Resident Evil GameCube

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 30, 2002
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. The graphics are some of the best we have ever witnessed in a game to date, the storyline has been refined giving you more information about Umbrella and STARS, the game itself is pure genius.
  2. With better effects (the lighting and environments are better than some movies-like, say, the Resident Evil movie) and slicker motion-capture animation, the new, improved Resident Evil regains the throne as horror-action video game king.
  3. Play Magazine
    100
    As much as I praise RE for the way it feels in my hands, I find amazing power in the mood and beauty of its images. There is a detail and complexity in the corners and backgrounds that we could never hope to expect before. [June 2002, p.58]
  4. GameNow
    100
    Simply said: This remake is a horror masterpiece. [June 2002, p.61]
  5. Resident Evil on GameCube redefines fear...You think you know, but you have no idea.
  6. I have played RE on the PSX about 14 times and know it like the back of my palm, but this one still took me awhile.
  7. 100
    From the moment the first cutscene runs, you are totally sucked in. Your heart rate jumps as you walk through the hallways, and no feeling is worse than being out of ammo and wounded… everything about this game sucks you into the role of the characters.
  8. Nintendo Power
    98
    A survival horror masterpiece that ranks among the best sensory scares of any medium. [June 2002, p.148]
  9. You MUST experience Resident Evil. Swoon at the graphics, cringe at the gore and prepare your nerves for the ride of their lives.
  10. In the spirit of the whole new-beginnings thing, let me lift the poster-slogan from the old '70s horror movie "Phantasm:" IF THIS ONE DOESN'T SCARE YOU, YOU'RE ALREADY DEAD!
  11. If you've never played RE before, the remake will scare you to death. And if you have played through it before, it still will scare you to death! Maybe not as much, but you will jump out of your seat at least once -- I guarantee it.
  12. Games Radar
    94
    [Biohazzard] This is GC's real killer game. It's worth getting the console for and surpasses all that you could hope for from a remake.We crave the UK release like zombies crave brains. [GamesMaster Magazine]
  13. Game Informer
    93
    As was the case seven years ago, I jumped out of my seat more times than I care to admit. The suspense is far greater. The gore more defined. [June 2002, p.80]
  14. If you're a fan of Resident Evil then playing this game will be like a dream for you. This is how Capcom must have wanted to do it the first time but couldn't due to limiting technology of the time they got the idea. I guess you could say RE came before it's time…kind of like Leonardo de Vinci making plans for a helicopter.
  15. I still think this is the GameCube's equivalent of "Halo."
  16. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    92
    Not only do the backgrounds look amazing, but their realism combined with the confining effects of fixed camera angles makes this the scariest RE of all. [June 2002, p.116]
  17. 91
    A masterpiece of macabre mayhem, encased in a graphical shell so realistic you'll be wincing at every arterial spray and brutal decapitation.
  18. You have to play the game in the dark, with the volume cranked up, to really appreciate all this game has to offer. If you're into scary games, you won't find anything better than this.
  19. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    While the controls can be frustrating, the creepy ambiance is taken to a whole new level. [31 May 2002, p.112]
  20. The original game looked great when it came out on the PSX, but compared to this GC version, it looks like "Pong"...anyone with even a vague taste for rotten meat should look into it immediately.
  21. GMR Magazine
    90
    This remake could almost be described as a new game. But is it really Resident Evil without the laughably bad voice acting? [Feb 2003, p.96]
  22. 90
    The prettiest, most atmospheric and all-around scariest game we've ever played.
  23. Everything in the background of the mansion hallways, courtyards, rooms, etc. is extremely detailed, right up to a little pile of dust on an old table.
  24. There's a surprising amount of strategy involved in fighting the zombies, especially when dealing with more than one.
  25. It is undeniably one of the best looking games ever made for any platform, period. The sound and music are appriopriately spooky.
  26. It starts a bit on the slow side, but I still stand firm in my belief that Resident Evil is one of the strongest video games on the market.
  27. 90
    For an intense night of absolute terror, this game will give you a gaming experience that you won't soon forget.
  28. It's a game dripping with atmosphere, literally, and ranks as one of the most impressive GameCube achievements in sound and visuals to date.
  29. With the exception of the dated control scheme, Capcom has nearly perfected its craft and created the best Resident Evil ever.
  30. Who would have thought that a visual makeover and a few gameplay tweaks could render an otherwise obsolete game into a incredibly entertaining experience that defies all expectations?
  31. An incredibly impressive re-imagining of a gaming classic.
  32. 80
    An engrossing experience with a horrific backbone.
  33. 80
    Capcom seems unable to accept the idea of user-controlled cameras of any sort. You'll inevitably end up shooting at monsters you can't see thanks to lousy viewing angles...Otherwise remarkable.
  34. 80
    While it's certainly pretty, its basic strengths and weaknesses still come through, just like other surgical enhancements in southern California.
  35. Unfortunately, this version of Capcom's seminal survival horror title doesn't play as good as it looks. As a matter of fact, it plays a whole heck of a lot like the original Resident Evil.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#6 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 270 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 85
  2. Negative: 3 out of 85
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Loved this game. This might be the best game ive played.i love all the horror,puzzles,and mysteries in this game. That is what makes residentLoved this game. This might be the best game ive played.i love all the horror,puzzles,and mysteries in this game. That is what makes resident evil...resident evil.i think its the best resident evil Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2016
    10
    This is one of the best games of the 6th generation. Amazing graphics, good controls and a big replay value.
    If you played RE from PS1 first
    This is one of the best games of the 6th generation. Amazing graphics, good controls and a big replay value.
    If you played RE from PS1 first and you decided to play this remake go ahead. You will not regret it.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Reviewers should play games more before reviewing. I've played games for 20 yrs & a lot of "professional reviewers" either have no skills orReviewers should play games more before reviewing. I've played games for 20 yrs & a lot of "professional reviewers" either have no skills or give me the impression that they don't even like video games.

    When it comes to games on the Gamecube & during that generation, this game offers a very interactive experience over more "movie" like games of today like Tomb Raider on PS3. Compared to even a lot of the story based RPGs on the system it pulls you in.

    The graphic presentation isn't really what makes the game. It's the creepy mansion setting and layout that has made this game an instant classic when it first came out and what makes it still a memorable experience today.

    I'm playing this game in 2014 and looking at it from a modern interpretation of video gaming & this game really is an entertaining game. Though on paper it's a fairly simple system of combat, item collecting, & map memorization, each aspect doesn't ask you to do more than needed so the controls never feel limiting except for one...

    In this game you cannot leave an item or pick up an item if your inventory is full. People say play Jill because she has 2 extra inventory spaces. This is horrible until you find the storage chests in the various rooms. In the beginning it will be annoying but later on it does mean some backtracking but load times are quick & the mansion isn't that big that you'll dread going back and forth. This flaw though has a justifiable reason though so KEEP READING:

    In RE Zero ( a top favorite of mine that was designed specifically for the gamecube) you can leave objects anywhere and come back later to pick them up & the game memorizes where you leave everything until you progress onto the next main area. In this RE the ZOMBIE POSITIONS are MEMORIZED BY THE GAME.

    Why that is because in this new RE the zombies never die until you luck out and their head explodes while shooting them or you have to burn them with kerosine in your inventory!

    All the zombies you kill eventually rise again but with more durability & the run & lunge fast at you!

    The only hint to this is in a paper you have to read.

    In fact most the game is like this. You have to utilize & master all the different systems in place like reading, examining up close your inventory, attacking with your knife, modifying your control scheme etc...

    This is a very detailed game that provides a great sense of control & accomplishment once you get used to it. AND NO MATTER WHAT pro reviewers say these controls worked for people almost a decade ago when it was it first came out on the Playstation 1 and it's not that difficult or clunky as some suggest & it would be a shame to miss the game based on that.

    Most reviewers talk about the looks and controls. I'm going to write that it's much more than these... It's about a classic game environment & atmosphere that's still better than what you will find since it's release. It's also very challenging because you have to remember everything & it's a great game to play with my girlfriend watching in a dark room as she helps me keep track.

    It's not perfect so I'm giving it a 9... because I think though the developer's focus on having the game memorizing the zombie positions and them resurrecting harder is definitely intense it does remove some sense of realism & common sense that our heroes should be able to leave things to pick up stuff that's more important but despite this you get a game that has different difficulty levels, two playable characters to play through with & it's a fairly long adventure.

    I keep this game in my top 30 list of must have Gamecube games & I honestly feel you should too, right next to RE4, RE Zero & Code Veronica
    Full Review »