Sonic Adventure 2 Battle GameCube

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Adventure 2 Battle Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and company are back and better than ever in Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. Dr. Eggman is causing trouble once again, and it's up to Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles to stop him. Experience faster action, all-new two-player games, and a branching storyline that lets you choose to save theSonic and company are back and better than ever in Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. Dr. Eggman is causing trouble once again, and it's up to Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles to stop him. Experience faster action, all-new two-player games, and a branching storyline that lets you choose to save the world as the Hero side, or conquer it as the Dark side. In the single-player mode, you'll go through more than 30 unique stages, which include a forgotten pyramid, an abandoned military base, and a giant space station. And then there's the expanded two-player mode, which features 12 playable characters competing in new head-to-head games. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. The way the Advance interacts with the Cube is flawless, and if you have Sonic Advance (and we recommend you pick it up), it's a nice touch, with lots of promise for future games.
  2. 87
    If you’ve played or owned the Dreamcast version though, there isn’t much new to do.
  3. 84
    Blazes across your screen with incredible graphics, addictive gameplay, and deep play options. Sure, it's not flawless, but it's definitely worth playing.
  4. Unfortunately Knuckles/Rogue gameplay, camera problems, some sound problems and limited replay value hurt the game in the long run.
  5. 69
    I'm more annoyed by the gameplay mechanics and head-spinning level design than I am satisfied.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Offers a glimpse of brilliance...but lacks the magic that made the original Genesis classic a Mario-worthy masterpiece. [15 March 2002, p.79]
  7. 40
    Although the two-player mode is entertaining, there's not enough variety to keep you going for long, and the quibbles with the camera and the music are the icing on an unsatisfying cake. Avoid.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 6 out of 69
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I found this game in a box in the attic and thought that I would try it out as the last time I played it way about 6 years ago. This game isI found this game in a box in the attic and thought that I would try it out as the last time I played it way about 6 years ago. This game is the best sonic I have ever played and I have played my fair share. Its a really fun game for the younger the older generations so I would buy it if you can with a 2nd hand gamecube because it is worth it at the end of the day. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This is my favourite game ever and for good reason. The gameplay variety, speed, story, atmosphere and characters (which, suprisingly, RougeThis is my favourite game ever and for good reason. The gameplay variety, speed, story, atmosphere and characters (which, suprisingly, Rouge and Eggman aside all the characters are quite believable). Scoring high is always rewarding and there is always a motivation to push forward. The story flows well and gaining new abilities makes the game feel fresh. The level design is quite intuitive. Practically all the boss fights are exciting and require some thought as to how to defeat it, but not too much as it reaches the level of being frustrating. 10/10 Expand
  3. CaseyW.
    Mar 7, 2002
    10
    I am totally addicted to this game! I have been playing it for almost 5 hours a day and I still think it's fun! The camera angles are a I am totally addicted to this game! I have been playing it for almost 5 hours a day and I still think it's fun! The camera angles are a minor set-back, but it's so fun, I really don't care about it! It has the 2 major things I luv all in one nice package: Speed and cute charecters. ;) Collapse
  4. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game surpassed all of my expectations! Sure this game has some flaws, but it doesn't mean it's a bad game. At first I thought it was going to be disappointing, but the moment I was going into the City Escape level, my mind was blown away. I played up to the part where you escape the island. I played the Dark Story and not an single frown was found on my face! Played it up to the Lost Space Colony part. Not to mention there is an special feature called the Chao World! To unlock it, find the special blue box, break it and there's the key to it! Want to raise Chao. You gotta figure it out yourself. Overall, this is an great game. 10/10. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    People say this is Sonic's Best 3D outing and While I agree Colors is a much better product than this, While there is more replay value isPeople say this is Sonic's Best 3D outing and While I agree Colors is a much better product than this, While there is more replay value is this game than Colors it's overshadowed by those tedious Treasure Hunting Missions. Bottom Line: If you can find it cheap, I'd go for the Gamecube version because there's no sound mixing issues with this one what so ever. Expand
  6. Liz
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    Camera angle sucks, and thats it for the bad parts.
  7. Apr 21, 2016
    0
    This game sucks and sonic fans know it they just hide the truth because it was their "first" sonic game, sonic fans hated sonic 06 because itThis game sucks and sonic fans know it they just hide the truth because it was their "first" sonic game, sonic fans hated sonic 06 because it was a buggy mess but this game is no better (especially MAD SPACE) i do not recommend this game to anybody, go play sonic adventure DX because at least its playable. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#28 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002