• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Adventure 2 Battle Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and company are back and better than ever in Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. Dr. Eggman is causing trouble once again, and it's up to Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles to stop him. Experience faster action, all-new two-player games, and a branching storyline that lets you choose to save the world as the Hero side, or conquer it as the Dark side. In the single-player mode, you'll go through more than 30 unique stages, which include a forgotten pyramid, an abandoned military base, and a giant space station. And then there's the expanded two-player mode, which features 12 playable characters competing in new head-to-head games. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. The way the Advance interacts with the Cube is flawless, and if you have Sonic Advance (and we recommend you pick it up), it's a nice touch, with lots of promise for future games.
  2. 87
    If you’ve played or owned the Dreamcast version though, there isn’t much new to do.
  3. 84
    Blazes across your screen with incredible graphics, addictive gameplay, and deep play options. Sure, it's not flawless, but it's definitely worth playing.
  4. Unfortunately Knuckles/Rogue gameplay, camera problems, some sound problems and limited replay value hurt the game in the long run.
  5. 69
    I'm more annoyed by the gameplay mechanics and head-spinning level design than I am satisfied.
  6. Offers a glimpse of brilliance...but lacks the magic that made the original Genesis classic a Mario-worthy masterpiece. [15 March 2002, p.79]
  7. Although the two-player mode is entertaining, there's not enough variety to keep you going for long, and the quibbles with the camera and the music are the icing on an unsatisfying cake. Avoid.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I found this game in a box in the attic and thought that I would try it out as the last time I played it way about 6 years ago. This game is the best sonic I have ever played and I have played my fair share. Its a really fun game for the younger the older generations so I would buy it if you can with a 2nd hand gamecube because it is worth it at the end of the day. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Sonic and his friends are back, but now they must stop Eggman and his new team of baddies. Sonic meets his clone, Shadow the Hedgehog, who teams up with Eggman and Rouge the Bat to achieve world domnination. It is mostly the same gameplay as its predecessor, but it is still the great Sonic we all love to play Expand
  3. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This game kicks @#!
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Best Sonic game ever with the greatest soundtrack to any video game. Play this classic and you will not be disappointed. There are two stories one based on heroes and the other based on villains with 3 different types of gameplay and the story itself is well written and pretty emotional along with the voice acting of REAL actors. Multiplayer mode is also spruced up and contains more content than the original. There is also a Chao Garden minigame that is a game within a game where you raise a virtual pet and you can power it up with animals and drives that you get in the main game along with currency as well. All in all, this is a timeless classic and will always be the peak of Sonic The Hedgehog. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    People say this is Sonic's Best 3D outing and While I agree Colors is a much better product than this, While there is more replay value is this game than Colors it's overshadowed by those tedious Treasure Hunting Missions. Bottom Line: If you can find it cheap, I'd go for the Gamecube version because there's no sound mixing issues with this one what so ever. Expand
  6. Liz
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    Camera angle sucks, and thats it for the bad parts.
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    What a disapointment this was.

    The game's visuals, sound and general art design is not worth talking about as it's never really a really
    strong or really weak point of this mess of a game. It looks fine enough, sounds fine enough. The story is laughably bad with tons of plot holes and cheap plot devices, but it does make you smile or feel happy a few times, especially at the ending.

    The gameplays are the problem. There are three play styles, one is worth playing but is mediocre, the second one is completely uninteresting and frustrating, and the last one can't even qualify as a "game".

    First is Sonic and Shadow levels, where you try to go at the fastest speed, catch rings and kill enemies to get the highest score and best grade. They're ok. Just "ok". Considering that Sonic Adventure had far better level design, this is a real letdown as it's supposed to be at least as good.
    The S&S levels have rides. Lots of them. Set pieces where you just go along the road, where you just watch Sonic and Shadow go down their roads. Some of these set pieces, like the jungle levels, can kill you if you actually try something else than just going up or right. You'll miss a spring and die, for example, so you have to follow the road like a good boy.
    There are almost no branching pathways which is a trademark of Sonic level design. The number of rides and set pieces where you just watch your characters go down their path is ludicrous and really brings down the value of those levels. They're still fun to play and have a great Sonic feeling to themselves, but they're not nearly as good as SA.
    On a positive note, the addition of rail grinding is truly a great addition to the series.

    The second gameplay is Tails/Eggman(Robotnik) levels. They're s*** There isn't a way to say this nicely, I had absolutely no fun at all. Not one second, not one instance.
    These levels are supposed to be sort of a shooting/platforming section of the game. It's pretty glaring how they designed this to be a fun shoot'em up kind of gameplay, but they designed it awfully.
    The problem with it, is that you DO NOT shoot. Ever. Well almost never. You press a button and a laser will appear. Flail the laser around and it will recognise targets, and when you let go of the button a rocket launcher will shoot all the targets you painted.
    You NEVER feel like you're shooting something yourself. Quite probably because you don't.
    This system fails totally at giving you any kind of feeling for the shooting, so there's no fun to find. The gameplay falls flat on its face for the Tails/Eggman shooting.

    The mech you control during these sections also have pretty clunky controls, which is natural, they're battle mechs.
    Now the big question is who thought that having battle mechs jump around moving platforms was a good idea?! That's an awful idea from the start! I quit this game tons of times due to falling a bottomless pit because of the mechs clunky controls, and adding that to the fact that these stages aren't fun, it really makes you wanna quit for good.

    Lastly, the Knuckles and Rouge levels. You have to find 3 treasures as fast as you can in those levels.
    The only help you have is a broken sonar that sort of directs you to the item you want. Why broken? Well I'd love to know myself! SA had a perfectly good sonar that ringed more often the closest you got to the items, and you were helped if you asked for it. SA2's sonar DOES NOT ring more often the closer you get, so it's literally broken!
    More than that, the sonar from SA used to pick up items as you got close enough to them. You know, like a sonar does. Sonic Adventure 2's sonar works on a f*** you basis of picking up only the item it feels like picking up! That means that you can go through the levels entirely, miss two items really close to you, and have to come back because f*** you! To top it all off, the levels are also far bigger than Sonic Adventure's Knuckles levels, and that means that you will take so much time trying to find a needle in a haystack...

    The controls are fine for Rouge and Knux but the level design and willingly broken sonar just ruin any kind of fun for them, of which there wasn't much in SA Knux levels in the first place. Oh and also sometimes you have a timer on yourself to make it even worse!

    Lastly, the game's camera is just crap. The number of cheap deaths I had due to a camera not showing a pitfall or a trap or such is just ridiculous. I ended up quitting the game at a Sonic space stage around the end of the game because I died 10 times in a row, 8 of them due to the camera! For a 2001 game, this is just laughable.

    Admittedly, when I tried to replay only the Sonic and Shadow levels of SA2, I found it a bit fun, but even then, it's not nearly as fun as SA's Sonic stages, which give as much play time, have more likeable controls and much, much better level design.

    I'm never finishing this game and it clearly deserves a 2.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews