With the new targeting it makes killing the zombies (well, they are not zombies) fun. The gameplay is 10 times Best Resident Evil ever. With the new targeting it makes killing the zombies (well, they are not zombies) fun. The gameplay is 10 times funner and the game is not slow. You'll want to beat it in one seating. This is a must have. Expand
  2. ChristianH.
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    There is nothing wrong with it. Everything is right.
  3. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint
    an atmospheric and revolutionary game that surpasses every other game within the survival horror genre ti'll this day.
    My only complaint about RE4 is the lack of a quick select for weapons and items.(instead of pausing for the inventory)
    but it's all because of the gamecube controller's limitations.
    so
    Collapse
  4. EricS.
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    This is what happens when Link and Joanna Dark make whoopie! Nothing is sweeter than droping a fool by cuttin him off at the knees, and then This is what happens when Link and Joanna Dark make whoopie! Nothing is sweeter than droping a fool by cuttin him off at the knees, and then while standing over him, obliterating his skull with your riot gun. Sure some might say killing zombiesque people isn't as fun as goldeneye or other FPS's but the number of enemies you face is much greater and they don't stop comming. one more thing... when you die in this game, have your phone near by... you might need an ambulance when your heart pops out of your chest! Expand
  5. OtmerW.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    One of the best games of all time, pushes its way right up there with the halo series! Graphics are astounding and the gameplay will keep you One of the best games of all time, pushes its way right up there with the halo series! Graphics are astounding and the gameplay will keep you on your toes for hours upon end! Expand
  6. MenachemR
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    To Bryan S: You smiled the entire time? Really? Even when you were being decapitated by guillotines and iron clad monsters were gouging your To Bryan S: You smiled the entire time? Really? Even when you were being decapitated by guillotines and iron clad monsters were gouging your eyes out with their claws? If the answer is yes you have some serious emotional problems my friend ;) Also, to ensure that the editors of Metacritic will post my comment, I'll add my opinion that this is one of the best videogames ever Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2014
    0
    I don't know where to start. RE4 disappointed me. I don't know know why many idiots out there says it's the best survival horror game. Re4 wasI don't know where to start. RE4 disappointed me. I don't know know why many idiots out there says it's the best survival horror game. Re4 was NEVER in a million years a survival horror game. RE 4 is the reason why the series is in a bad shape nowadays. The game was so action oriented. It introduced many things shouldn't have been introduced like:
    _it turned into a third person shooter game (doesn't have a dynamic camera angles like RE 0- CV).
    _There are no puzzles, and the game relied only on shooting, killing enemies, and the weapons have so many ammos (like COD).
    _It introduced Quick Time Events (no need for it).
    _enemies dropping items like ammos and money (why the hell is that?) this is one of the main reasons why it's not a survival horror game.

    Besides, It has a crappy story that didn't feel it belongs to re universe and because of that I think it was better be off a spin off or perhaps it should have another name.

    Shinji Mikami went to the wrong direction with this game. He blamed the poor sales of Re remake on it, and thats why he made it an action game. Well, if he was smart enough, he would have made ps2, and xbox version of re remake, and this way the sales would had been improved, and he would have to turn re4 into an action game, and the series wouldn't have turned into a disaster.

    Utterly disappointed. If you have a deep love for the survival horror genre. I recommend you not to pick this game up and praised it the wrong way like most critics did.
    Expand

See all 347 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005